1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

4K monitor on Windows 7; how to make it usable?

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by Esposch, Feb 2, 2017.

  1. FuriousPop

    FuriousPop Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    For future Reference, anything 4K must be 30' or bigger... the bigger the screen size, the less your eyeballs have to strain to look at something without scaling the screen.

    i myself have gone from 24>27>30' size monitors and each time had to adjust. now with 4K putting all that pixel density onto a 27' monitor cos its cheap cheap feels like a bigmac in a small fries container...

    note: if your concerned about your "Data" then have a separate machine not connected to the internet for that.

    I myself have a separate machine with Win10 on it and simply unplugged from the net - good luck seeing that MS!
     
  2. ysu

    ysu Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,111
    Location:
    Central Coast
    Good luck working on that :)

    Well, if you only do local spreadsheets & docs you're fine. I need the net to work.
     
  3. FuriousPop

    FuriousPop Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    LOLL,

    Simple really, all work stuff is on my work laptop (does not contain any personal information/home stuff) and at home i have my spreadsheets + doco's on the unplugged but even still nothing beats a piece of paper with passwords on it stashed away in your house - and then use a key matrix system for the password itself should anyone find it!
     
  4. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    68,332
    Location:
    brisbane
    1080P looks like ass to me now. (my old screen was a 27" 1080P/60Hz panel). 60Hz is enough for me, but 1080P - gross.
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2017
  5. FuriousPop

    FuriousPop Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    On Another note,

    Anyone got any information around that Asus 4K 144HZ 1ms monitor thats apparently in testing phase?
     
  6. havabeer

    havabeer Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    7,314
    dunno but i'd start working 3 jobs and hookering your self out now to pay for the thing when it comes out because it wont be cheap
     
  7. insular

    insular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    993
    Location:
    Adelaide
    It's an Asus 4K 144HZ 1ms monitor thats in testing phase
     
  8. FuriousPop

    FuriousPop Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    LOLL,

    Already got about $3k saved up for it... I do have 3x Dellu3011's to which at the time i bought on special and already ahd for 3+ years but this Trifire setup is starting to frustrate me so might be looking for a 1x GPU with a 1x 4k monitor...
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: