5Ghz on P XE 965

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by gto_pontiac, Apr 27, 2006.

  1. gto_pontiac

    gto_pontiac Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    Melborune
  2. eva2000

    eva2000 DDR1/DDR2/DDR3 Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    21,902
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
  3. RodneyJM

    RodneyJM (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,916
    Location:
    Engaged in Silicon Wars !
    That EE 965 'C' stepping ?
     
  4. chainbolt

    chainbolt Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    102,964
    Location:
    Tokyo

    I think all 965 are "C" stepping.
     
  5. LarsK

    LarsK Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    Copenhagen
    Yeah, these C1 steppings look like they overclock like crazy. Mine did a little over 4.5 Ghz 4x prime torture stable on air (Scythe Ninja), and 3d/games stable at over 4.7 Ghz also on air.

    Currently using an Intel D975XBX motherboard, I think 5.7+ Ghz for a superpi 1M run is pretty good even for phase (Mach II GT), considering motherboard has a max setting of 1.600V Vcore in bios. Real Vcore is around 1.52V. I think with an Asus P5WD2 series motherboard I could've probably hit 6 GHz for a superpi 1M run. It's 3d stable @ 5.6 Ghz as well, even with 2x x1900xt's attached.

    It may be "end of the line" for netburst, but the 965XE sure is a very nice chip. I have the craziest load times, like at the winXP load screen, the load bar hardly goes from left to right once before the welcome screen appears, and I only have 2x wd raptors in raid0 for my OS, no crazy stuff like I-ram or ramdrives. In 3dmark the splash screens load so fast all I see is a flicker and then the next scene is loaded. I'm simply loving it :D

    Edit: Oops, forgot the link to screenshot of superpi 1M run.... http://www.hwt.dk/billedbrowser.asp?id=7913&pic=7
     
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2006
  6. Nasgul

    Nasgul Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Someone already broke the 7.0ghz barrier with the 965XE: http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=87580.

    Nice chip though, but I'm not paying that ammount of $$$ for it. I'm going to wait on a 960. Hopefully by the time Conroe comes out the 960 will be as much as the 950 is currently, here in the U.S. is $336, not bad for what it can do.
     
  7. chainbolt

    chainbolt Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    102,964
    Location:
    Tokyo
    If you ask me there is no need for any investment that is exceeding the around 300$$ you have to pay for a 920. Presler is a good chip, but knowing that in maybe 3 months we get a much better dual core processors, it would be a waste to spend now more than the $$ for a 920.
     
  8. Nasgul

    Nasgul Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    Northern VA
    I'm old school chainbolt, I grew up in the "more GHZ = better" era, so putting a 960 would be my last shout out to GHZ race.

    I know once Conroe comes out, GHZ is out the window but I'm also planning on keeping my P5WD2-Premium for at least 3 years. Conroe is a definitely future build but I'm going to wait for one in the 2.8+ghz range, so we're talking 6+ months after its 1st. release. And I also want a 985 MoBo, from what I heard the 965 is not "that" good compared to the 975X and that's coming from Poncho, an Intel employee which has been playing with Conroe in the 965X and 975X boards.

    I have plans for two Conroe set-ups.
     
  9. RodneyJM

    RodneyJM (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,916
    Location:
    Engaged in Silicon Wars !
    I still wanna play with a "C" stepping 6x1 when they land in OZ. :)
     

Share This Page