adding HDD to Synology NAS

Discussion in 'Storage & Backup' started by phathag, Nov 14, 2017.

  1. phathag

    phathag Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2002
    Messages:
    811
    Location:
    Sydney
    So I am confused; got a 4 drive Synology NAS currently running 2x 1TB HDD on SHR. Just bought some 6TB HDD.s If I pull 1 HDD and add 1x 6TB, let it rebuild. Rinse and repeat with the 2nd 1TB. Will I now have a 6TB SHR (mirror) or not?

    if not whats my options?
     
  2. LaMMi

    LaMMi Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2001
    Messages:
    366
    Location:
    Melbourne
    If you have a 4 drive synology NAS and only using 2 bays, then you can just plug in the 2 6TB drives and expand your volume?
     
  3. miicah

    miicah Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    4,682
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD
    If you do what you stated in the OP you will end up with another 1TB Mirrored array (you can't mirror different sized drives without it defaulting to the smaller size).
     
  4. OP
    OP
    phathag

    phathag Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2002
    Messages:
    811
    Location:
    Sydney
    I think that synology SHR handles it differently.

    OK so that sounds too easy- what happens later when I want to replace the 1TB with bigger HDD...
     
  5. leviathan

    leviathan Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Messages:
    995
    Location:
    Melbourne
    phathag likes this.
  6. OP
    OP
    phathag

    phathag Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2002
    Messages:
    811
    Location:
    Sydney
    thanks leviathan, seems to do the trick
     
  7. heller44

    heller44 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    806
    Location:
    perth, SOR

Share This Page