ADSL 2+ is Here!

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by -=N0N@ME420=-, Mar 28, 2005.

  1. -=N0N@ME420=-

    -=N0N@ME420=- Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    7,562
    I haven't seen a post like this, but this post in indicative of ADSL 2's Arrival!

    Certainly I couldn't be happier, Check out below for all the information and news on ADSL 2 and ADSL 2+!

    -----------------

    ADSL 2+ Information

    ACA gives ADSL2+ the green light
    http://whirlpool.net.au/article.cfm/1487

    -----------------

    Pipe Networks Information

    Pipe Resources
    http://members.westnet.com.au/adtours/

    -----------------


    News: Latest @ Top

    Adam to offer movies on demand
    http://whirlpool.net.au/article.cfm/1486

    Adam sets new ADSL2+ price point
    http://whirlpool.net.au/article.cfm/1475

    First ADSL2+ services switched on
    http://whirlpool.net.au/article.cfm/1472

    Primus tackles Telstra with ADSL2+
    http://www.zdnet.com.au/news/communications/0,2000061791,39187438,00.htm

    Amnet (Perth) launches 8Mbit ADSL
    http://whirlpool.net.au/article.cfm/1461

    iiNet jumps on ADSL2 bandwagon
    http://whirlpool.net.au/article.cfm/1448

    Internode to offer ADSL2 with new plans
    http://whirlpool.net.au/article.cfm/1446

    Telstra confirms ADSL2+ network upgrade
    http://whirlpool.net.au/article.cfm/1456

    -----------------

    ISP ADSL 1/2/2+ Plans

    iPrimus:
    http://www.iprimus.com.au/broadband-pricing.asp

    Adam Internet (SA Only)
    http://www.adam.com.au/pricing.php

    (Perth Only) Amcom:
    http://www.amcom.com.au/dslenabledexchange.aspx

    Internode:
    http://www.internode.on.net/adsl2/index.htm

    iiNet:
    http://www.iinet.net.au/broadband/

    seen any Other ISP's offering ADSL 2 Plans? Reply to this thread.

    -----------------

    Information:

    Adam Internets ADSL2+ Enabled Areas:
    http://adsl2.adam.com.au/

    Internodes ADSL2+ Enabled Areas:
    http://www.agile.com.au/data/service-area.htm#upcoming

    ADSL 2 Speeds:
    http://whirlpool.net.au/img/article/adsl2plus.jpg

    Where is my Exchange Physically Located?:
    http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-replies.cfm?t=300410

    DSLAM Watch
    http://www.dslamwatch.iinet.net.au/

    Latest RIM Upgrade Info:
    http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-replies.cfm?t=77896

    -----------------
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2005
  2. Astr0boy3

    Astr0boy3 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    213
    The iibroadband2 plans that you linked to aren't ADSL2 plans per se, they allow a max connection of 8000k which is still normal regular ADSL1 spec. They are however currently trialing ADSL2 (not sure if they'll do 2+) with current customers who meet the following requirements:
    - they are a current ibroadband2 customer
    - They are connected to an iiSLAM
    - they can readily reach 7.5 or above
    - they possess ADSL2 ready hadrware.

    Anyone, correct me if im wrong. Currently there aren't any Agile DSLAMs in WA, nor does there look like there'll be any for a while, so looks like it'll be iiNet for me.
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2005
  3. charliebrown_au

    charliebrown_au New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2002
    Messages:
    2,745
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD, Australia
    ADSL 2 Modems

    http://forums.overclockers.com.au/showthread.php?t=349149

    Netgear DG834G - AU $165.00
    ADSL Modem / Wireless Access point 802.11G (54Mbps) /4 Port Switch / Router / Firewall - # 5-in-1 product - modem, router, switch, 802.11g access point and SPI/NAT Firewall
    # Fast 54 Mbps wireless throughput, 5x the speed of 802.11b
    # Future proof with support for ADSL2+

    ------------------------
    http://www.netcomm.com.au/ADSL/adsl.php

    Netgear NB5 (ADSL-2 Modem/ Router ) RRP (incl GST) $ 149.60
    Supports ADSL and ADSL-2,Upgradable to ADSL-2+*
    ADSL-2 Modem Router - NB5

    The Next Generation of ADSL technology is here. ADSL-2* and 2+* boosts ADSL’s performance, improves interoperability, and supports new applications, services and deployment conditions.
    The NB5 operates with existing ADSL services, delivering
    optimal performance in all modes of operation, increases downstream data rates by up to 50% (12Mbps) and 100% (25Mbps) in Plus mode.

    ----------------------
    Billions, the 7402, 7402W and upcoming 7402G support ADSL2 and ADSL2+, the 7500G and 7500GL support ADSL2

    -------------------

    Netgear DG834G - - 54 Mbps 802.11g Wireless ADSL Firewall Modem Router

    ADSL2 ready via Firmware Upgrade to be released

    --------------------------------------------------

    Netgear DG632 Router /ADSL Modem - ADSL 1 & ADSL 2+ Modem


    -----------------------------------------------------

    D-Link DSL-502T ADSL 2/2+ Modem/Router/NAT

    ------------------------------------------------------


    DSL Speeds ( not extact data per hour , working off at 27 kb/sec you get 110 meg a hour)

    8 kb/sec = 32.59 meg a hour
    27 kb/sec = 110 Meg a hour
    58 kb/sec = 220 Meg a hour
    155 kb/sec= 570 Meg a hour
    800 kb/sec= 2907 Meg a hour (2.9 gig)

    0012 Mbps = 1.43 MB/sec
    0025 Mbps = 2.98 MB/sec

    0054 Mbps = 6.43 MB/sec (wireless or half speed 10/100)
    0100 Mpbs = 11.9 MB/sec (108 mbps wireless or full speed 10/100))
    1000 Mbps = 69.00 MB/sec (max gigabit pci )
    1000 Mbps = 119.00 MB/sec ( max gigabit onboard csa)
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2005
  4. OP
    OP
    -=N0N@ME420=-

    -=N0N@ME420=- Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    7,562
    ^ we have a Billion 5100 currently, very happy with it

    Don't know whether I should wait for Billion, or go with a netgear or netcomm, I haven't heard good things about the later.

    (Updated first post with hardware links thanks charliebrown_au)
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2005
  5. charliebrown_au

    charliebrown_au New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2002
    Messages:
    2,745
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD, Australia
    Id recommend any billion or netgear with ethernet support

    Dont get a usb modem , dont get dlink , ive heard a lot of problems with netcomm modems
     
  6. aL4n

    aL4n Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    714
    so can someone with adsl2 tell me wat are the pings like when u play games? and when it use to be when u was on ur old ***/***kb adsl plan..

    also Amcom Telecommunication has ADSL2.
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2005
  7. Aetherone

    Aetherone Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    8,514
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA
    the ingame pings are not any better with node2 than they were with node 1500...as the link is not the bottleneck.
    Download speeds however are excellent, *if* you can find somewhere fast enough to hand it to you :leet:
     
  8. chainbolt

    chainbolt Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,014
    Location:
    Tokyo
    If I understand this correclty "ADSL 2", simply means it's faster: increased donwload and upload speed?
     
  9. FaTs

    FaTs Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,455
    Location:
    Bris Vegas...
    I've had problems with the two netgear routers I have purchased. A FVS318, randomly reboots when you use it to connect to the internet (RMA'd twice) and a FS328. It won't work properly with ISDN, but seems to work okay with xDSL.
     
  10. stmok

    stmok Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    8,878
    Location:
    Sydney
    I checked Internode's phone number checker...

    Congratulations! Your exchange supports ADSL (However it does not yet support ADSL2). :(

    Looks like I can't get it...yet.

    It took 3 years for the exchange in my area to become ADSL enabled, so it'll probably take another 3 to 4 years to support ADSL2 standard.

    I guess, I have to continue with "suffering" cable's limited usages. :)
     
  11. Darko

    Darko Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Messages:
    4,622
    Location:
    Adelaide 5015
    Thats right chainbolt, but the catch is that it loses it's speed advantage fairly quickly the further the distance you are from an exchange.
    From memory, if you're more than 3Km or so from an exchange then the speed drops back to regular ADSL.
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2005
  12. Darko

    Darko Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Messages:
    4,622
    Location:
    Adelaide 5015
    charliebrown_au........In the time I've had ADSL (3 or so years) the only modem/router I've never had problems with is DLink.
    Both billion and netgear Routers have have died on me, so to recommend them over Dlink or other brands means nothing really.
    I'm sure others have experienced the same thing.
     
  13. OP
    OP
    -=N0N@ME420=-

    -=N0N@ME420=- Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    7,562
    don't use that:

    ADSL 2 Speeds:
    http://whirlpool.net.au/img/article/adsl2plus.jpg

    (was under information in first post)


    --------------------------------------------------


    Added some more news (great news for Perth ppl!):

    Amnet launches 8Mbit ADSL

    Phil Sweeney | Monday, 5:30 pm | General | got a news tip?

    Amnet has announced a range of high speed ADSL plans that it will offer via DSLAMs around Perth.

    The plans start at $49/month for 1GB peak and 1GB offpeak, and rise to $89/month for 20GB peak and 20GB offpeak.

    Amnet will be directly competing with iiNet's 8Mbit/s ADSL service, but on a smaller number of exchanges. One advantage of Amnet's plans is that they do not require bundling with a phone service, which has turned some consumers off the 'iibroadband2' product from iiNet. However, the download limits are significantly lower on Amnet's plans.

    A list of the Amcom enabled exchanges can be found here (http://www.amcom.com.au/dslam.aspx)
     
  14. OP
    OP
    -=N0N@ME420=-

    -=N0N@ME420=- Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    7,562
    More News:

    (Adelaide Only): If you'd like to find out when ADSL 2 is availble in your area via Adam Internets Exchanged Areas, which will feature (aparantly) alot of features similar to Bigpond, like Movies and other content, locally stored to give you even faster content:

    You can even download an mp3 of their tv ad:

    sign up here:

    http://offers.adam.com.au/
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2005
  15. Aetherone

    Aetherone Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    8,514
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA
    although to be technically correct, ADSL2 is here.
    ADSL2+ is yet to be ratified and and approved for use on Aussie phone infrastructure.

    Aeth..
     
  16. Leopard

    Leopard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,642
    Location:
    Brisbane 4005

    Yes, please modify your topic and remove the '+'. it is confusing.
     
  17. OP
    OP
    -=N0N@ME420=-

    -=N0N@ME420=- Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    7,562
    ADSL2+ widespread by mid-2006: Telstra
    By Staff writers, ZDNet Australia
    10 March 2005

    "Nearly all ADSL-enabled Telstra exchanges will have ADSL2+ capabilities by mid-2006 under an AU$210 million program already underway, the carrier's managing director, data and online, Andrew Johnson said.

    By mid 2005, 200 exchanges covering about 500,000 premises will have ADSL2+ capability at a cost of AU$60 million," Johnson said. "We have budgeted a further AU$150 million in financial year 05/06 for the purchase and installation of ADSL2+ technology and coverage will rapidly increase so that by mid-2006 nearly all ADSL-enabled exchanges will have ADSL2+ capability".


    http://www.zdnet.com.au/news/business/0,39023166,39184031,00.htm

    Mid 2005 being Q2/Q3 2005, the day after tommorow will be Q2...mid 2005...close enough..


    The Topic Title being:

    "ADSL 2 and 2+ is Here!"
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2005
  18. Aetherone

    Aetherone Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    8,514
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA
    hahahahaha, zif telstra deliver *anything* on time
     
  19. set_

    set_ Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    195
    Adsl 2 - what will happent to cable internet?

    Just wondering, when adsl 2 becomes more available(i.e: when telstra upgrades their exchanges) will the cable speeds be increased to compete?
     
  20. charliebrown_au

    charliebrown_au New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2002
    Messages:
    2,745
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD, Australia
    People on cable will realise its a crap over priced under featured service and swap to adsl 1/2

    Cable is still shared bandwdith and the upload streams are crap and free traffic sucks on cable (testra) and optus have NO proper free traffic ( they do have off peak unquoted time)
     

Share This Page