1. Win some Crucial goodies in OCAU's Christmas Treasure Hunt!
    Dismiss Notice

8700k or 9700k? Plus choosing a mobo

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by mikezilla2, Dec 1, 2018.

  1. mikezilla2

    mikezilla2 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    202
    So the recent new egg prices have come and gone that and wasn't able to take advantage of the US oly prices, now there's currently about $100 diffrance on those CPUs the former 2 less cores and hyperthreading the latter no hyperthreading and 2 extra cores trying to decide what to go with and haven't sorted out the mobo thinking ether msi or Asus probably armmourd..., Ram is sorted 3200 corsair 2x16gb, the use case for this system would be dolphin and browsing il game if I can avoid the stuttering I got on my base clock has well system, will probably overclock tho not going to delid, looking at New power supply as well, already have a 1080
     
  2. macktheknife

    macktheknife Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    509
    9700k, Asrock Taichi.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    mikezilla2

    mikezilla2 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    202
    Cheers Well that dos look like a fairly robust board but a little on the smaller side or am I looking at it wrong? Wondering what other candidates you would recommend as people seem to be iffy on the asrock boards, as for cooling cry org ultimate is what I'm currently using, have to look at power supplys as well, new egg be the place to shop?
     
  4. macktheknife

    macktheknife Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    509
    It's a normal ATX board. Fits perfectly fine in my R5. Fits my SLi 980's and a sound card with no problem. I don't really know much about the other boards, I have that board and it's been fine (barring a bios issue, it worked fine stock, and after a fail bios I reverted to an earlier one and it's great stable now).

    Not familiar with that cooler but I googled it and it looks fine to me.

    I'd buy a PSU from a local store. Wouldn't bother shipping one overseas.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    mikezilla2

    mikezilla2 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    202
    Cheers think il grab the tachi ultimate and 9700k.just hope the Ram I got checks out, just wondering how the cryorig ultimate fan that I have will go like if I will need to request a new mounting bracket, currently away from my pc, the case I have is an old Cm storm trooper
     
  6. n2p4u

    n2p4u Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,233
    y no ryzen 2700 and Asrock Taichi
     
  7. OP
    OP
    mikezilla2

    mikezilla2 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    202
    Need that single core performance for emulation etc.
     
  8. dasa2

    dasa2 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    669
    Location:
    Northern VIC
    Provided its b die and your looking to OC it will be about perfect.
    But being corsair its probably not and wont oc at all but at least being 16GB sticks you know you have dual rank RAM.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    mikezilla2

    mikezilla2 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    202
    b die? Yea looking to OC it in fact think this is it "CMK32GX4M2L3200C16"
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2018
  10. macktheknife

    macktheknife Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    509
    Unless you need 10gb ethernet, just get the non-ultimate. They are the same board otherwise
     
  11. OP
    OP
    mikezilla2

    mikezilla2 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    202
    Considering the price difference a little future proofing can't hurt, did find some sort of conformation that the Ram will over clock unaware of if it will with this board not at a keyboard
     
  12. dasa2

    dasa2 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    669
    Location:
    Northern VIC
    Source? I cant find anything and with Corsair changing chips with revisions its hard to be sure unless the revision matches.
     
  13. macktheknife

    macktheknife Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    509
    Just use the XMP profile.
     
  14. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    3,330
    That's not B-Die. But it really doesn't matter with Intel.
     
    mikezilla2 likes this.
  15. OP
    OP
    mikezilla2

    mikezilla2 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    202
  16. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    3,330
    It will work fine. Just set it to XMP and it will run at rated speed and latencies.
     
    mikezilla2 likes this.

Share This Page