64GB Ram Needed

Discussion in 'Memory' started by desibeat18, Dec 4, 2018.

  1. desibeat18

    desibeat18 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2018
    Messages:
    32
    Hi guys,
    I am after 64Gb RAM, an update from my current 6GB DDR 3 RAM

    Anyway, thinking of buying the following RAM just because of free shipping and its on speical:
    https://www.newegg.com/global/au-en/Product/Product.aspx?item=N82E16820236013

    OR, the following one
    https://www.scorptec.com.au/product/Memory/DDR4/64165-CMU64GX4M4C3200C16R

    Would you recommend 8x8gb or 16gb x 4 configurations? Would like to keep in mind prices too. This is for a new motherboard (i9700k), which I am deciding currently.

    Just in general in terms of buying from newegg
    Also, which one of the above two would you go for? Would you recommend buying from NewEgg at those prices as they seem much better than Australia? Is it reliable to buy from NewEgg as Ive never bought before. What happens with warranty? Is that manufacturer specific?
     
  2. garnet

    garnet Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    347
    Location:
    3020
    oops I cant read
     
  3. im late

    im late Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,461
    Location:
    Canning Vale WA 6155
    Newegg is reliable however I only buy g.skill memory from them as they allow RMA direct to g.skill Taiwan. Better than having to send all the way to America for RMA.

    Might be an idea to check the qvl for your board to see what ram kits are qualified. You don't want to spend several hundred dollars to find out you can't run at full speed, or even worse, no POST due to incompatible ram vendor IC.
     
    desibeat18 likes this.
  4. OP
    OP
    desibeat18

    desibeat18 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2018
    Messages:
    32
    Whats QVL?
    I am thinking about an ASUS board (Strix Z390-E Gaming), it seems expensive for what it is but all the ASUS ones Ive had so far have been really reliable.
    How do I check whether the following RAM is compatible with it?
    Also in terms of RAM would you say all companies are similar. I am either going to go with (4x16Gb modules):
    https://www.newegg.com/global/au-en/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820232212
    GSkill 3200Mhz 15-15-15-35 1.35V
    OR
    https://www.scorptec.com.au/product/Memory/DDR4/64165-CMU64GX4M4C3200C16R
    Corsair 3200Mhz 16-18-18-36 1.35V

    Many thanks
     
  5. im late

    im late Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,461
    Location:
    Canning Vale WA 6155
    QVL = Qualified vendors list

    This is the QVL for the Strix Z390-E Gaming

    The fastest 64GB kit I see on the QVL is this one....aka won't be cheap...but on the QVL list so should run at rated speeds without compatibility issues (you might need to upgrade to the latest bios if the current one on the board does allow for rated speeds).

    Most people don't go this route though.

    They will try to get the cheapest kit size they want and try to OC them, or at least see if they POST fine on their board.
     
  6. terrabyte

    terrabyte Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,063
    Location:
    Syd, 2147, near Blacktown
    I can help you narrow your choices a little bit between the first 2 you listed. If you're going a 9700k I don't know of any mainstream boards that take 8 sticks, 4 is the limit. You'll either need to head to a more workstation/Server setup or stick with the 4x16gb if you desperately need 64gb.

    Seeing as you seem so RAM heavy I would suggest looking at a 2011-3 setup or maybe a TR4 setup as they might be a bit more flexible
     
  7. elcarter1

    elcarter1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Messages:
    567
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I'll be that guy, whats the need for 64gig?
     
  8. OP
    OP
    desibeat18

    desibeat18 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2018
    Messages:
    32
    Video editing, especially because getting a 32gb kit and then another 32gbs later on doesn't seem plausible (you cannot combine two kits from what i can see, even if they are the same)
     
  9. Jazper

    Jazper Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2001
    Messages:
    2,560
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    You can, I have always had two different kits and they have worked ok ​
     
  10. Hater

    Hater Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    3,454
    Location:
    Canberra
    just get a proper workstation, workstation loads need workstation hardware

    but depends how intense this video editing is too, but if you need 64GB of RAM i suggest the workloads would be better backed by loads of xeon cores
     
  11. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    57,744
    Location:
    brisbane
    Last edited: May 16, 2019
  12. rickbishop

    rickbishop Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    6,160
    Location:
    Petrie, QLD
    There is always only one correct answer to why do you need more ram. Chicks. Chicks dig RAM.
     
    mooboyj and 2_stroke like this.
  13. Phido

    Phido Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    5,206
    Location:
    Dark City
    For video editing, particularly if you are doing more than a 5 mins youtube clip, eventually you will run out of ram, so a fast Pro SSD is recommended.

    32Gb is recommended if 1080p workflows.
    64Gb is recommended for 4k
    128Gb is recommended for 6/8k workflows.

    https://www.pugetsystems.com/recomm...-Premiere-Pro-CC-143/Hardware-Recommendations
    I would go 4x16Gb. 8x8 gives no room for the future, and typically running 8 dimms is harder than running 4.
     
    mooboyj and Jazper like this.

Share This Page