1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

a dead 3d printer i found on gumtree. Rebrain buildlog

Discussion in 'Hobby Engineering' started by datfreak, Jan 24, 2020.

1. datfreak

datfreak Member

I impulse bought a dead Cr-10 mini on gumtree for $50.
    P1020919 (Medium 3.jpg

So..on first impression I need a new controller and new psu to get this to live again.

I was hoping it still had the dead controller but the PO said the controller had caught on fire and he has since binned it.
    New mainboards are cheapish at $60 on ebay/aliexpress,
    And maybe a pc psu for the 12v, but would need a case to prevent it looking to getto-ish.
    And a screen if I cant control it solely by usb.

Or maybe a 3rd party controller can be make to work?

These are the cables plugs I need to convert into something I can plug into the new mainboard.
    P1020920 (Medium).JPG

I'm new to the 3d print world, so if you have any ideas to get this working again (or a dead cr-10 controller I can buy) please share your thoughts

pinchies and qwertylesh like this.
  2. m3k

m3k Member

you could go and get a crap controller - i think its the melzi OR you could watch a few of teaching tech's you tube videos a fellow kangaroo teacher, And he will show you how to setup a Skr 1.3 or something similar to get it running quieter and more reliably than ever before :)

with Thermal runaway protection, And you should also invest in an external mosfet to bypass even the SKR 1.3 (which actually has a pretty good mosfet), I would also suggest maybe lowering the power output on heat-bed from full 255 to something a bit more kind on the mosfet and wires- like 200 - but this will make heating the bed very slow- but you'll cover all that stuff when you go through setting up the firmware on marlin