AMD Vega GPU

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by Agg, Jan 6, 2017.

  1. aussie-revhead

    aussie-revhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    19,861
    Location:
    St Clair 2759
    Hey T1, were you playing BF1 last night? Sorry for ot

    I'm very interested to see how Vega and TR pan out.

    :)
     
  2. terroristone

    terroristone Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,174
    Location:
    Melb 3030
    hahaha yeah i was for a bit, didnt have a good run all my team mates were not doing their jobs.

    Yeah im keen as hell to check out vega. I've always been a big supporter of the under dog...as you know in regards to my racing back ground...

    T1
     
  3. congoh

    congoh Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    7,498
    Location:
    Melbourne, not too far from Monash Uni.
    As long as they're in business and pumping out gfx cards that forces NVidia to react I don't think majority of gamers care whether they sell mime cards or not. We need competition in this sector to avoid what we've witnessed in CPU business.
     
  4. Aussiejuggalo

    Aussiejuggalo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,232
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast Queensland
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2017
  5. aussie-revhead

    aussie-revhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    19,861
    Location:
    St Clair 2759
    Wow that would be a new record for a second their GPU? I guess in line with 1070 at its dearest but still it's a lot.

    :(
     
  6. Aussiejuggalo

    Aussiejuggalo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,232
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast Queensland
    Unless that's just a place holder price but if it's not it's $100 more than I expected, it's the HBM2 that's pushing the damn price up because it's so expensive :mad:.

    Edit, forgot to link Gigabyte Vega 64 product page.
     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2017
  7. PsychoSmiley

    PsychoSmiley Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    7,087
    Location:
    Taranaki, New Zealand
    The NZ pricing is the PC shop that I aim to use locally. Pending the reviews of the 56 I'll be watching the pricing of it at the same store.
     
  8. Aussiejuggalo

    Aussiejuggalo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,232
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast Queensland
    Yeah I'm waiting for reviews of the 56 as well.

    More pricing UK price & Chez Republic, looks like $1000 could be right unless all of them have place holder pricing.
     
  9. headin2001

    headin2001 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,587
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast
    I worked out the 64 to be roughly $1k for the Watercooled version. This obviously depends on whether AMD push to have their MSRP set like Ryzen was on release.
     
  10. Unframed

    Unframed Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9,225
    Location:
    Hella south west
    From the gigabyte site for Vega 64 WC:

    System power supply requirement: 1000W :lol:
    I'll be right but it sounds like she's gunna use some juice.
     
  11. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    66,693
    Location:
    brisbane
    surely they are kidding???
     
  12. mesaoz

    mesaoz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    7,855
    Location:
    South East QLD
    That's what I think when I see most gigabyte products
     
  13. ipv6ready

    ipv6ready Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,800
    Location:
    North Sydney
  14. terroristone

    terroristone Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,174
    Location:
    Melb 3030
    i'll definitely be fine...
     
  15. Kurosaki

    Kurosaki Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    4,852
    Location:
    Australia
    They have to cover their ass. There will also be that one muppet that tries some stupid shit
     
  16. Paulie_AU

    Paulie_AU Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2013
    Messages:
    3,483
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Note best efficiency of 1000w PSU is at 50%. Probably not a bad thing.
     
  17. Aussiejuggalo

    Aussiejuggalo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,232
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast Queensland
    The reason they always give high PSU requirements is in case people buy cheap shitty power supplies with crap rails, you can run an 1800X + 1080Ti on a 500w PSU providing it's at least gold rated.
     
  18. Bertross

    Bertross Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    13,783
    Location:
    East Gipps
    Or a lot from here :D
     
  19. nope

    nope Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    3,459
    Location:
    Tipshits
    i think i have a older 800watt unit from 2009 but it should be more than good enough surely.

    such a shame about the pricing though thats the real disappointment here, ends up more expensive than nvidia due to bloody miners and lack of regulation and shitty retailers being shiity money thieving ****s
     
  20. terroristone

    terroristone Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,174
    Location:
    Melb 3030
    you mean like someone buying a rx480 and putting it in a 15 year old board that dosnt have enough pcie power??? lol.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: