1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

6850k asus strix x99 what ram

Discussion in 'Memory' started by DualBios, May 23, 2020.

?

Which ram

  1. 1

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. 2

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. 3

    100.0%
  1. DualBios

    DualBios Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    275
    Location:
    Mackay
    Hi guys as title states have a 6850k on a strix x99 water cooled. Ram i have a set of https://www.corsair.com/eu/en/Categ...ngeance-led-configurator/p/CMU32GX4M2C3000C15https://www.corsair.com/eu/en/Categ...ngeance-led-configurator/p/CMU32GX4M2C3000C15


    Its only dual channel and am wanting to go quad channel and i also want to use the https://www.mwave.com.au/product/co...20z5yRbtycCWhOibWYixYSFPuQxhm49xoCGawQAvD_BwE to fill the spare slots.

    The question is which kit do i go for
    1. https://www.pccasegear.com/products/42797/corsair-vengeance-rgb-pro-32gb-4x8gb-3600mhz-cl18-ddr4

    2. https://www.pccasegear.com/products/49152/corsair-vengeance-rgb-pro-32gb-4x8gb-3600mhz-cl18-ddr4

    3. https://www.pccasegear.com/products/42793/corsair-vengeance-rgb-pro-32gb-4x8gb-3200mhz-cl16-ddr4

    i really dont think there will be a difference but want to know for sure before spending money for no reason
     

    Attached Files:

  2. integralfx

    integralfx Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2019
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    Sydney
    Broadwell-E's IMC sucks so you're probably not going to be able to run 3600MHz
     
  3. im late

    im late Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,665
    Location:
    Canning Vale WA 6155
    I had a few broadwell-e platforms in the past and the best I ever got was 3400. That was with Samsung b-die 3200 c14 kit. Very old tridentz kit and maybe newegg still sell it but won't be worth buying for the price.

    It is not that the BW-E IMC was crap, Intel's Silicon tech was not ready at that time in history for higher frequencies.

    It was not crap back then, but sure - "crap" now compared to what is available now..

    That lower grade choice 3 would be my choice for this aging platform.

    No point buying 3600 kits for x99.

    You have not pointed out what you use your computer for, however I will assume for gaming and maybe some content creation, in which case you will see very little real world difference between the 3200 and 3600 kits in the form off FPS/rendering times.

    And even quad channel will yield no performance gains.

    I have had over a dozen x99 builds over the years and most of those was for competitive overclockng and that is only when quad and high freq/tight timings help...for the scores.....
     
    DualBios and nCrypt like this.
  4. nCrypt

    nCrypt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,532
    Location:
    Melbourne
    this

    I would get the cheapest 2666+ ram 4x4 or 4x8gb you caN, It will be fine for what you need.
     
    DualBios likes this.
  5. sammy_b0i

    sammy_b0i Laugh it up, fuzzball!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,816
    Location:
    ACT 2913
    I'd also be very careful with that board. Pretty sure it's the one that kills CPUs.
     
    DualBios likes this.
  6. OP
    OP
    DualBios

    DualBios Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    275
    Location:
    Mackay
    Glad U pointed that out about cpus getting killed did some googling and looks like voltage randomly gets really high don't know a way to prevent so I'll take that under good advisement looks like I'll buy ram that's good for the next system my x99 has been doing me well for a long time 3 or 4 years now I think. The 3600 stuff would be better for an amd system I'm lead to believe
     
    sammy_b0i likes this.

Share This Page

Advertisement: