AMD Navi 2x (RDNA2) Speculation and Hype thread

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by SnooP-WiggleS, Mar 6, 2020.

  1. The Beast

    The Beast Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    4,114
    Location:
    Gaufres. Bière. Chocolat. Moules Frites.
    Errrr, yes.

    Case in point, just got this.

    Asus.

    [​IMG]

    The overflow error sounds like something they should you know.... fix.

    Also, when a form email telling me I'm fucked has a massive grammatical error two words into the first paragraph I definitely approach Consumer Rage Mode.
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2020
    Nethiuz likes this.
  2. Sipheren

    Sipheren Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    3,447
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    I got a Gigabyte one through Scorp, Order 15952**, guess I should ring them to check it, does say they placed order auctioned by Scorptec. But given others in the thread I am guessing its a no go.
     
  3. Spyder6052

    Spyder6052 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    980
    Location:
    Woodroffe NT
    quoted in here from someone (couldnt tell you who though) apparently from AMD
     
  4. The Beast

    The Beast Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    4,114
    Location:
    Gaufres. Bière. Chocolat. Moules Frites.
    https://www.pcgamer.com/au/amd-is-determined-for-big-navi-not-to-be-a-paper-launch/

    Good summary. The inference was clear, AMD felt bullish about their stock levels vs Ampere's launch.

    If indeed they do have a bunch of AIB stock ready to go in a week or so, they have already completely squandered that good will through last nights shambolic release.
     
  5. Dingostolemyghz

    Dingostolemyghz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    997
    Location:
    Perth
    I can't think of many valid reasons to launch with only the 1st party cards in such low numbers unless they're pulling the same bullshit price game that nvidia did. Either that or AMD are completely out of touch.
     
  6. SKITZ0_000

    SKITZ0_000 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,402
    Location:
    Tas
    Be careful, there is a resounding correlation between calling Scorptec and not having your order fulfilled. Hide in the dark away from all communication, Schrödinger's GPU.
     
    hellaflush, cheddle, Sipheren and 2 others like this.
  7. Roger

    Roger Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    1,092
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    I really wonder if they launched with just the reference cards so they could set the price, make it look like “Look at us, look at these non gouged prices”

    Which is fucking stupid, especially after all the crap thrown around on Twitter, even if the AIB cards have higher volume, a lot of people are pissed off now and I assume the partner cards will end up being at or around the 3080 prices once the stores mark them up because of demand.
     
  8. Frag

    Frag Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    5,155
    Location:
    Perth
    Probably date was timed in and around other releases... Thinking Cyberpunk 2077... But thats been delayed so the the launch date means sfa but they can't delay as it would give people wrong impression.

    Anyway... as long as I have the 6800xt by the time I d/l CP2077 I dont care... :p My 34" WQHD gets here tomorrow so it will just tease me until the rest is available. Meh, still waiting on my PSU/NVME so its all damn ridiculous ... stupid Covid!
     
  9. The Beast

    The Beast Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    4,114
    Location:
    Gaufres. Bière. Chocolat. Moules Frites.
    [​IMG]
     
    Nethiuz likes this.
  10. Dingostolemyghz

    Dingostolemyghz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    997
    Location:
    Perth
    Doesn't explain why AMD delayed the 3rd party releases.
     
  11. tephra

    tephra Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    519
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Why the fuck didn't AMD allow reviewers to release their reviews before the actual sale date/time.

    I mean they knew that only 1/1000 orders would be fullfilled.. and the cards seem to review good...

    Doesn't make sense.. idiots
     
  12. Sunder

    Sunder Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    4,144
    Skipped a few pages of what seemed to be mostly availability chatter, so don't know if it has already been posted, but apparently a decent overclocking headroom. This video say stable at 2675Mhz, others saying 9% - on stock coolers.

    Keen to see more real end user experiences, not carefully binned reviewer samples, but either way, looking more promising than Nvidia.

     
    335 GT and RnR like this.
  13. Aussiejuggalo

    Aussiejuggalo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,126
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast Queensland
    Yeah looks like it has a lot of headroom. The stock coolers also use graphite thermal pads so change that out for proper paste or liquid metal and they could clock higher.

    Under water will be really interesting.
     
  14. SONofSAM

    SONofSAM Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    196
    Location:
    Sussex Inlet
    Has anyone heard about custom cards eta ?
     
  15. Aussiejuggalo

    Aussiejuggalo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,126
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast Queensland
    Next week, 26th.
     
  16. SKITZ0_000

    SKITZ0_000 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,402
    Location:
    Tas
    The frequency on that video looks promising, but kids these days - maybe open up GPUZ and have a look?

    I reckon it probably looks something like this:
     

    Attached Files:

    cheddle likes this.
  17. Sunder

    Sunder Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    4,144
    I thought they did briefly mention power being the limiter. So I'm guessing the trade in editing or swapping BIOSes from high end AIB will be de rigueur for these cards.
     
  18. hvalac

    hvalac Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,231
    Location:
    Parmelia, W.A, 6167
    Bad review, check out GN they actually explain this oc issue perfectly.
     
  19. RnR

    RnR Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Interesting to see that despite the hefty overclock, there wasn't much of a gain in performance. Did he use cpu limited games to test against? Do you also need to overclock the ram to use the gpu overclock... ie it could be bandwidth starved at that clockspeed? Or is the gpu power starved? Maybe you need 3 x 8 pin power plugs...

    Edit: my bad... the last option seems to have been discussed already above... nap time I think... :tired:
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2020
  20. chook

    chook Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2002
    Messages:
    3,789
    PC stuff and live music. Nothing else that is important has really gone wrong this year.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: