AMD Radeon Polaris RX Discussion

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by stoker, Jun 1, 2016.

  1. pwlm1975

    pwlm1975 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    102
    Location:
    Logan, Qld
    Back close to the old R9 2xx power consumption for not much gain over a well ventilated and overclocked RX 480. Still if it drives the price of the RX 4xx series down I'd consider a change from my R9 290.
     
  2. AstinGC90

    AstinGC90 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    537
    Location:
    FNQ
  3. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    51,967
    Location:
    brisbane
  4. bennyg

    bennyg Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,142
    Location:
    Melbourne, Oztraya
    So what exactly is 'improved' about this 'latest' 14nm? I'd love to see an apples to apples of rx480 vs rx580, same clock same voltage.

    I really hope this means their 14nm won't be as relatively uncompetitive to Nvidia's 16nm with Vega as well. Their 580 is basically the same performance/power as the 980, which is on 28nm... we all know what nvidia did with the jump from 28nm to 16nm
     
  5. SnooP-WiggleS

    SnooP-WiggleS Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,831
    Location:
    Ballarat, Victoria
    Going off this adoredtv review, the rx580 will clock higher at the same voltage, or clock the same but with less volts. He has the rx 580 running at rx480 speed but only 890mv (stock rx 480 is up to 1137mv but could usually reliably undervolt to at least 1050mv). It's a small improvement. Really this is just a rx485, it does make it a more clear winner to the gtx 1060 for current games (which will only widen as more dx12/vulkan games come into play).
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MQ9ro5pwfXY
     
  6. AstinGC90

    AstinGC90 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    537
    Location:
    FNQ
    My brother in law just built a new rig with an RX480 2 weeks ago :sick: poor dude. At least I can make it a RX580 for free :thumbup:
     
  7. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    51,967
    Location:
    brisbane
    that's pretty bloody short sighted of him. Would have been better off with an nVidia card.
     
  8. SnooP-WiggleS

    SnooP-WiggleS Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,831
    Location:
    Ballarat, Victoria
  9. MoMaN69

    MoMaN69 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    2,065
    Location:
    YouTube / Merrylands 2160
    Someone at work has told me you can just load the rx580 bios onto the rx480 for a free upgrade.

    Anyone else seen this yet ?
     
  10. SnooP-WiggleS

    SnooP-WiggleS Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,831
    Location:
    Ballarat, Victoria
    Technically, but in most cases much safer just to use amd wattman to overclock your rx480, which usually allows for voltage adjustments and raising TDP power limits.
     
  11. _slacker_

    _slacker_ Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,240
    Location:
    hiding from census dude!

    I've edited the power settings into an RX480 XFX bios, left the rest as it is. I used the RX 580 1411mhz clocked bios and just templated it into the RX480 bios, I dont need it to be rocognized as a 580 :lol:

    I'll flash it probably tomorrow night when I get a moment.

    TDP(W) up from 110 to 180 :weirdo: and max power ( w) from 115 to 175

    Top is RX580, lower is RX480


    [​IMG]
     
  12. DarkStyle

    DarkStyle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,500
    Increased clocking comes from increased voltage. The RX580 BIOS has a higher default operating voltage, allowing you to get a higher speed from an RX480, than you could get otherwise clocking. The GPU section of Polaris BIOS editor shows those mV values are just "auto-calculate". Try running an RX580 BIOS with a RX480 voltage :lol:

    Problem is, the 225 watt Thunder BIOS already showed Polaris could clock much higher than its 1200-1300 operating frequency. Don't get why people are excited, you still have to cool it :lol:
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2017
  13. Paulie_AU

    Paulie_AU Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2013
    Messages:
    3,457
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Custom water will keep it cool no probs. 225w is nothing. My furyX pulls upto 325w and doesn't crack 31degrees in 25 degree ambient gaming. Benching upto 35 degrees (also warmer weather so who knows).
     
  14. spank36

    spank36 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    182
    Location:
    brisbane
    Adoreds review hit the nail on the head. His undervolting is very interesting coupled with radeon chill. He is exactly right about freesync, you'd be mad not to get a freesync screen and an rx480/580 over a 1060 and a screen without sync tech
     
  15. Paulie_AU

    Paulie_AU Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2013
    Messages:
    3,457
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Yep I love the smoothness of freesync. The $200 price difference of freesync vs gsync monitor made it well worth changing to amd. 1060 and a gsync would be a waste of coin.
     
  16. DarkStyle

    DarkStyle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,500
    225 watt is 33% above AMD's rated TDP. It is not nothing for the Polaris architecture ;)

    Are we putting RX500 series news in this thread or starting a new one?
     
  17. Sledge

    Sledge Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    6,594
    Location:
    Adelaide
    They're all Polaris so keep it all here i reckon.
    They're really the same cards...
     
  18. mesaoz

    mesaoz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    4,286
    Location:
    Twitch / Brisbane
    Agree, I would suggest renaming the thread to drop the 480 in the title.
     
  19. DarkStyle

    DarkStyle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,500
    Agreed :D

    1
     
  20. The Panda

    The Panda Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    35
    Sooo my 390x died a couple of weeks ago. I'm going to have to RMA to Sapphire.

    480 a good replacement during RMA? Seems like they are pretty similar performance based on the GPU bench @ Anandtech.
     

Share This Page