1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

Ah fiddlesticks. Have I stuffed it?

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting Help' started by vladtepes, Apr 8, 2020.

  1. vladtepes

    vladtepes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    2,703
    Location:
    Brisbane, Qld
    Well trying to remove the aio waterblick from pc and all threads were stuffed. Rotating in back plate when screwing. Basically the thread insert in the plastic was spinning.

    No alternative in the end but to drill them out CAREFULLY.

    Three went well but the fourth grabbed and ripped its way through. Doesn't look great...

    Have I screwed some of the PC lanes?
    Can it be fixed?
    Is it terminal?
    Advice welcome.

    Specs in my dual system thread a few pages in. Romulus computer.. Sigh.
    IMG_20200408_161927.jpg

    IMG_20200408_161951.jpg
     
  2. /invariance\

    /invariance\ Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Ouch that hurts.
    You could try if you have a magnifying lamp, a very fine tipped solder iron, tweezers, some strands out of a multicore cable and a very steady hand.
    Put it this way, you can't break it any more that what it is :lol:
     
    VirtualNinja and BurningFeetMan like this.
  3. OP
    OP
    vladtepes

    vladtepes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    2,703
    Location:
    Brisbane, Qld
    If I transferred the system os ssd into my new computer as a second ssd and changed the boot order could I boot from it?
     
  4. OP
    OP
    vladtepes

    vladtepes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    2,703
    Location:
    Brisbane, Qld
    Now I need to put fans in a caswme top and there are slots presumably I need some nuts if some kind.
     
  5. /invariance\

    /invariance\ Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Stop thinking aloud vladtepes.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    vladtepes

    vladtepes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    2,703
    Location:
    Brisbane, Qld
    It's the only thinking I do. Do ya reckon I can find some nuts anywhere?
    What the hell...
     
  7. de_overfiend

    de_overfiend Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2001
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Gold Coast
  8. OP
    OP
    vladtepes

    vladtepes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    2,703
    Location:
    Brisbane, Qld
    So what's the cheapest currently available itx board which meets z170i Pro gaming specs.
    Socket 1151
    1xm2 drive
    2x DDR4 memory slots
    Usb3
    1x pciex16 slot for gpu
    Couple of SATA headers.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    vladtepes

    vladtepes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    2,703
    Location:
    Brisbane, Qld
  10. terrastrife

    terrastrife Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    18,766
    Location:
    ADL/SA The Monopoly State
    maybe lost two ram slots? give it a go
     
    Defyant likes this.
  11. OP
    OP
    vladtepes

    vladtepes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    2,703
    Location:
    Brisbane, Qld
    It will work with an i7?

    Only need 2 ram slots I have 2x16gb sticks.
     
  12. d1ng0d4n

    d1ng0d4n Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,293
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    It will work with an i7, just not yours. Seeing your old board was Z170, that's 6th/7th generation Intel (7th gen w/BIOS update (i7 6700/i7 7700). 8th gen is suitable for i7 8700 or i7 9700 (w/BIOS update for 9th).
     
  13. OP
    OP
    vladtepes

    vladtepes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    2,703
    Location:
    Brisbane, Qld
    Thanks Computer alliance just told me the same thing.
    Maybe I'll part the system out.
    Whats a chip like that worth second hand?
    And out of interest what is the and equivalent of a 6700 Intel chip?
     
  14. /invariance\

    /invariance\ Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    Brisbane
  15. ShaggyMoose

    ShaggyMoose Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    459
    Location:
    Sydney
    Not so helpful now, but in future you can use a smaller diameter bit to drill the centre out of the plastic insert, then use a pair of pliers to crush it until it drops out. Still a danger of slipping, but not of catching on the sides of the hole like you did.
     
  16. OP
    OP
    vladtepes

    vladtepes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    2,703
    Location:
    Brisbane, Qld
    Tried that without success. Was on plan C when it happened....
     
  17. ShaggyMoose

    ShaggyMoose Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    459
    Location:
    Sydney
    Yeah, as soon as the drill comes out its like flipping a coin. :(
     
  18. OP
    OP
    vladtepes

    vladtepes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    2,703
    Location:
    Brisbane, Qld
    It's an understatement to say I'm Not happy.
    Really need a replacement itx board at reasonable cost.

    Could even live with a board that didn't have an m2.
    Basically an itx board for 6700 processor.
     
  19. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2018
    Messages:
    652
    Location:
    Western Sydney
    vladtepes likes this.
  20. ruffdayz

    ruffdayz Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2017
    Messages:
    1,234
    Would a MicroATX work/fit?

    From memory isn't ITX much smaller than MicroATX ..?
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: