1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

AMD to enable ATI Stream for Radeon HD 4000s and take on CUDA..

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by DiGiTaL MoNkEY, Nov 14, 2008.

  1. DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    27,012
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    http://ati.amd.com/technology/streamcomputing/

    Read - Extreme Tech, "AMD Answers Atom with 'Conesus,' Roadmap Update"
    Read - PC Perspective, "ATI Stream Computing: From the desktop to the datacenter"
    Read - HotHardware, "AMD ATI Stream Computing Update"

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. legionnaire

    legionnaire Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    532
    Location:
    Sydney
    Hehe I was about to post this but was beaten by DM :( :p

    Anyways nice work AMD, bring on more competition I say :)
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2008
  3. Munki

    Munki Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,836
    Location:
    Sydney
    I certainly hope this isn't a marketing ploy and it'll really bring in benefits for computers. Either way, I can't wait!
     
  4. OP
    OP
    DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    27,012
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Have a look at this overview, quite a few applications are planned to be patched to make the most of "ATI Stream".

    http://www.pcper.com/article.php?aid=638
     
  5. Munki

    Munki Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,836
    Location:
    Sydney
    Damn, that sounds really really good! I definitely can't wait now!
     
  6. reynolds13

    reynolds13 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    102
    Location:
    Adelaide
    im not good with all this stuff :p
    can someone please explain what this is going to do for the cards?
    thanks
     
  7. OP
    OP
    DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    27,012
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Its going to allow supporting applications use your GPU to make things faster.
     
  8. eukaryote:)

    eukaryote:) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,419
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Damn it looks like it's only for the 4000 series cards :( Now what, all below that card i.e. 3000 and 2000 series are stuffed.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    27,012
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    I believe this is the case with AMD, its unknown if we'll see software support previous generations of cards at this point in time.
     
  10. itsmydamnation

    itsmydamnation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    10,738
    Location:
    Canberra
    prob because the memory architexture is very different on the 4000 comapred to 2000, 3000.
     
  11. jakiman

    jakiman Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,251
    Location:
    Sydney
    Okay. Right now, I have my Q6600 that is capable of encoding 1 hour non-HD video file to a PSP x264 MP4 in around 15-20 minutes. (fast single pass encoding) Will my 4870 make it a lot faster than this? (That's if the software is capable of such conversions...) If faster, how much faster? hmm. Would love it to be under 2-3 minutes. :D

    I use Adobe Lightroom 2 heavily also. Hope it will support this later also.
     
  12. OP
    OP
    DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    27,012
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Its impossible to say over the internet as there are many variables..

    With the free ati video encoding software...

    1 hour of HD video in 12 minutes.

    [​IMG]
     
  13. $3@N

    $3@N (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    5,979
    Location:
    Forever A Pwn
    wtf why no stream for hd3000 series, exact same architecture... lame!
     
  14. SLATYE

    SLATYE SLATYE, not SLAYTE

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    26,871
    Location:
    Canberra
    It's possible that they'll add that later. It makes sense to get it working on the new cards first, since it encourages people to buy those. Setting it up to run on the old cards is just a 'nice' thing; they're not likely to make a whole lot of money from it.
     
  15. thebranded

    thebranded Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,244
    Location:
    Sydney
    this seems great for people with older spec PC's still (ie me) so instead of having to upgrade the GPU and still be bottlenecked by the CPU at some tasks, with this i can potentially increase the overall performance of my old rig. :thumbup:
     
  16. manic311

    manic311 (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    570
    Location:
    East Perth
    Lame, on the box of my HD3870x2 it says it can do physics. Never once have I seen it do this. I'm taking it back for false advertisement.
     
  17. itsmydamnation

    itsmydamnation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    10,738
    Location:
    Canberra
    no it isn't, ring bus vs cross bar fabric. also register space is different and the ALU's are different. Basiclly most of the areas where optimisation needs to be written are different, it sucks for people who won 3000 but i can see why.
     
  18. eukaryote:)

    eukaryote:) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,419
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Yes, let's try sue a multinational, maybe you can end up with no house.

    *cynical* :p
     
  19. manic311

    manic311 (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    570
    Location:
    East Perth
    I wouldn't sue AMD lol, everyone knows they have no money...
     
  20. eukaryote:)

    eukaryote:) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,419
    Location:
    Melbourne
    That is an awesome reply.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: