AMD COoler on 9700

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by Wookie_, Apr 24, 2005.

  1. Wookie_

    Wookie_ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    164
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I recently wanted to overclock my 9700 and i had the standard heatpipe cooler on it. I found a Amd Cooler and drilled holes in it to line up to the holes on the video card and then just put screws through.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. DeNs

    DeNs Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,967
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Looking good mate :) Though you might wanna make the image a little smaller. Makes it easier for those of us without a fast net connection.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    This was my effort ;) Did mine earlier this year when I took the waterblock off it, and had an old TbredA heatsink lying around.

    ---dens
     
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2005
  3. jlccarv

    jlccarv Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,134
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Oooo, a 128bit card... 9500?
     
  4. jlccarv

    jlccarv Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,134
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Nice mod Wookie :thumbup: I was thinking about doing that mod to my 9800...
     
  5. Rod911

    Rod911 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,047
    Location:
    Melbourne
  6. sandwichamwin

    sandwichamwin Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,623
    Location:
    Sydney
    Damn sissy's!

    Do it properly. Use copper heatsinks!

    Edit: Here is the only pic i could find of my 9500 that you can actually see the heatsink (bad shot, i know...). Volcano 7+ baby... oh yeh... :thumbup:
     
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2005
  7. Rod911

    Rod911 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,047
    Location:
    Melbourne
    That was on my 9800SE. I've also got a V7+ on my current card, 6600GT, but using a V12 fan instead of the standard 70mm fan that came with the V7+.
     
  8. buddha_173

    buddha_173 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    93
    yes very nice mod wookie
     
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2005
  9. petfoodonly

    petfoodonly Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    2,509
    Location:
    Canberra
    Can i get more details about how you did the holes and screws?

    I was thinking that you need to do something like the folowing:

    1) Drill 2 largish holes down though the fins.

    2) Mark out on the bottom of the HSF exactly how the holes should line up with the holes on the card

    3) Drill 2 small holes through the base plate to match with the larger holes through the fins.

    4) Go down to the hardwear store and buy 2 very thin kidna long bolts with nylon washers and nuts to match

    Is that roughly how you did it?
     
  10. kripz

    kripz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,834
    Location:
    Near Frankston
    Pretty much.

    just sit the amd heatsink on top of the corre and with a perm marker, mark the holes then bench drill the holes.
     
  11. Varuna

    Varuna Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    1,046
    Location:
    Sydneys Northern Beaches.
    Copper is a TERRIBLE conductor. Do it right, use graphite or diamond.
     
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2005
  12. Mr.Abdul

    Mr.Abdul Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,828
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    im sure u have enough money for diamond HS.
     
  13. xinzhitan14

    xinzhitan14 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,345
    Location:
    +9:30GMT
    why dont you get a 6cm bracket and screw onto the aMD HSF , and then you can use a 80 or 92mm fan, i did it on my cpu cooler on an old machine, i'll post pics soon, but does it actually cool betteR???
     
  14. DeNs

    DeNs Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,967
    Location:
    Melbourne
    9500 Pro :) Shame they discontinued the card so shortly after I got mine though. Was a killer card.

    For me it was a $0 mod, though i'm still thinking about putting the GPU block back on it. The other reason I didn't use the Copper heatsink my friend had lying around was because it was freakin' heavy. T'was a spare Xeon cooler we had lying around. I can't see it cooling that much better than these sorts of setups.

    ---dens
     
  15. B15HOP

    B15HOP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2001
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Perth, West Australia
    Yeah I have done the exact same thing to my msi GF 5200fx. Only problem is that my card ran to hot at stock speeds, and even now with the fan on it still isn't cool enough. I think for me its just the crap quality card.
     
  16. OP
    OP
    Wookie_

    Wookie_ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    164
    Location:
    Melbourne
    buddha happens to be a heatsink fan too
     
  17. kripz

    kripz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,834
    Location:
    Near Frankston
    lol.......
     
  18. OP
    OP
    Wookie_

    Wookie_ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    164
    Location:
    Melbourne
    he did a great job on his hyper 6
     
  19. OP
    OP
    Wookie_

    Wookie_ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    164
    Location:
    Melbourne
    check it out great job of leaving plastic on ur hyper 6 and then puttin it on ur cpu and melting it
    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: