Adobe Flash 10.2 Beta: GPU accelerated Flash video on Linux?

Discussion in 'Other Operating Systems' started by stmok, Dec 2, 2010.

  1. stmok

    stmok Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    8,878
    Location:
    Sydney
    Phoronix says something about it...
    => http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=news_item&px=ODg1Mg

    Adobe Blog entry: Launching Flash Player 10.2 Beta
    => http://blogs.adobe.com/flashplayer/2010/11/flash-player-10-2-beta.html

    It uses Adobe's newly introduced Stage Video API. It means content developers need to support it for the user to get 1080p playback with GPU taking up the load.

    Developer info on Stage Video
    => http://www.adobe.com/devnet/flashplayer/articles/stage_video.html

    Anyone want to give it a try?
     
  2. IKT

    IKT Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Messages:
    4,277
    Right after they fix this issue:

    http://xkcd.com/619/

    and also when flash stops crashing.

    :thumbup:
     
  3. OP
    OP
    stmok

    stmok Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    8,878
    Location:
    Sydney
    Borrowed a friend's Atom+Nvidia ION netbook to try it out...Stage Video API uses Nvidia's VDPAU for GPU acceleration.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    stmok

    stmok Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    8,878
    Location:
    Sydney
    Adobe's Flash Video Acceleration For Linux Works Well
    => http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=article&item=adobe_linux_vdpau&num=1

     
  5. TheChemist

    TheChemist R.I.P

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,035
    cleary edit: troll somewhere else please
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 6, 2010
  6. IKT

    IKT Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Messages:
    4,277
  7. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    35,070
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Have been running the alpha for a while now. Will upgrade to the Beta and see how it goes.

    I'm running the open source "radeon" drivers on my Mobility Radeon HD 3650. I'm not sure if that's going to be the limiting factor or not.

    I definitely can't watch 1080p flash videos without dropping frames (Core2Duo T9400 2.53GHz). So I'll see what sort of CPU loads and frame rates I get before and after (YouTube has a handy frame rate stats counter, so I'll turn that on for a while before I upgrade).

    I have to wonder if Apple's initial refusal to use flash on mobile devices was nothing more than a ruse to trick Adobe into pushing a better product out. These recent updates have been a real boost for non-Windows users.

    [edit] 32bit only. Yawn. Back to "Squared" for me.
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2010
  8. IKT

    IKT Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Messages:
    4,277
  9. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    35,070
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Flash Player "Squared" is the new 64bit-only player (Mac/Win/Lin). For some reason they seem to require a completely different build for 64bit Flash.

    I loathe using 32bit plugins through wrappers. It's a pain in the arse to maintain, and performance often goes through the floor. I haven't installed a 32bit OS in 4 years now, and I think Adobe need to pull their heads out of their arses and work out where the world is headed.
     
  10. oh_noes

    oh_noes Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    991
    Location:
    Australia
    Is Flash stable on amd64 Ubuntu yet?

    Or are they still waiting for the year of the desktop before putting time/effort into it?
     
  11. Anthrox

    Anthrox Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    South Australia, Adelaide
    the new beta also supports the ablity to keep fullscreen playback focus when using a dual display setup
     
  12. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    35,070
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Flash Player "Squared" preview 3 is very stable on my 3 systems (all 64bit).

    Performance sucks (especially 720p fullscreen, even when running similar media in mplayer or VLC is perfect), but stability is not a problem.
     
  13. HyDrA

    HyDrA Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    3,821
    Location:
    SA
    Would be nice of adobe to wake up and smell the coffee.

    Everyone is moving to 64bit now, 32bit is a thing of the past.
     
  14. oh_noes

    oh_noes Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    991
    Location:
    Australia
    So don't use the one that Firefox automatically tries to install? You know .. like the stable one Windows/Firefox installs?
     
  15. HyDrA

    HyDrA Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    3,821
    Location:
    SA
    This isn't a Windows forum ;)
     
  16. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    35,070
    Location:
    Brisbane
    By default Firefox on Linux will try to install the open source flash player, which isn't production-ready IMHO.

    The default "apt-get install flashplugin-installer" stuff will install the 32bit version with a 32bit wrapper.

    I just go to labs.adobe.com, grab the latest 64bit plugin, decompress the .tar.gz file and dump the .so file inside into ~/.mozilla/plugins. Restart Firefox, and it will work (you can check by punching about:plugins into your browser URL bar).
     
  17. oh_noes

    oh_noes Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    991
    Location:
    Australia
    Thanks, I'll have a play around with that. The last time I tried to use Flash it was pathetic (didn't fullscreen, didn't increase in size, had bad playback, would crash often).

    And that's just for youtube. Which you'd think is pretty standard in 2010.
     
  18. seefarr

    seefarr Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Messages:
    175
    Location:
    Londinium
    So does anyone know if the 64 bit plugin will work with Chrome? It seems to be working great in Firefox but I can't get it recognised in Chrome. . .
    Cheers!
     
  19. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    35,070
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Works fine for me in Chromium on Ubuntu Maverick 10.10 64bit.

    I get my Chromium build from the daily-builds PPA. It appears to go digging inside of ~/.mozilla/plugins and uses the Flash plugin straight out of there. I didn't need to do any additional setup at all.
     

Share This Page