AMD Vega GPU

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by Agg, Jan 6, 2017.

Tags:
  1. jpw007

    jpw007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    2,852
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Ah got ya. I'd be hesitant to throw AMD under the bus either and i'm sure is just bad luck on your part. Bugger that it had to happen to you.

    Is that hot spot reading Vega only or applicable to all?
     
  2. Unframed

    Unframed Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    8,588
    Location:
    Hella south west
    Already said, hot spot showed 90 degrees before shutdown.

    It was set to turbo.

    Not throwing them under the bus, it's disheartening though given the amount of cash I spent on it.

    Vega exclusive sensor.

    Hotspot was over 90 degrees. Also all temps were being monitored. CPU was around 40 degrees. Mobo was 35 degrees.
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2017
  3. darkbastard

    darkbastard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    369
    Location:
    Duranbah - near Kingsclif


    Thanks [emoji41][emoji41]
     
  4. terroristone

    terroristone Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,817
    Location:
    Melb 3030
    yeah i did read that, was just reinforcing others to do it so we can all some kind of guide as to what is normal...

    Are you able to try to replicate it in another machine? maybe put it in a friends machine just to be sure.

    T1
     
  5. mAJORD

    mAJORD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    8,904
    Location:
    Griffin , Brisbane

    Yah, well I'm sure my 56 hovers around high 80s on this sensor. I can't see 90c being problematic, not can I see AMD GPU driver or Bios initiating a machine shutdown
     
  6. jpw007

    jpw007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    2,852
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Sorry, meant that i wouldn't throw them under the bus in my mind. I've still got faith in them that it's an isolated incident :thumbup:
     
  7. Unframed

    Unframed Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    8,588
    Location:
    Hella south west

    Nope, all my other PCs are rackmount and not WC friendly.

    I've done some testing.
    Originally thought it was PSU, quick PSU tester run showed adequate power.
    Primary monitor now flickers after first crash (on all sources but HDMI its far more subtle).
    Checked CPU stats and temps in BIOS, set fan speed higher just in case.
    Got into OS, updated GPU-Z and updated to the beta drivers. Monitored temps while running heaven bench. Once Hotspot ticked over 90 system shut down.
     
  8. terroristone

    terroristone Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,817
    Location:
    Melb 3030

    Ek block or lc edition?
     
  9. partybear

    partybear Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    798
    Location:
    Ballarat, Victoria
    The vega liquid cooled bios has a very low temperature shutoff compared to the other bios. I don't remember the exact numbers but give it a quick google the liquid bios has a lower temp limit. So it is possible that his shut down at that temp.
     
  10. Unframed

    Unframed Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    8,588
    Location:
    Hella south west
    LC edition
     
  11. DarkSnipa

    DarkSnipa Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2017
    Messages:
    156
    Location:
    Perth
    75C shutoff temp according to Buildzoid on youtube, good bios to flash if you going to watercool the card. Vega WC throttles at 65C if I am not mistaken, not too sure if the bios makes Vega throttle too if liquid temp goes over 60C.
     
  12. jpw007

    jpw007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    2,852
    Location:
    Melbourne
    It should throttle since generally pumps themselves are cooled by the water running through it so too high of a temp would cause pump failure
     
  13. riot123

    riot123 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    64
    Location:
    Sydney
    Well replaced the vega 56 stock cooler with rajintek morpheus II.

    No longer is it sounding like a leaf blower. :thumbup:
     
  14. buellersdayoff

    buellersdayoff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    On the top rad do you have one fan blowing the opposite direction to the other two, or is it just my eyes?
     
  15. darkbastard

    darkbastard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    369
    Location:
    Duranbah - near Kingsclif


    It has since been fixed, but yes in that pic one fan is installed backwards..........

    Not my greatest moment[emoji35][emoji35][emoji35]
     
  16. Ratzz

    Ratzz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Messages:
    5,963
    Location:
    Cheltenham East 3192
    Pumps, hoses and fittings are designed for water temps of 60° or so max. Hotter than that and you'll have more leaks than the Abbott govt.

    If your water temps are at 60°, break out the eggs, the CPU is also a frying pan, regardless of whether the GPU is causing the heat or not. The water will be incapable of removing heat from the CPU fast enough.

    If the water is hot enough to hurt the pump, and its not a water flow problem, both CPU and GPU are already dead, they just haven't realised it yet.
    If its a GPU or CPU problem they will throttle down to protect themselves, but the threshold is much lower than would be required to make the water get that hot.

    Only a flow problem would ever cause water to be hotter than 60°. Throttling isn't to protect the pump.



    EDIT: Just realised we might be talking about an AIO GPU here. Same applies though, just remove CPU from the equation. The water temp is always much lower than the GPU temp, if you were to heat the water sufficiently to damage the pump, the GPU will have already long past critical levels.

    Bad temps or spikes can be caused by air bubbles though, or a failing pump. Bad water flow will raise CPU temps. Of course TIM is also another possibility.
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2017
  17. buellersdayoff

    buellersdayoff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Cool cool [emoji41]
    If you're gonna change cases only do it to add more radiator space and full size fans, other than that leave it as is and see how it goes temp wise
     
  18. walker_2003

    walker_2003 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,734
    Location:
    Canberra
    anyone know the ETA for non-reference coolers?
     
  19. Aussiejuggalo

    Aussiejuggalo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,433
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast Queensland
    Best guess, end of Sep - Nov.

    Only "leaked" AIB card I think we've seen is the Asus Strix which basically has a 1080 cooler slapped on it.
     
  20. aussie-revhead

    aussie-revhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    19,146
    Location:
    St Clair 2759
    Guys, a mate has a 64 and his mem seems to be staying on 500mhz in afterburner regardless of overclock, has anyone seen this happen? He has a 56 too and the 56 is apparently 40% quicker (due to mem clock issue I assume).

    Any help would be great.

    :thumbup:
     

Share This Page