AMD Vega GPU

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by Agg, Jan 6, 2017.

  1. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    66,664
    Location:
    brisbane
    it might be too early to call this but HBM feels like AMD's RAMBUS or Netburst, betting the farm on something that can't deliver it's full potential all the while GDDR is killing it.
     
  2. PsychoSmiley

    PsychoSmiley Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    7,085
    Location:
    Taranaki, New Zealand
    In the context of Vulkan definitely. Vulkan is a much nicer more open API compared to DirectX.

    In my view better resource utilitisation can then feed back into making things look prettier as you've got more to work with.
     
  3. SnooP-WiggleS

    SnooP-WiggleS Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    3,194
    Location:
    Ballarat, Victoria
    Totally disagree on HBM2 comparison to netburst. It's lower latency memory faster and lower power than GDD5, just costs a bit more. Nvidia uses HBM2 for their flagship enterprise GP100 and upcoming volta GV100. IMO It's more a case of Nvidia is going slow getting into HBM2 until the enterprise cards and AMD get the cost down.
     
  4. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    66,664
    Location:
    brisbane
    GDDR doesn't exist in a vacuum.

    GDDR6 anyone?

    https://www.extremetech.com/computing/248267-sk-hynix-will-launch-gddr6-2018-hbm2

    let's not forget HBM2 while supposedly amazing is notoriously expensive due to low yields afaik.

    And if nvidia do go to GDDR6 then HBM2 will not see the demand it needs.
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2017
  5. Unframed

    Unframed Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9,216
    Location:
    Hella south west
    Lol, 4GB of HBM1 was holding pretty close against the Titan X and 980ti at 4k. GDDR isn't why AMD aren't king of the hill.
     
  6. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    66,664
    Location:
    brisbane
    they seem to be having issues with it though?
     
  7. Dragonfly

    Dragonfly Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    4,400
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Samsung is increasing production of HBM2. Apparently one of the main reasons Vega was delayed was because of not having enough HBM2 to launch the cards in decent volume.
     
  8. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    66,664
    Location:
    brisbane
    It will be interesting if someone ever gets the full inside scoop on just what's gone wrong.
     
  9. bart5986

    bart5986 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    4,960
    Location:
    Brisbane
    One thing you can count on Nvidia to do is to only make decisions on their cards based on today, not the future. AMD are the opposite.

    Considering games can take 5+ years to develop and even then most developers pick old or cheaper engines to make their game with, betting on future tech is a bad idea.
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2017
  10. Dragonfly

    Dragonfly Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    4,400
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2017
  11. SKITZ0_000

    SKITZ0_000 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,457
    Location:
    Tas
    https://youtu.be/ejVNhOvwtuI

    This might be interesting to some.

    Initially I was thinking if power was a concern you may as well get Vega 64 and wind the clocks back over getting Vega 56.

    But this almost sways me the other way if correct (and pending HBM2 voltage) as you may instead be able to flash a higher TDP and some other tweaks, typically run it stock and wind the wick up as required per game (using Crimson per game/app Wattman) for similar performance at a better price.
     
  12. rickoles

    rickoles Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Location:
    Perth 6017
    This has almost always been the case with AMD cards because they're just cut down or locked off versions of their bigger brothers.

    The 470s could be flashed to 570s, the 480s to 580s, Fury's to Fury X's and if I remember right the 7950 to the 7970.

    And even though the 56 has 12.5% less than the 64 I doubt it'll mean 12.5% less performance as the chips will both have the same amounts of other tech. I expect they'll OC well too.
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2017
  13. adamsleath

    adamsleath Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    19,176
    Location:
    Sunnybank Q 4109
  14. Soulblade2

    Soulblade2 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2002
    Messages:
    963
    Location:
    Brisbane
    So for now 1080ti's are king? AMD has nothing on the cards gaming wise until Navi?:confused:
     
  15. Frag

    Frag Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    5,166
    Location:
    Perth
    Much to do with the poor performance of the AMD GPU's is simply the ROPS get saturated. If ROPS are left intact then that will certainly be less than that (not counting for MHZ diff). I know some of the new fancy ways AMD tried to combat this may pay off but it will take a damn lot of time to get there.

    Vega 56 will certainly be an interesting mid range proposition. Actually looking forward a little to see what it can do.
     
  16. rickoles

    rickoles Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Location:
    Perth 6017
    Buildzoid did a pretty cool video on what Vega 56 would theoretically be able to do vs the 64.

    He also talks about why amd used hbm vs gddr

    https://youtu.be/ejVNhOvwtuI
     
  17. nope

    nope Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    3,457
    Location:
    Tipshits
    why didnt amd offer a 16gb version?
     
  18. PRiME2007

    PRiME2007 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    374
    Location:
    Adelaide Gawler
    They did its called the Vega Frontier Edition, it has gaming drivers available for it. Price starts at 999usd for that one.
     
  19. congoh

    congoh Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    7,498
    Location:
    Melbourne, not too far from Monash Uni.
    No need for it in gamer market.
    It's a different story for professional market.
    Also, more memory means increased power consumption.
     
  20. SKITZ0_000

    SKITZ0_000 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,457
    Location:
    Tas
    Also it's 'HBC', so if all works correctly you shouldn't really compare it to 8Gb of GDDR5 on a current gpu.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: