1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

Adding more RAM myself to a new Mini?

Discussion in 'Apple Desktop Hardware/Software' started by chev305, Mar 25, 2009.

  1. chev305

    chev305 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2001
    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I'm looking at buying the new base model Mini soon. It ships with 1Gb of RAM - does anyone here have experience in removing the case and adding more memory? Perhaps the new model won't be very different to the old models as far as the case goes?

    I only want to add another 1GB and don't feel like paying 100s of dollars mroe for the higher model or paying an apple store to do it...
     
  2. Comma

    Comma Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,682
    Location:
    Perth
    On the newer Mini, not so sure.

    Older Mini. Butterknife.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    chev305

    chev305 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2001
    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Update

    My local Apple reseller will install ram in the new Mini for $44. Cheaper than I thought it would be.
     
  4. viggenn

    viggenn Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    439
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Do you have to buy the RAM from them?
     
  5. mitsimonsta

    mitsimonsta Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    10,994
    Location:
    2161 / 2060
    I use Paint scrapers myself. Works a treat.

    Done about 10 Mini's myself. They are all the same chassis, just the bits inside (RAM, HDD, CPU, Chipset) differ.
     
  6. Phunkae

    Phunkae Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    855
    $44 for less than an hours work, not too shabby
     
  7. skootyloops

    skootyloops Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,693
    Yeah $44 for keeping warranty in-tact sounds like a good deal.
     
  8. xcalibur

    xcalibur Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,405
    Location:
    Taringa, Brisbane
    i think they are being forced to be competive in the current climate.
     
  9. chrisishere

    chrisishere Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2002
    Messages:
    619
    Location:
    Darwin
    what type of ram will the mini take? the new one that is
     
  10. xcalibur

    xcalibur Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,405
    Location:
    Taringa, Brisbane
    has the nvidia chipset, so DDR3
    http://www.apple.com/au/macmini/specs.html
    [​IMG]


    but i am sure you could have looked up the apple site yourself -__-

    edit: i just saw the irony of your sig -__-
     
  11. nhb

    nhb Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    Sydney
  12. Mr. Bump!

    Mr. Bump! (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3,638
    Location:
    QLD
    May be ridiculous but try finding RAM that works in the new unibody macbooks especially when they won't accept anything faster then 1066mhz RAM
     
  13. xcalibur

    xcalibur Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,405
    Location:
    Taringa, Brisbane
    I TRIEDED!!! I DID!! AND GUESS WHAT!!!

    umart: http://umart.com.au/pro/products_listnew.phtml?id=10&id2=113&bid=2&sid=34933
    static ice: http://www.staticice.com.au/cgi-bin/search.cgi?q=ddr3+1066+so-dimm&spos=1

    terribly hard :shiftyeyes:

    edit: i keep reading the quote, and there is something wrong with the grammar to me. 1066 is the ram meant for the unibodies, and there is no faster DDR3 so-dimm than 1066, so... how can u put anything faster in if it's not being made :/ should u be saying "when it's hard to find 1066 ddr3 sodimm because there is so much 800mhz ddr3 sodimm ram". i can't quiet work out your point. fact is DDR3 sodimm is available. or you are confusing dimms with so dimms.
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2009
  14. Mr. Bump!

    Mr. Bump! (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3,638
    Location:
    QLD
    Meh... I remember the current model MacBooks being particularly fussy with RAM, that's why I ordered mine with 4GB
     
  15. Goth

    Goth Grumpy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2002
    Messages:
    9,228
    Location:
    /dev/null
    Aren't you able to install RAM yourself without voiding the warranty? Indeed, doesn't Apple provide documentation on how to do it step-by-step?

    Well, that's the case with most Apple desktops and notebooks... is it still the case with the Mini, or do they not encourage DIY work on the Mini hardware?
     
  16. xcalibur

    xcalibur Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,405
    Location:
    Taringa, Brisbane
    it's a very sealed unit. need paint scrapers to get the side off. the is no user changable hard drive or ram. i beleive the manuals online, are apple's internal instructions for their service providers
     
  17. jboles

    jboles Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,408
    Location:
    Sydney NSW / Seattle USA
    you are correct, cracking open the unit does not automatically void your warranty. however if you do cause damage, that damage isn't covered.

    i've changed the HDD myself in my MBP (required taking it completely apart) and have successfully sent it for warranty repairs a couple of times since.
     
  18. hoges25

    hoges25 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    606
    Location:
    Victoria
    I figure that unless they can prove that the modifications you've made have damaged the computer in some way, then it wouldn't be a problem. At last resort, you could always remove said ram/hdd before any warranty claims.

    On the new mini's ram, does anyone have any recommendations ie brands that have been known to work properly? I'll be upping the ram in my new mini myself soon, but have read of a couple of people who have had trouble with theirs not liking their ram upgrades.
     
  19. DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26,894
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    And from guides that i've read for this new one, its actually quite a pain compared to the previous one.

    Here is a video of how to do it:

    *if you want to do it yourself, watch the video to see if you are confident in doing it.

     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2009
  20. xcalibur

    xcalibur Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,405
    Location:
    Taringa, Brisbane
    ^^ back when the mini was released (newest one) i saw photos of how compressed all the hardware was inside. it kinda scared me off -__-

    edit, the video make it look easier than the photos.
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2009

Share This Page

Advertisement: