1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

adding a PCI slot on mobo

Discussion in 'Modding' started by tiro_uspsss, Jun 29, 2008.

  1. Hom3br3w

    Hom3br3w Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,026
    Location:
    GNE BSH
    from the looks of the pics that have been posted of this mobo, many of the surface mount stuff that is electircly connected to the PCI slots has been added to the mobo.

    I think that this will probably work for +3.3V and probably work as a normal PCI slot too.

    Trio : could you pleas PM me the details for the US e-tailer. I'm after some server gear too. (nothing as 133t as this tho)
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2008
  2. OP
    OP
    tiro_uspsss

    tiro_uspsss Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,441
    heres the mobo e-tailer: http://www.centrix-intl.com/details.asp?productid=4675

    heres a good place to get the 1.6ghz cpus: http://www.itxchange.com/itxchange/product.asp?part_no=39Y6598-02

    ram can be had cheaper outside of oz too: http://www.shopblt.com/cgi-bin/shop...100300100111_BF41224P.shtml&order_id=!ORDERID

    ^ thats for a 2x1GB Kingston kit... keep in mind it ONLY takes ddr2-400 ECC+REG - it wont even take ddr2-667 :(
     
  3. Hom3br3w

    Hom3br3w Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,026
    Location:
    GNE BSH
    Thanks for that. I'm looking in particular for some cheap FB-DIMM's
     
  4. orchidophile

    orchidophile Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    622
    Location:
    Under melaleuca unciata
    Hey tiro, great mod, hope it all ends up sweet.

    What's the odds you'd be interested in fixing a 780i that has a melted pci slot? Otherwise fully working but the melted slot means they won't warrant it. :(

    pm me if you're interested, of course there would be compensation for your efforts. :)
     
  5. OP
    OP
    tiro_uspsss

    tiro_uspsss Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,441
    well I got a surprise today - my RMA RAM came waaaay earlier! :) I was told ETA would be approx. end of Jan.

    anyway, so I went straight to testing...

    I'm in the middle of trouble-shooting.. but.. atm it looks like:



    FAIL



    I'm getting the same combo of diagnostic LEDs as before :(

    only other possibilities are:
    - i'm doing something wrong
    - the mobo was rooted before I even started

    its quite likely I'll be buying another mobo & this time test if it works first
     
  6. OP
    OP
    tiro_uspsss

    tiro_uspsss Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,441
    if anyone wants to try & help:

    i cannot for the life of me figure out the diagnostic code:

    http://cid-ddcb6706c2587cbb.skydrive.live.com/self.aspx/Public/se7520bb2tps1 pg131-143.pdf

    here is the mobo manual
    if u go to page 131 of the manual (adobe pages says 143) there it talks about the error codes & the LEDs.. if anyone knows how to decypher the lingo lemme know, I can post a pic of the LEDs as there is a combo that stays light after power-up
     
  7. Hom3br3w

    Hom3br3w Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,026
    Location:
    GNE BSH
    DL not working. I get a 404.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    tiro_uspsss

    tiro_uspsss Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,441
    :confused: click on the lil page icon above "add a description"
     
  9. Hom3br3w

    Hom3br3w Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,026
    Location:
    GNE BSH
    Yeah I've got a copy of the manual - the error codes are fairly straight forward
     
  10. OP
    OP
    tiro_uspsss

    tiro_uspsss Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,441
    ok so as per mobo manual - there is 3 diff combos per 'array' (pair) of LEDs: red, green, & red+green (referred to as amber in manual)....

    [​IMG]

    i'm getting green on LED pair #1
    & amber on LED pair #3
     
  11. Hom3br3w

    Hom3br3w Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,026
    Location:
    GNE BSH
    The error codes are really rather simple.

    Look at 5.3.3 in the manual.

    As you have a green led lit at one and three the second nible is 1010 and as the third red LED is lit (red + green = amber) the first nible is 0010

    thus the error code is 00101010 (base 2) and can thus be converted 2A (Base 16)

    I must admit that I can't find error 2A (base 16) in the manual and it may be an idea to e-mail Intel about it.

    Edit: I had mis red the manual and I have found that its actually 2A rather than A2

    Looking at 5.4.4 - Post Code Checkpoints

    2A: Initializes different devices through DIM. See DIM Code Checkpoints section of document for more
    information.
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2009
  12. Hom3br3w

    Hom3br3w Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,026
    Location:
    GNE BSH
    Further searching has led me to Table 70 ( 5.4.7 ) that Checkpoint 2A is the following.

    Initialize different buses and perform the following functions:
    Reset, Detect, and Disable (function 0). Function 0 disables all device nodes, PCI devices,
    and PnP ISA cards. It also assigns PCI bus numbers.
    Static Device Initialization (function 1). Function 1 initializes all static devices that include
    manual configured onboard peripherals, memory and I/O decode windows in PCI-PCI
    bridges, and noncompliant PCI devices. Static resources are also reserved.
    Boot Output Device Initialization (function 2). Function 2 searches for and initializes any
    PnP, PCI, or AGP video devices.
     
  13. OP
    OP
    tiro_uspsss

    tiro_uspsss Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,441
    Ok, I've been on the other side of Oz for some time so didnt get the chance to continue this...

    I need some help now:

    does anyone one have a completely dead mobo they wanna give away? it can even be a P3 mobo - I just need access to PCI pins & I've packed away my dead mobos :(
     
  14. the Fan-Man

    the Fan-Man Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,569
    Location:
    Botany Bay NSW
    ive got a few dead pentium 4 motherboards, and im in perth!
     
  15. OP
    OP
    tiro_uspsss

    tiro_uspsss Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,441
    which suburb & are they free? :D
     
  16. OP
    OP
    tiro_uspsss

    tiro_uspsss Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,441
    oops.. I found my pile of dead mobos :rolleyes:
     
  17. AgB deano

    AgB deano Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    926
    Location:
    Bendigo, Vic.
    First up, nice work on the board mate, really nice work! :thumbup:

    On your issue, I've heard of this being done to supply power to a slot but I'm no expert, so;

    My thinking with the pci slot is that you may possibly have a short in your soldering somewhere but from what Hom3br3w said I think it is more likely the BIOS is detecting something there but doesn't know it is a pci card in the pci-x lane, let alone initialize it and assign it an IRQ. It may be a case of the board needing to be flashed (as others have mentioned) so it knows what that lane is supposed to be and how to initialize it. Until it does though, I would guess the board will protect itself.

    Other option is to de-pin the slot and just leave the power pins in place.

    Either way it sounds like a lot of stuffing about but I would de pin the slot before I get another board mate, it'll save you money and you'll probably find that'll work.
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2009
  18. the Fan-Man

    the Fan-Man Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,569
    Location:
    Botany Bay NSW
    hahah thats good!

    if ya ever need more mobos (free ofcourse) i got heaps of P4 ones, some with AGP and pci (+pci-e16X)
    :rolleyes:
     
  19. OP
    OP
    tiro_uspsss

    tiro_uspsss Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,441
    sweeet, thanks man! :thumbup::thumbup::thumbup:
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: