AMD CPU Roadmap

Discussion in 'AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by c627627, Jan 29, 2005.

  1. c627627

    c627627 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    Kansas
  2. Blagit

    Blagit (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    Sydney
    good stuff mate, helped me alot
     
  3. Tyrial

    Tyrial Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Why no socket 939 Dual Cores? I heard that current motherboards could handle Dual Core, yet AMD aren't releasing any 939 dual cores.
     
  4. ssX

    ssX Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,402
    Location:
    Melbourne
    have a look at Toledo.

    Orleans etc are DDRII part
     
  5. -=N0N@ME420=-

    -=N0N@ME420=- Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    7,562
    thanks for posting that
     
  6. Tyrial

    Tyrial Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Missed that... :lol:, thought it was just a 90nm version of FX's. Any estimates on prices yet?
     
  7. Prototype

    Prototype Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    429
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I'll beleave it when amd post it on there site,,,


    And Look man, theres a dual core fx with dual cores on 939 on that list
     
  8. Tyrial

    Tyrial Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    If that was in reference to AMD Dual Core CPU's on current Socket 939 motherboards check out one of Anandtech's review of CES 2005. It's at the bottom of the page.
     
  9. Prototype

    Prototype Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    429
    Location:
    Melbourne
    i was more in reffrance to the new socket,
     
  10. n2p4u

    n2p4u Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,234
    /me wishes AMD release a few (3) new ATHLON XP 512k 400FSB processors such as 1 each at 2.5GHZ, 2.8GHZ and 3.2GHZ so my mobo will last a bit more longer.

    please
     
  11. Prototype

    Prototype Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    429
    Location:
    Melbourne
    for what a 2.8ghz Axp would cost if they ever made it (will never happen buddy) you could get a new A64 motherboard and a 3200+ which would murder any such cpu, Also the fact that'd pritty much hit the wall for that tech, If they where to keep going it'd be a core redisgn anyway meaning new mobo, so BLAH
     
  12. Jarwedy

    Jarwedy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,007
    Location:
    Rockhampton, QLD
    Anyone reckon that AMD will break the 3ghz+ clock speed by mid 2006?. But 2.8ghz seems a

    DDR2, Dual-Core Orleans looks good :), but would be a bit expensive. But still thats in 2006, prices would probably be different when it comes around, since A64 would be well and truley out in the public and PC manufactures like Compaq, Dell ect. would be using them in thier Desktop systems(?)

    Dual CPU, Dual-Core Mobos :D
     
  13. OP
    OP
    c627627

    c627627 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    Kansas
    As you may have heard, even Intel is moving away from raw MHz speed to indicate how "fast" CPUs are. Under certain conditions an Athlon 64 at just 2.2 GHz can beat an Athlon XP at as much as 2.9 GHz (for example) because the architecture of Athlon 64 is superior and does more work per clock cycle.

    So even at lower MHz speeds, new generation of CPUs are a lot faster so they're "better" even if they can't clock to 3 GHz....
     
  14. drewgcn

    drewgcn Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    484
    Finally we're seeing more dual-channel memory access from AMD. As beneficial as hypertransport is, the single channel memory was really holding the bandwidth back in the memory department.

    Presidio and pacifica security technologies? Interesting...
     
  15. drewgcn

    drewgcn Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    484
    lol yeah and to a stupid naming system that gives an even lesser indication of cpu speed.
     
  16. MorbosuS

    MorbosuS Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    582
    Location:
    Co. Cork
    toledo looks the most interesting thing before 2006. I think the 90nm steppings will keep getting better for a while yet too ;)
     
  17. drewgcn

    drewgcn Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    484
    Just out of curiosity...how is AMD adding the SSE3 optimisations? Aren't they patented to Intel, and how did they manage to actually do this as well?
     
  18. bsbozzy

    bsbozzy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    3,924
    Location:
    Sydney
    Socket 939/940 has dual channel ram

    Im pretty sure its an open standard, they already have sse and sse2
     
  19. Phido

    Phido Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    4,902
    Location:
    Dark City
    AMD and Intel have a cross patent agreement, there are some clauses but basically AMD and Intel actually semi cooperate on things like this.

    Hence why AMD has MMX, SSE, SSE2 and intel has 64bit A64 style technology.

    SSE3 will basically be included in the microcode for the CPU, and the SSE3 instructions will generally be executed by comparible 3Dnow! operations. They will most likely tweak things a bit to get all the SSE3 stuff working well enough, not all of them have directly comparible 3Dnow! instructions.
     
  20. Great Axe

    Great Axe Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    49
    Is this based on the financial calender or normal calendar?
     

Share This Page