A7V133 or KT7A????

Discussion in 'Other CPUs and chipsets' started by Grozza, Jul 3, 2001.

  1. OP
    OP
    Grozza

    Grozza Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    91
    so r u guys saying that the Asus A7V133 wont support palomino's????
     
  2. VooDoo

    VooDoo Large Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    11,238
    Location:
    Drag Rehab Center
    ive sold quite a number of these boards and nearly every prob ive had was with the Abit Kt7 series (kt7/kt7-raid/kt7a/kt7a-raid)

    very few Asus probs

    im STILL getting Abits back for RA.

    ill never sell one from that series agian.

    100% lemon

    probs inc

    no boot (common)
    no boot after setting FSB (ever again)
    fried BIOS (after bios update says its ok.)
    post but no vid (very common)
    SB live issues (where do i start...)
    ide curruptions (even after the new Via patch fixed EVERY other mobo)
    IRQ conflicts
    snapped socket lugs
    damaged capasitors (due to them being to close to socket)


    bad fans on chipsets
    failed RAM slots
     
  3. JonZA

    JonZA Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    Melb
    i love my a7v133 ...great board just lacks some of the more advanced settings.
    Both boards are great and most likely you will be very happy with either.

    cheers
     
  4. Stormbringer

    Stormbringer Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    54
    Location:
    Frankfurt / Germany
    voodoo,
    sorry to hear that. i still think that the kt7-series is WAY better than the a7v-series. never had any problems with it. of course i have a gf2 and a live; and raid is up and running stable!
     
  5. Whisper

    Whisper Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    8,297
    Location:
    Sydney
    How come every tech site that has reviewed the Asus A7V133 always says that it is the most rock solid of all the 133A motherboards out there, and why do they not say that of the Abit motherboards?

    Why have the tech forums always constantly filled with Highpoint Controller problems, but very few Promise Controller problems? (I do not know what sites some of you have been reading, but this has always been glaringly obvious to me!)

    I will let you all be the judge, but it seems bloody obvious to me which is the better motherboard, time and time again!
     
  6. Maelstrom

    Maelstrom Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2001
    Messages:
    1,621
    Location:
    Canberra
    I'd just have to suggest the Msi K7t series turbo/pro2a??
    Mine's bloody solid and it comes with nice clocking options (vcore, fsb and multiplier can all be edited in bios, Fuzzylogic 3 is bundled, with pc alert (it supports HALT I believe), and msi specifically release O/C bios es with larger ranges of vcore settings etc..).
    Nice board, Nice extras =) And there is a raid version available.. (I havn't had a look at it yet).
     
  7. Leruck

    Leruck Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    San Dimas, Calif USA
    The Iwill K266 motherboard is a very stable motherboard and has numerous bios tweaks that the A7v133 does not have. It has numerous overclocking options and works fine in my system with the Soundblaster Live X-Gamer in PCI slot 3.
     
  8. Rampage101

    Rampage101 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,034
    Location:
    Country NSW
    Well if any of the Aopen Athlon boards had overclocking features I would definately recommend one of them. I went from a P3V4X ( the worst motherboard I had ever touched) to a Aopen AX34 Pro II and it rocked. Anyway, went to a KT7a non-raid and never 1 problem unless I pushed the bus too far (150, have to reset cmos) Anyway, rock solid, all the features, raid version availible, its not by Asus, plenty of support. Still going strong, running my 750 Duron at 1066 @ 2.08v watercooled.
     
  9. IPfreely

    IPfreely Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,927
    Location:
    Sydney
    The 3r bios has fixed the KT7A's ACPI and stability problems. Even STR works properly now :)
     
  10. aftahours

    aftahours News Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    4,398
    Location:
    brisbane
    Definately the KT7A. No Questions about it. Its a nice board, very nice indeed. (I have it)

    Well thats my bit anyway...

    -aftahours
     
  11. Stormbringer

    Stormbringer Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    54
    Location:
    Frankfurt / Germany
    it should be obvious that the kt7a is the best kt133a-based board out there! :D
     
  12. OP
    OP
    Grozza

    Grozza Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    91
    thanks for the masive response everyone, i went with the a7v133, very happy with it

    had sum probs but its all kewl now, cept for my cpu temps lol
    neways thanx a lot guyz,u helped me in my decision
     
  13. Dennis_B

    Dennis_B Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    264
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Go with Asus a7v133

    Hi
    I've had Asus A7v's
    and A7v133

    I've also dabbled with KT7's and Kt7a's

    My Conclusions are these...

    Any Asus Motherboard can perform as well as, if not faster than a Abit motherboard, using a combination of Bios Tweaks, WPCredit, and Jumpers on the motherboard instead of Bios Multiplier locking

    In terms of stability, I had a duron that would not do any higher than 950 on a Kt7, on an a7v with Jumpers, it would do 1050.... (at least)

    I personally think the Promise is superior to Highpoint, your call though...
     
  14. Stormbringer

    Stormbringer Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    54
    Location:
    Frankfurt / Germany
    the highpoint is faster than the promise.
     
  15. UnderTheInfluen

    UnderTheInfluen Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    212
    Location:
    Perth
    I bought a KT7A-RAID not too long ago with my new 1.2C. It took me 5 days to get it going. There were several problems such as IRQ conflicts and the damn SBLive issue. Everything seems to be running fine now, cept for lockups when watching movies (any ideas?) but if i could go back in time, id go back and by the asus over the abit :)

    Btw, whats the latest bios for the KT7A-RAID?
     
  16. IPfreely

    IPfreely Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,927
    Location:
    Sydney
    3r
     
  17. Stormbringer

    Stormbringer Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    54
    Location:
    Frankfurt / Germany
    nope... it's 49b0... got it from icrontic.
     
  18. IPfreely

    IPfreely Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,927
    Location:
    Sydney
    but that's a dodgy icrontic mod ;)

    yeah yeah i know... it was probably given to them by abit themselves but it is beta and knowing the states of some of abit's final bioses I wouldn't touch their beta bioses with a 10 foot pole
     
  19. joax

    joax Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2001
    Messages:
    5
    I run a kt7a (no raid) I have had mojor probs with the sblive prob. My pc won't boot if I have an sblive in there.

    But, i got a guillemot fortissimo card and its cains. The overclocking features are awesome, the RAM overclocking is great. Running a tweaked abit kt7a cains ass over my mates gigabyte running pretty much the same (but a faster vid card).

    I would recommend the a7v 133 to someone who wants stability or to run a sblive. If you wanted to get MAX performance out of a cpu/memory and you didn't have a sblive (or could get another vid card to replace it) then definately go for the abit kt7a.

    i don't run raid so i dunno.

    joax
     
  20. styrenic

    styrenic Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    251
    Location:
    melbourne
    I like my KT7E

    cheap fast and blue

    i'm running my old duron 600 at 7x133=933.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: