Abnormally High ADSL Speeds

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by PabloEscobar, Feb 5, 2013.

  1. PabloEscobar

    PabloEscobar Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    10,404
    I'm hoping someone more learned in the field of ADSL can enlighten me on this.

    The site http://www.adsl2exchanges.com.au lists me as being ~4KM as the crow flies to my closest exchange, and gives me an estimated cable length of ~4.7KM's, I applied to get my existing (TPG) ADSL service relocated to this address, in full knowledge and expectation of fair to poor ADSL 2+ speeds.

    After a lengthy saga to get my line connected properly (see http://forums.overclockers.com.au/showpost.php?p=15099858&postcount=14), I get home today to find my modem showing all systems go. My crappy netgear gives me the following stats.

    ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
    Connection Speed 23226 kbps 1012 kbps
    Line Attenuation 12.0 db 5.8 db
    Noise Margin 8.0 db 8.2 db

    Speedtest.net confirms that it's not lying about the speed.

    [​IMG]

    Various downloads from around the net confirm that it's accurate enough.

    I've worked in a building where I could literally piss on the exchange, and not seen sync speeds this high. can anyone suggest what is happening?
     
  2. ck_psy

    ck_psy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    4,204
    Location:
    Sydney, NSW
    NBN?

    Fiber optic line?
     
  3. Ghoatman

    Ghoatman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,855
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast, 4551
    Most likely on a RIM that's in your street, with a DSLAM in it. There's a term for that setup, but can't remember off the top of my head.

    I had the same thing @ a place I was living at, about 4-5km from exchange, but got epic speeds.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    PabloEscobar

    PabloEscobar Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    10,404
    Unlikely, area is not scheduled to begin contruction for NBN until October this year.

    Its semi-rural, and all I'm paying for is ADSL2+ delivered over a standard Telstra phone line.

    With speeds like this, I might take the dog for a stroll and see if I can find any nondescript boxes with Telstra logos on them.
     
  5. ddk

    ddk (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,570
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I have a cable length of 500m to my exchange and yet don't get speeds that high :(

    [​IMG]

    I'm only faster than 88% of AU. That's just depressing. I WANNA BE NUMBER ONE!
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2013
  6. baar01

    baar01 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,041
    Location:
    QLD
    Most likely connected to a Cabinet which has had the Tophat upgrade done to it.
     
  7. goodlet

    goodlet Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,693
    Location:
    Western Australia
    I've seen this in the country in the middle of midwest WA. We're about 8km from town but sync at 19mbps. The closest property is 4km away. I was amazed, still am. Been on it for over a year now. 500km north-east of Perth and my internet is faster than what I get in the city in Perth.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    PabloEscobar

    PabloEscobar Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    10,404
    +10 Candy to you.

    Was taking the dog for a stroll and notice a Telstra cabinet ~ 300-500 meters to my house (depending on which way the cable goes)

    This is what Google maps thinks it looks like

    [​IMG]

    But now it has been cleaned of graffiti, and has a newish green box (or tophat if you will) sitting above it.

    Thankyou OCOW for your collective knowledge in satisfying this lonely nerds curiosity.
     
  9. thetron

    thetron Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    8,167
    Location:
    Somewhere over the Rainbo
    You should be able to get 24-28mbit with PHYR chipset enabled type modem

    Like me
     
  10. Sledge

    Sledge Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    6,597
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Quick, you better ring up and complain! ;)
     
  11. GooSE

    GooSE New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    6,679
    Location:
    Sydney
    ADSL2+ has a maximum of 24 Mbps.
     
  12. thetron

    thetron Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    8,167
    Location:
    Somewhere over the Rainbo
    Do I need to post screenshot of constant 2.8mbit?
     
  13. sickbunny

    sickbunny Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    548
    Location:
    3977
    2.8Mb/s is not the same as 28Mbps.
     
  14. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    8,472
    Location:
    Melbourne
    throughput is not the same as line rate, and nor are they correctly measured in the same unit.
     
  15. thetron

    thetron Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    8,167
    Location:
    Somewhere over the Rainbo
    An certain former coworker whom an ISP engineer once posted photo of his 28mbit connection and I didn't believe him. Until recently getting a modem with PHYX and line coding

    Which basically DSL modem overclocking

    Test one
    Rate (Kbps) : D 25498 / U 1331
    Attainable Rate (Kbps) 19280 / 1335
    Peak Download rate: 2.77MB/s
    Avg Download Rate: 2.66MB/s

    Test two

    Rate (Kbps) 25705 / 1337
    Attainable Rate (Kbps) 19392 / 1335
    Peak download rate: 2.80MB/s
    Avg download rate: 2.68MB/s

    Couldn't get the modem to sync with auto SNR. Because the lines are too wet/moist for much higher sync rate
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2013
  16. Dr Evil

    Dr Evil Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,837
    Location:
    Perth
    That's some decent speed, I only get 1.89Mb/s Down with ADSL2+

    Although I'm not entirely sure how far I am from my exchange (Canning Vale 6155 / Livingston).
     
  17. Annihilator69

    Annihilator69 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Messages:
    5,995
    Location:
    Perth
    It's not really 28Mbit, it's still basically a really good ADSL2+ line at best possible speeds ~24Mbit or so.

    1024*24 = 24576Kbit /8 = 3072KB/s = 3MB/s
    Minus TCP/IP/PPPoE/ATM overheads ~12.9% ~2.67MB/s or so.
     
  18. knp1288

    knp1288 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Location:
    4131
    I work with ADSL daily, and I have NEVER seen a sync speed higher than 24576, even DIRECTLY connected to the port.
     
  19. Primüs

    Primüs Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2003
    Messages:
    3,321
    Location:
    CFS
    I have. Also work with ADSL daily, and in a previous job helped run/maintain private DSLAMs, really depends on the DSLAMs in use and the CPE (in my case was using Erricson DSLAM's with various Billion 7400 modems which were latest at the time). I would see up to 26mbit sync in that specific config.
     
  20. Dr Evil

    Dr Evil Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,837
    Location:
    Perth
    So would it be a great idea to buy a Billion 7800/Billion 7800N to improve my line speed? Sorry if I de-rail this thread :p
     

Share This Page