AMD Vega GPU

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by Agg, Jan 6, 2017.

  1. bobster

    bobster Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,027
    Location:
    Sydney


    If PLE don't get me stock I will ask for a refund and WC the Ti with the EK fluid gaming kit.
     
  2. Bertross

    Bertross Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    13,840
    Location:
    East Gipps
    Ffs lol a few of my pals are also wcing their 1080tis. Dont make me buy water.... i know ill get hooked and poor.
     
  3. bobster

    bobster Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,027
    Location:
    Sydney


    Ti is best under water, ICX cooler is amazing but the case is soo warm
     
  4. aussie-revhead

    aussie-revhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    19,927
    Location:
    St Clair 2759
    My Ti sits on high 20's while gaming .... how can you beat that?

    WC FTW !!!

    :thumbup:
     
  5. ipv6ready

    ipv6ready Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,842
    Location:
    North Sydney
    I should have bought a Vega 56. It would have been fun to play for a week or two and sell for the same price.

    Reasoning Sk Hynix have not started mass producing HBM2 according to their executive in share investment conference on the 4th of August and Hynix is still in discussions with number of buyers about HBM2 mass productions.

    Doesn't mean Hynix is not producing HBM2 it just means current Hynix HBM2 modules are being produced on their testing and proving line.

    Samsung hasn't anounced new production capacity either, and we would be told if they plan as public companies make these kinds of press release everyday when starting new productions to meet continuous disclosure rules, just like amd was to release something last quarter and released the FE because they stated it last year in their investor briefing.

    So it is very possible that there is no shortage of HBM2 modules as such since no one but AMD seems to be having supply to issues.

    If Cisco couldn't buy enough modules $250k switches or Nvidia couldn't make $10k tesla cards for hollywood or Google was having supply issues to update their deep learning supercomputer, any single one of them is big enough to forward order making it worthwhile for both Hynix or Samsung (at least one of the who got the order) to crank production. But neither have.

    Also another interesting titbit, could it be that it is not AMD but ACS the contracted fabricater who is the one having issues.

    Ie amd sends 200 working HBM2 modules and 100 gpu silicon but getting back only 75 finished working die not the 100 it was expecting, this would make already expensive components even more expensive. And neither AMD or ACS would want to mass produce until it has these teething issues solved.

    Why I allude to ACS issues is that in May there were rumours that amd is launching Vega FE with 20,000 cards, for FE seems plausible. Today tweaktown just released an article saying supply of Vega Rx at launch was 25,000. If true it seems very low, so low that even without miners demand there would be a massive shortage.
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2017
  6. nope

    nope Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    3,496
    Location:
    Tipshits
    took the plunge and got a 1080 for $720

    I really wanted a vega 56 but I'm not putting up with a stock cooler again

    had one on a 290 and it poisoned me against amd and stock coolers for a long time.

    I just don't know guys I think amd fucked up really bad

    We have stock overvolt issues, driver issues and stupid supply issues its just to much.

    If the 64 magically nears 1080 ti levels for a 1080 price I might swap back in the future but somehow I just don't see it.

    Peace boys.
     
  7. havabeer

    havabeer Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,883
    see your user name for the 64 vs 1080ti
     
  8. jET_M@X

    jET_M@X Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    2,358
    Lol 56 can be bios flashed to the vega 64 bios to get higher core and memory speeds. Overclocking the vega 56 with the V64 bios by 75Mhz beats the stock Vega 64. Source shown here.So TLDR: Overclocking Vega 56 flashed to V64 bios will actually beat stock Vega 64 and might be competitive against a 1080?
     
  9. Deano_20802

    Deano_20802 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    440
    Location:
    Tas
    I'll read it after I finish work, but a WC (or at least good AIB) 56 with a BIOS flash could be a winning combo for people wanting or needing AMD.
     
  10. taldoren

    taldoren Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    360
    Until you then OC the 1080...
     
  11. jpw007

    jpw007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,011
    Haha, shit that's gold.

    I saw Jayz2Cents put a block on Vega 64. Haven't seen much on it though since i don't really watch things like that generally, but i have seen some of his videos and was entertained.
     
  12. PRiME2007

    PRiME2007 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    377
    Location:
    Adelaide Gawler
    The 64 that Jays2Cents reviewed did around 7FPS better with a much more cooler card (no OC, just auto boosting). He said it wasn't worth it for the added cost unless the VEGA 64 goes for cheap in the future. You must remember a WC EK loop for a GPU is quite expensive to buy into.

    I'd be happy for a FuryX reboot design on a VEGA64, with the short card and single watercooler AIO setup. But perhaps its not enough.
     
  13. SCORPTEC

    SCORPTEC Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,074
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Wow. That's an insanely low ROI.
     
  14. jpw007

    jpw007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,011
    Hooo weee. That's shithouse. Still 7fps is at least something. I wonder what a 1080 Ti gains under water...
     
  15. SCORPTEC

    SCORPTEC Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,074
    Location:
    Melbourne
    My quick googling failed to bring up actual FPS numbers, but the 1080Ti easily gains 200-300Mhz under water as far as overclocking is concerned.
     
  16. aussie-revhead

    aussie-revhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    19,927
    Location:
    St Clair 2759
    Fps gain might not look like much on its own but removing throttling is worth it, it's weird buying a powerful GPU or CPU to have clocks throttle anyway ... At least with water it will hold steady clocks at full load.

    :)
     
  17. SKITZ0_000

    SKITZ0_000 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,505
    Location:
    Tas
    That's awesome, thanks for posting.

    Roughly 1080 performance for as low as $579 is very good value, even comparing overclocked versions. The cheapest GTX 1080 at the moment is $725, ~$600 is 1070 money.

    Very tempting for the tinkerer.
     
  18. adamsleath

    adamsleath Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    19,372
    Location:
    Sunnybank Q 4109
    if i had an unlimited budget id have 1080ti's

    duh-ville. it's all about your budget. 579? good price
     
  19. bobster

    bobster Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,027
    Location:
    Sydney
    I ordered mine from PLE at $579, not bad price at will, will sell my Ti when it come then put at waterblock in it
     
  20. havabeer

    havabeer Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,883
    That's just annoying that the card can be pushed to those limits but AMD won't release it as a proper card??
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: