adding a PCI slot on mobo

Discussion in 'Modding' started by tiro_uspsss, Jun 29, 2008.

  1. tiro_uspsss

    tiro_uspsss Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,437
    the mobo in question:

    [​IMG]

    the problem:
    the IGP on said mobo is a POS..
    the mobo only has 2 slots: a PCI-X & a PCI-Ex8..
    the PCI-Ex8 will hold my A1210; the PCI-X will hold a HD2400..

    this leaves no slots & consequently, no home for my i-RAM! :upset:

    if u look @ pics of the mobo, there are plenty of 'blank' places on mobo for extra slots, esp. PCI..

    any idea if I could solder on a PCI slot? :D
    keep in mind, the slot will only be there to a) hold i-RAM b) provide power to i-RAM
    there will be no data transferrals happening on the new PCI slot

    so any ideas/tips etc etc?
     
  2. noboundaries-au

    noboundaries-au Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    7,571
    Location:
    Canberra, ACT
    It could work, but will depend on the bios not being coded to think there shouldnt be any PCI slots, and that all the electronic components along teh PCI bus are there so its just the slots not there.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    tiro_uspsss

    tiro_uspsss Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,437
    yeah I thought about the whole BIOS side of things - I'm taking a gamble & presuming that the power traces are actually 'connected' so-to-speak - as long as that is so, i'm guessing it doesnt matter about the BIOS, seeing as there is no data transferring taking place ;)
     
  4. BlackTigerTech

    BlackTigerTech (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    2040 Sydney
    I don't think it can be done, but I'd love to be proved wrong!:thumbup:

    Most of the time not only the PCI slots are left out, but also supporting components like resistors and capacitors associated to those ports. You may be able to solder them on and maybe only get power if you're lucky, as that's what you're really after, but I'd be surprised if the whole prot works.

    Best thing to do would be to see a picture of a higher models of the same mobo and compare to see what's missing...but I wouldn't try it without high resolutions ones...and then you have to figure out the values of missing caps etc.... Big mess!!!:p

    One other idea would be to solder off a pci slot from another dead motherboard, look up the power points for PCI slots on the net, and solder the 5v points straight to it. That's only assuming the I-RAM uses 5v power and not 3.3v...then it gets a bit more complicated!:thumbup:

    Hope this helps!:)
     
  5. noboundaries-au

    noboundaries-au Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    7,571
    Location:
    Canberra, ACT
    Ahhh true :thumbup:
     
  6. OP
    OP
    tiro_uspsss

    tiro_uspsss Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,437
    LOL - I just had the same train of thought RE: caps.. I do have a dead mobo (a few actually :D ) - I grabbed the dead mobo & the mobo in question... now, once again, presuming that any caps dealing with PCI would be situated in close proximity to the slots themselves, there are no caps on the dead mobo between the PCI slots, so I'm (again) taking a gamble on that facet as well :D

    I thought about finding a diff model mobo as well.. not sure if I can be arsed tho, as this mobo is quite the niche piece of hardware :D

    thanks muchly for the input :thumbup:
     
  7. noboundaries-au

    noboundaries-au Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    7,571
    Location:
    Canberra, ACT
    No it works via sata, using the PCI bus' power.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    tiro_uspsss

    tiro_uspsss Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,437
    :confused: has he already deleted his post? :D

    thanks for ur input too btw [​IMG]
     
  9. The Sentinel

    The Sentinel Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    Messages:
    2,778
    If you are only using it for power, then surely there is an adaptor in exisitence that lets you use a HDD power connector???
     
  10. Goth

    Goth Grumpy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2002
    Messages:
    9,228
    Location:
    /dev/null
    If you can solder it, and make sure it's all soldered properly, then I'd say odds are very good that it will work - but getting all the holes opened, getting the PCI connector off a dead motherboard or whatever in one piece, and soldering it is going to be very tricky!

    You can get a drive bay mounted version of the i-RAM that just uses a normal molex connector - maybe that would be a better choice?
     
  11. Menthu_Rae

    Menthu_Rae Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Messages:
    6,874
    Location:
    Northern Beaches, Sydney
    Hehe yeah I deleted the post - in my noobiness I didn't know how it worked - googled and saw pics of the SATA port on it, and I'm like 'ahhh HA!' :Pirate:

    You guys are took quick :p
     
  12. ford ftw

    ford ftw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,449
    Find out which pins are power and solder a molex plug unless it needs 3.3v?
     
  13. OP
    OP
    tiro_uspsss

    tiro_uspsss Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,437
    yes there is a way to wire'n'power up the PCI version without it being in a slot - but thats no fun! :D

    yeah, the 5.25" bay version is next to impossible to get a hold of

    hopefully my soldering skills will be FTW :D :thumbup:
     
  14. The Sentinel

    The Sentinel Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    Messages:
    2,778
    Fair enough.
    It seems like a perfrectly good way to destroy a server-class (albeit old) motherboard. Each to their own however.
     
  15. OP
    OP
    tiro_uspsss

    tiro_uspsss Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,437
    it actually makes use of Core architecture cpus :D :thumbup: but otherwise, yeah, its a wee bit old :D

    it only cost me USD$60 new - & I can still get them for that much now :thumbup:
     
  16. OP
    OP
    tiro_uspsss

    tiro_uspsss Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,437
    :lol: we're all over ur noobiness like a fly on shit :lol: :thumbup:
     
  17. oohms

    oohms Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    2,192
    Location:
    Melbourne 3015
    I would assume that it only uses 5V, and 5VSB for power. (since it is still powered when the pc is turned off)

    You could grab the pinout of the pci slot and measure where on the I-RAM you can solder each, and run a wire from each off a 24 pin ATX extension cable
     
  18. OP
    OP
    tiro_uspsss

    tiro_uspsss Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,437
    ok, I've decided I'm only going to do the pins the i-RAM needs - so I need to know which pins it needs, where these pins are etc etc :D anyone with links, i'll love ya ta bits! :D :thumbup:
     
  19. noboundaries-au

    noboundaries-au Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    7,571
    Location:
    Canberra, ACT
  20. OP
    OP
    tiro_uspsss

    tiro_uspsss Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,437

Share This Page

Advertisement: