A Cheaper M1015 - the Dell H200 and a HOWTO Flash

Discussion in 'Storage & Backup' started by Stanza, Aug 10, 2012.

  1. OP
    OP
    Stanza

    Stanza Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,878
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Just need the firmware step is all...

    mpt2sas.rom is the boot bios for DOS
    x64sas2.rom is the boot bios for EFI
     
  2. brutalizer

    brutalizer New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Just to double check, I would need to do step 1) and step 2) below, is it correctly understood?

     
  3. OP
    OP
    Stanza

    Stanza Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,878
    Location:
    Adelaide
    correct :thumbup:
     
  4. dragonFLAME

    dragonFLAME Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    Messages:
    742
    Location:
    Somewhere Cool
    I can't seem to find a cheap Dell Perc card, can someone link me to ebay/OCAU if something pops up?

    All sorted and flashed!

    Now to wait for my other 3tb to come.
     
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2014
  5. mazmorbid

    mazmorbid (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,566
    Location:
    Brisbane 4114
    Do the Dell PERC H200 work in later motherboards ? I want to upgrade to socket 1150 but don't think these will be compatible?
     
  6. Aetherone

    Aetherone Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    8,563
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA
    My Dell 6Gbps SAS HBA works perfectly well in a 1150 Sabertooth.
     
  7. mazmorbid

    mazmorbid (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,566
    Location:
    Brisbane 4114
    Good to know, thanks :) I wasn't sure because I read there are some issues with some boards, or I may have been confused with the flashing part causing issues.
     
  8. Critical_Impact

    Critical_Impact Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    967
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Figured I'd post here with my results,

    tried using the EFI and DOS versions on a H97 board,

    DOS: Some sort of PAL error
    EFI: Got half way through and it failed

    Switched the H200 into an older computer with no UEFI bios and booted into MS-DOS(not freedos), downloaded the latest 6GBPS SAS HBA firmware, version 10

    Using the old sas2flash.exe actually didn't work, it would say it succeeded but the firmware was still missing from the card.

    What ended up working was using the sas2flsh.exe from the A10 firmware zip.

    Popped it back into my server and the cards have shown up in ubuntu instantly.
     
  9. rainwulf

    rainwulf Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    bris.qld.aus
    Anyone used a one of these flashed cards in a ZFS box? I am getting an error in freenas 9.3 "WARNING: Firmware version 7 does not match driver version 16 for /dev/mps0"

    I have reflashed the H200 with the absolute latest firmware from Dell.. not sure what to do.
     
  10. fad

    fad Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,265
    Location:
    City, Canberra, Australia
    You need to flash it back to P16.
     
  11. m0n4g3

    m0n4g3 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    3,638
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    The Dell PERC H310's are also available and they are LSI SAS 9211-8i's.

    They work really well too when flashed into IT mode and latest firmware. Cheapish by today's standards too i guess, just did a quick ebay search $99.

    Luckily picked up 3 of them for free :)
     
  12. rainwulf

    rainwulf Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    bris.qld.aus
    Where do i get P16 from? I cant find it anywhere.
     
  13. NSanity

    NSanity Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    17,595
    Location:
    Canberra
    www.lsi.com
     
  14. Aetherone

    Aetherone Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    8,563
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA
  15. rainwulf

    rainwulf Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    bris.qld.aus
    Only figured out the "Archive" section today. I am an idiot.

    H200 is now flashed as P16, its now a pure LSI 2008 card, and freenas is extremely happy.
     
  16. Omarko

    Omarko Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4,131
    Location:
    Kellyville
    do the M1015 cards support 8TB hdds?
     
  17. fad

    fad Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,265
    Location:
    City, Canberra, Australia
    Hi

    I assume so. I had 3tb, 4tb and 5tb drives on my m1015.
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2015
  18. Aetherone

    Aetherone Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    8,563
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA
    Unless there's a firmware bug, there's no reason why not.
     
  19. TehCamel

    TehCamel Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,183
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I have a UCS-70 if anyone wants/needs it for anythnig.. came unexpectedly in a PE2950. Prtty confident I won't have a need for it, and since it seemslike I can't flash it for anything useful internally, I'd be open to discussing :)

    Also a Perc 5E UCS50 with bbu
     
  20. hairy

    hairy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    587
    you thinking about a freenas array with Seagate 8tb drives ?
    I heard they work well for media storage but not high access stuff.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: