Adding Wireless to Desktop

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by Madengineer, Jan 18, 2019.

  1. Madengineer

    Madengineer Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    12,968
    Hey guys,

    Are USB wifi adapters as shit now as they were 5 years ago? I need to add wireless to my desktop, as the cable is inconvenient.

    What would be the go to adapter to use?

    I've only got a mini PCIe slot available (it's a Micro board)


    Cheers!
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2019
  2. ir0nhide

    ir0nhide Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    4,163
    Location:
    Adelaide
  3. callan

    callan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    4,705
    Location:
    melbourne
    The usb ones work well, and have the added advantage that they have a cord so they can be moved to get the best reception.

    Callan
     
    Madengineer likes this.
  4. OP
    OP
    Madengineer

    Madengineer Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    12,968

    So I got one, and I've honest to god had nothing but problems with it. Constant drop outs. Can't find the network when I know it's there. Pain. In. The. Ass.
     
  5. callan

    callan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    4,705
    Location:
    melbourne
    Which one?

    Callan
     
  6. ir0nhide

    ir0nhide Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    4,163
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Just got the netgear nighthawk A7000, it works well and is fast, disappointed to see that it doesn't support the higher AC bands (channels 100+), below that works well though and has good throughput.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    Madengineer

    Madengineer Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    12,968
    I got a netgear a6210. Supposed to be decent. I’ve got it on the extension lead, sitting above everything (trying to minimise direct intereference by devices physically sitting inbetween). The modem is literally sitting 4 metres away from it.
     
  8. ir0nhide

    ir0nhide Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    4,163
    Location:
    Adelaide
    5ghz network? If so try moving the band to (say) 40
     
  9. callan

    callan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    4,705
    Location:
    melbourne
    I am probably unlucky, but I have never had a single piece of netgear equipment that didn't give me trouble. Not ONE.. hell, even a dumb gigabit switch didn't work properly with Win8.1 machines when they came out of sleep. Routers that would lock up or fail to reestablish passthrough VPN connections. WiFi repeaters that... don't. Rack switches that would drop MAC tables, network card drives that would shit the bed, "Bridges" that weren't true bridges. Life has been a lot easier since I stopped buying that brand.

    You might find some solace HERE - at least you'll know you're not alone. It's cold comfort I'm sure but I would suggest returning it and trying something else.

    Callan
     
  10. Hater

    Hater Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    3,382
    Location:
    Canberra
    every laptop uses mini PCI-E wireless cards, they work fine

    send me your address and i'll throw one into an envelope for you if you want
     
    Mace likes this.
  11. Mace

    Mace Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    460
    Location:
    Canberra

Share This Page