ADSL and Phone woes

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by pfrcom, Aug 19, 2019.

1. pfrcom

pfrcom Member

I've been using Exetel ADSL with bundled phone line for a few years now (Telstra infrastructure), and usually satisfied with service

Until last week, link dropped in middle of day, although did reconnect after few minutes

Since then, woeful performance

Finally, having background hiss on voice as well, I called Exetel "support"

What with hiss and offshore bloke's accent, quite a frustrating experience which culminated in him offering to get Telstra to investigate, provided I'd accept $220 charge if they reckoned nothing was wrong on their side - which I declined

We do have two phones in the house, have had intermittent problems losing dial tone with one furthest from the modem

I've subsequently replaced Thomson TG782T, in Bridge mode feeding TP-Link C7 running Gargoyle

Also replaced both ADSL filters - all replacements new

At present, have dial tones on both phones with TG782T connected at 2560/886 kbps - best it's been for a week

We are distance from exchange (Warranwood, Vic), hence the setup

$60 question(s)

Any point asking for Telstra investigation, likely to just get stung for $220?

Change ISP, jump from frying pan into fire? - if so, to which ISP?

NBN supposed to be available next year - grit teeth, put up with it, become early adopter?

2. JSmithDTV

JSmithDTV Member

Considering you've isolated that none of your equipment is to blame, then yes.

JSmith

3. caspian

caspian Member

this is another example of why you don't use cheap crappy ISPs. last time I looked the Telstra callout fee is $130, including 15 mins of labour, and that only applies if the fault is found to be outside of their network - typically that means wiring inside your house past the first socket, or any of your connected equipment.