AMD Vega GPU

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by Agg, Jan 6, 2017.

  1. SiriusDragon

    SiriusDragon Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,353
    Location:
    Sydney
    So, overclocking/benching talk... can Vega's wattage limits be bypassed?

    Like say it was cooled down heaps or even under a decent ambient loop, and you had a big enough PSU, could you bypass the locks AMD seems to put in the BIOS?

    There seems to be some method involving registry power tables... I assume that'll be as good as it gets unless people somehow figure out how to certify custom BIOSes?

    Getting kinda sick of companies locking down the BIOS on cards :mad:
     
  2. boneburner

    boneburner Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,882
    As far as I'm aware, this is the first time amd has chosen to do so.
     
  3. VirtualNinja

    VirtualNinja Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,192
    Location:
    North Parramatta
    From my experience GPU's are the most likely component to fail. My previous GPU EVGA GTX 770 had to be RMA'd twice. Any potential savings on the initial purchase price would have been swallowed up by postage to Taiwan. Certain items make sense to purchase OS but GPU's are not one.

    Take a MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X new egg shipped is $832.69 or I can buy it at my local PC shop for $825. PCCG is listed for $899.
     
  4. Myne_h

    Myne_h Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    11,420
    Weird. I've never had one fail.
     
  5. partybear

    partybear Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    891
    Location:
    Ballarat, Victoria
    They do fail more then other parts, gpus and motherboards are the only parts I have had fail. I have been buying gpus since the voodoo 3, and have only had 2-3 die of natural causes in that time. Motherboards I would have to say I have actually had maybe 10 or more die, they have to be the lease reliable part.
     
  6. Unframed

    Unframed Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9,160
    Location:
    Hella south west
    I've seen it all fail.

    SSDs, Mech drives, Motherboards, PSUs, GPUs.

    Most common though I'd say is PSU followed by GPU/Motherboard.
     
  7. SKITZ0_000

    SKITZ0_000 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,444
    Location:
    Tas
    +1, I've lost a few motherboards or had boards with faults. Though I think I've only ever had one GPU fail on me out of dozens and dozens.

    Motherboards and spinning disks are the key offenders imo.

    So ah, Vega stock when?
     
  8. Unframed

    Unframed Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9,160
    Location:
    Hella south west
    My 64 Water has been pushed to the 28th
     
  9. sTeeLzor

    sTeeLzor Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Messages:
    2,745
    While AMDs words suggest cheap ones should be returning, I am so glad I purchased the $660 Vega 64. I do not think I could justify $900. Would have just imported a 1080Ti for that much + a little extra.
     
  10. SKITZ0_000

    SKITZ0_000 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,444
    Location:
    Tas
    Bah, the wait continues.......

    I'm after a 64 liquid, but need it to be at my local MSY so I can get some sneaky CC purchase price protection :Pirate:
     
  11. Unframed

    Unframed Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9,160
    Location:
    Hella south west
    So I called Scorptec.
    They said the Sapphire I ordered is all that's available for Vega64 Watercooled (which is odd because they have MSI listed and had Gigabyte before). They also said only 5 units were ordered and not long after the supplier pushed back the ETA pretty much straight away. Sadly, sounds like theres no way to get my Vega64 sooner :(
     
  12. Aussiejuggalo

    Aussiejuggalo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,201
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast Queensland
    Seems like the only way to get a Vega card now is to buy packs, apparently more Vega's went to packs than anything else.
     
  13. Unframed

    Unframed Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9,160
    Location:
    Hella south west
    The packs were shit. I thought it was going to be a deal. As I'm upgrading it all I planned to be like Add Vega, Ryzen, RAM and Mobo to cart - get $200 discount. It was more like "Here's preconfigured bundles that don't meet your needs, enjoy"
     
  14. Aussiejuggalo

    Aussiejuggalo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,201
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast Queensland
    Yeah I know, they also work out to be more expensive in most cases to...

    From everything I've read the majority of Vega supply is reserved for packs and individual Vega supply is basically gone. No clue what the fuck AMD are doing right now, don't even think they know.
     
  15. Unframed

    Unframed Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9,160
    Location:
    Hella south west
    I think they planned the Ryzen popularity would have reserved bundles but only offering 1700X and 1800X and specific boards makes it waaaay too niche.
     
  16. sTeeLzor

    sTeeLzor Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Messages:
    2,745
    Well those packs would be good for people who want whole systems. Like a Freesync monitor + Ryzen. But yeah other than that, its not much value especially for a couple of games not a lot of people want.
     
  17. SCORPTEC

    SCORPTEC Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,074
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Vega 64 stock in Australia was and is a mess.

    Can't really go into details but yea, it's a shambles tbh.
     
  18. Bertross

    Bertross Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    13,783
    Location:
    East Gipps
    was was Vega itself :) heavily disappointed. I wanted it to be great!
     
  19. SCORPTEC

    SCORPTEC Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,074
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Yea I'm personally disappointed in it as well. Wasn't looking to upgrade my 1070 at all but competition would've been good.
     
  20. aussie-revhead

    aussie-revhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    19,845
    Location:
    St Clair 2759
    Isnt it sort of competitive at a price point?

    The guys that got 64 for $669 cant complain?

    Its not a Ti but its not priced like one either (the wc one is a bit pricey but so is the wc Ti ...)

    :thumbup:
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: