AMD as a daily pc (convert me)

Discussion in 'AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by aussie-revhead, Mar 27, 2020.

  1. aussie-revhead

    aussie-revhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    19,415
    Location:
    St Clair 2759
    Guys, I have my gaming rig and I want to throw together a basic (but fast) backup rig so I can unload my browsing chores from the gamer. I was going to get a little Skylake rig together but for a little more than old Intel hardware I can tinker with a newer AMD rig but I haven't owned an AMD in many years and my concern is stability / ease of use. I see a lot of ram issues with AMD and tweaking of settings to get stability, so what is a good combo for an AMD noob to get started? I have seen a few 2600's for sale so Im guessing just about any B450 mobo would be fine but what rams do they like? Are the ram/stability issues only in chasing max ram speeds?

    Any advice would be great.

    :D :D
     
  2. Jazz

    Jazz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,634
    Location:
    4455
    Aussie, after years of Intel I moved to a 3900 and aorus master at Christmas. Initially I faffed around with cheap E die sticks, ballistix and corsair. Corsair might have been something else. After a couple of weeks of regular tweaking I went to some b die 4000. Had issues with 4 sticks at 4000, but it is sitting at tight 3600 timings, close enough to the sweet spot for me
     
  3. neRok

    neRok Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,614
    Location:
    Perth NOR
    2600 means you will need a discrete GPU. I would be looking at 3400G, or lower. Get mITX, stick it in a tiny quiet case, and you be laughing. But then, waiting for the 4000 series chips would probably be a smart idea.

    But TBH, youre probably better off just going on gumtree and getting something old for ~$50. It doesn't take a lot of power to open webpages and watch videos. Any hardware this side of 2010 should handle that.

    Something small and tinker-able like a raspbery pi might be good too.
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2020
  4. chook

    chook Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2002
    Messages:
    2,130
    Daily driver?

    Get one of those cheap 2600's, grab a B450 motherboard. Spend a bit more on the motherboard because you saved on the CPU. Grab some cheap 3200 RAM of your preference, I got a 32GB kit of Ballistix and just set the XMP on plus upped the frequency to 3600 and it is working better than as expected. The caveat here is that my CPU is 3000 series and it has a better memory controller than the 2000 series. That isn't to say the 2000 series is bad, the 3000 series is just better. In the 2000 series CPU's you can't independently set the Infinity Fabric so a lower RAM frequency means a lower IF frequency. That has a direct impact on performance. If all you want to do is browse the web (as you claim *notes benching rig in signature* :p), then that isn't going to matter.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    aussie-revhead

    aussie-revhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    19,415
    Location:
    St Clair 2759
    Thanks boys, I am a tab collector, I have many tabs open and this strains things, so I don't think a Pi would cut it and I don't even want to look at a quad core with so many better options available. I could adapt my habits but I would prefer to buy the gear that suits my needs.

    3000 series sounds good but yeah a 2600 seems like a bargain.

    :D
     
  6. Pbx_Jnr

    Pbx_Jnr Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,757
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD
    Good luck getting any stock of a 3400G!! I've built 2 in recent weeks, but had to resort to FB marketplace for 1 of them (lucky find!) because PC stores just don't have them in stock atm and had no ETA last I checked. I also have just built a 3200G based one due to the lack of 3400Gs, and even stock for them are getting quite low now...
     
  7. 335 GT

    335 GT Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2019
    Messages:
    239
    Location:
    W.A.
    Or a 1600AF.

    Ostensibly a 2600 but on 12nm. In current production.
     
  8. Butcher9_9

    Butcher9_9 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,193
    Location:
    Perth , East Vic Park
    I got a notebook as my second PC. If its just for browsing and as a backup in case the gaming rig fails then a notebook would be more than powerful enough + you get a built in UPS, portability for going on holiday ect.

    if you want a desktop Ryzen systems are just as stable as Intel , 1st gen was a bit iffy to start with but was smoothed over in the first 6 month. Overclocking is not great (CPU or Ram) but for a daily driver neither are really important and in many cases you get just as much performance (for the cost) out of a stock Ryzen system as you do an OCed Intel one (Gaming Intel is still king if you are looking exclusively at 8 Thread plus parts with a high end GPU).
     
  9. adamsleath

    adamsleath Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    16,562
    Location:
    Sunnybank Q4109
    2400g 3400g or 1600af
    Does it need a grfx card as a backup pc ?
    The af is a steal for the rrp
     
  10. Kelvin

    Kelvin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,593
    If going cheap
    Ryzen 1600AF,
    Asrock B450M-Pro4-F
    Klevv 2x8gb 16gb

    Put this altogether about a week ago.. (mostly from scorptec)
    Prices have jumped up in the last few days...

    else the Mortar max B450M and the Ryzen 3600 if you want to spend a little more..

    Occasionally few weird odd bugs. with AMD gear, nothing and bit of time and effort cant sort out..
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2020
  11. RnR

    RnR Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    14,550
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Adapt your habits... with a personal wiki ie Zim or https://notion.so :)
     
  12. asho444

    asho444 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,362
    Location:
    Sunny Coast
    Wololo Wololo Wololo Wololo Wololo
     
  13. RnR

    RnR Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    14,550
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Take a look at Northgard if you tire of AoE :)
     
  14. OP
    OP
    aussie-revhead

    aussie-revhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    19,415
    Location:
    St Clair 2759
    No :D :D :D

    Will the igp option handle many many tabs? My 2080Ti doesnt even like it sometimes.

    If so then a 3400G in an Inwin tiny case would be nice (I like tiny builds)

    :Pirate:
     
  15. RnR

    RnR Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    14,550
    Location:
    Brisbane
    How about multiple profiles? You can still have your browser tabs, but now they are mostly dormant in various subject oriented profiles. I do this a bit with firefox, and have the about : profiles tab pinned in every one, so I can quickly launch another profile. My default profile is my 'Social' one in which the ocau tab resides, amongst a handful of others. Makes it easy to close down distractions when I want to focus on something else :)

    My fear is that you are only one crash away from losing tabs. Browse safely :D
     
  16. OP
    OP
    aussie-revhead

    aussie-revhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    19,415
    Location:
    St Clair 2759
    Interesting, I will look into it, cheers.

    So are you saying I dont need much cpu/gpu to run this way?

    :)
     
  17. RnR

    RnR Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    14,550
    Location:
    Brisbane
    My daily driver is a dual core Ivy Bridge 16gb ssd 12.5" hp lappy using linux :)

    Max tabs would be 30 or so. But I also run Zim locally so don't have all links opened in tabs in a subject oriented profile.

    Anything from the last year would pwn it :D
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: