64bit games?

Discussion in 'Programming & Software Development' started by Mensuri, Oct 16, 2006.

1. Mensuri

Mensuri Member

sorry is this is the wrong forum guys/girls.

the question i have is - are 64bit games harder to program - i know having games programmed to make full use of dual cores is a very difficult, but is writing the games in 64 bit as opposed to 32 much more difficult.

the reason i ask is that for the newer games coming out - Rome II and later, most require sufficiently powerfull cpus to run them, and these are already 64bit capable, ie Athlon XP with no SSE2 - no good, much older pentiums etc.

And if thats the case - why aren't game programmers making use of what i thought would be a free speed increase by programming in 64bit code - make the games run better on lower spec'd pcs = greater customer base.

Or do you need to run a 64bit OS to run a 64 bit game?

As you can tell i have NO knowledge in this area at all - i was just curious.

2. infiltraitor

infiltraitor Member

its possible that they are just waiting for an indication that a larger portion of the market has 64bit capable computers.

rather than alienating a portion of the market they are just staying with 32bit for the time being.

3. foxmulder881

foxmulder881 Member

I don't think we'll see 64bit games for at least 5 years.

4. MR CHILLED

MR CHILLED D'oh!

Yes you do.
    Errrrm, no way it will be five years. Will be much sooner than that. Some games have already been released in 64bit format.

5. foxmulder881

foxmulder881 Member

I don't think we'll see many of them for that long MR CHILLED.

Everybody thought that 64bit CPUs would be overtaking by now. But look at the slow uptake of them. Me personally, the sooner we see them the better. However, I just can't see it happening just yet. I like the whole 64bit world. That's why I use Ubuntu 64bit. No point hanging around waiting for Microsoft to play the catchup game.

What games have been released as 64bit? Haven't seen any.