1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

AMD Radeon R7, R9 2xx GPUs 28nm | 250 260X 270X 280X 290X | Discussion

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by vid_ghost, Jan 10, 2012.

  1. Frag

    Frag Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    5,201
    Location:
    Brisvegas
    Doh, forgot you have 290 not X. Oh well I will work it out when I get them under water. Weird, I'll hunt XS forums to see what is going on.
     
  2. bobster

    bobster Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,027
    Location:
    Sydney
    [​IMG]
    This is my 290 at stock volt oc to 1050mhz gpu and 1400mhz ram. Gpu goes up to 1085 without artifacts on stock volts and not pushed the ram anymore yet.
     
  3. Beaner

    Beaner Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    737
    Location:
    Sydney
    My new R290X has terrible coil whine when loading up WoW. Anyone experienced that?

    Wow: Just searched through the thread. This is terrible lol. Another card getting RMA'd I think
     
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2013
  4. aussie-revhead

    aussie-revhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    19,963
    Location:
    St Clair 2759
    Yeah pretty high RMA rate on these, about to send my second one away.

    :thumbdn:
     
  5. kEv_

    kEv_ Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    Messages:
    565
    Location:
    Adelaide
    did you get your voltage adjustment? i just downloaded from guru3d and it's good to go, but i'm unsure if i want it as it seems to make the card run worse:confused:
    having the extra voltage stopped my artifacting but seems to have done something weird to my scores, any ideas anyone?

    [​IMG]
    Click to view full size!


    here's a comparison of my best run, with a small amount of artifacts, with this latest run

    http://www.3dmark.com/compare/3dm11/7505817/3dm11/7475307
     
  6. Beaner

    Beaner Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    737
    Location:
    Sydney
    Yeah. I bought from ITESTATE hope that process goes OK.
     
  7. Beaner

    Beaner Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    737
    Location:
    Sydney
    Hey all:

    For those that have RMA'd due to Coil whine, did it resolve the issue? Or is it something that my PSU may be causing ? (Seasonic Platinum V2 860w) What a frustrating problem.
     
  8. FiShy

    FiShy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Messages:
    9,682
    I have the same psu and no whine.
     
  9. mAJORD

    mAJORD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    12,622
    Location:
    Griffin , Brisbane
    M12 II 850 . No audible noise.
     
  10. Geno

    Geno Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2,116
    Location:
    Perth
    Neither of my XFX 290's make a peep with regards to coil whine.
     
  11. Ogre

    Ogre Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,454
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Pretty sure the coil whine is a hardware 'fault'
     
  12. Beaner

    Beaner Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    737
    Location:
    Sydney
    OK thanks all. I'll let you know my results post RMA.
     
  13. sw-m78

    sw-m78 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    292
    Location:
    Brisbane City
  14. Twizzly

    Twizzly Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    711
    Location:
    Adelaide
  15. master phi

    master phi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,403
    I can hear Tom Jones right now.
     
  16. Muddy Funster

    Muddy Funster Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Messages:
    661
    Location:
    QLD 4455
    P22895

    looks like I am stuck at 1150/6000 at this stage with stock coolers, artifacts otherwise

    Graphics Score 31957
    Physics Score 13721
    Combined Score 10780
     
  17. Scarecow

    Scarecow Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Messages:
    292
    I had to RMA a gigabtye card and I'll be doing the same with a ASUS 290x too, both cards have coil whine and its not my system causing it as I have tested with other systems and the whine in all of them :thumbdn:
     
  18. master.Cuong

    master.Cuong Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    482
    Location:
    Sydney
    I did have a gigabyte 290 which had coil whine and returned the card and upgraded to 290x so now no coil whine. Both are gigabyte
     
  19. sjp770

    sjp770 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,723
    Location:
    Sticks, NSW
    Try at a lower MEM OC. I could push higher and be more stable if the ram wasn't up at 6000
     
  20. TaroT

    TaroT Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,727
    Location:
    Hazelbrook nsw 2779
    ok has anyone actually narrowed down excatly *where* the coil noise is coming from...since these don't really have *coils* the vibrate...what is.
    can't really be the cooler as it happens on aftermarket /water and stock.

    ayone with a smaller waterblock able to locate it?

    i have not got it on mine(the saphire) but in the end did have it a little on the gigabyte...nowhere near as bad as the worse ones though.

    also i experienced black screen...pain in the ass.

    comes down to trying to setup profiles in afterburner...i was setting up a nice stock one but slid the power slider into the negative and boom black screen.

    so definitely could be power related(wether or not it is a fault in the card or the software who knows
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: