AMD's 2012 lines: Komodo, Trinity, and, Krishna/Wichita

Discussion in 'AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by stmok, Jun 16, 2011.

  1. OP
    OP
    stmok

    stmok Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    8,878
    Location:
    Sydney
    ECS shows production socket FM2 motherboard
    => http://www.tweaktown.com/news/24404/ecs_shows_production_socket_fm2_motherboard/index.html

    ECS Rolls Out First Socket FM2 Motherboard - A85F2-A Deluxe
    => http://vr-zone.com/articles/ecs-rolls-out-first-socket-fm2-motherboard--a85f2-a-deluxe/16119.html

    Uses the yet-to-be-announced AMD A85X chipset.
    * Eight SATA 3.0 (6Gbps) connectors; 7 internal, 1 as ESATA.
    * Six USB 3.0 ports; 4 at the back, 2 for front panel.
    * Up to 32GB RAM on 4 memory slots; Up to DDR3-2600 MHz.
    * Supports PCI-Express 2.0 only. (No capable PCI-Express 3.0 slots.)


    According to a Gigabyte press release, they'll announce their Socket FM2 mobos at Computex 2012.
    => http://hexus.net/tech/items/mainboa...l-new-motherboard-technologies-computex-2012/

    Computex 2012 begins on June 5th to June 9th in Taipei, Taiwan...We'll probably see more announcements from other mobo makers.
     
  2. dirtyd

    dirtyd Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,879
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
  3. Asteroid

    Asteroid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,443
    Location:
    Lapping Freo
    It appears to be more of the same. Very annoying that AMD changed sockets, anyone know of the technical reason for it?
     
  4. AEKaBeer

    AEKaBeer Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Messages:
    4,021
    Location:
    North Melbourne
    FM2 was always slated and is needed for the power saving features.

    LINK.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    stmok

    stmok Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    8,878
    Location:
    Sydney
    ...So they must have changed the way voltage regulation, etc is implemented. (Intel is doing the same with their Haswell/LGA1150 desktop platform for 2013.)


    The APU platform wasn't intended for the type of user/enthusiast that wants an upgrade path. Its really aimed for the budget-to-mainstream market and priced accordingly. This kind of user base rarely opens up their system to swap components out. They buy a PC and use it until it breaks or no longer meets their needs. (Which results it being thrown out, donated, or recycled.)

    I see the current APU implementation as a one-off investment. Its not meant to be lasting as long as possible in terms of platform life-span. It seems AMD will treat it more like a test or guinea pig platform for each new generation of cores.

    ie:

    2012
    2nd gen APU: Trinity => 1st revision Piledriver (32nm)
    2nd gen CPU: Vishera => 2nd revision Piledriver (32nm)

    2013
    3rd gen APU: Kaveri => 1st revision Steamroller (28nm)
    2nd gen CPU: Vishera => Continued use of 2nd revision Piledriver (32nm)

    2014
    4th gen APU => 1st revision Excavator (??nm)
    3rd gen CPU => 2nd revision Steamroller (28nm)

    I guess its their version of "tick-tock" release model, but its not based on die-shrink and new architecture releases like Intel has done. Its oriented towards APU and CPU platforms instead.
     
  6. mAJORD

    mAJORD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    8,907
    Location:
    Griffin , Brisbane
    Well, 32nm has been out for a year now, and in that time we've seen next to no process improvements, so on the surface it doesn't look good.

    I don't even know if GF are employing CTI still on the SOI process? If they are it must be purely focused on improving yields.

    WE did see a similar situation on 65nm, so time will tell if we see better improvement over time on piledriver (Which should yield better)
     
  7. AEKaBeer

    AEKaBeer Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Messages:
    4,021
    Location:
    North Melbourne
    Since PD is for both the desktop and notebook markets I guess they needed to focus on it's implementation over an interim refined BD, the biggest difference is going to be performance per watt over perf/clock. There will be an improvement (guessing 10-15%) with PD but we can't expect the world since they need to get steam roller out in 2013. It's a massive beat the clock game now, no more 8-9 years using the same architecture and AMD's engineers are getting their arses reamed after the bulldozer fiasco which frankly should have happened when phenom 1 came out all those years ago.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    stmok

    stmok Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    8,878
    Location:
    Sydney
    Some MSI-brand Socket FM2 mobos from Computex 2012.

    MSI Shows off A85XA-G65 Socket FM2 Motherboard
    => http://www.techpowerup.com/167166/MSI-Shows-off-A85XA-G65-Socket-FM2-Motherboard.html

    ATX sized mobo using AMD's yet-to-be announced A85X chipset with two PCI-Express 2.0 x16 slots (running x8 each in SLI or Crossfire mode)...Yeah, you read right; This mobo supports Nvidia's SLI. :confused:

    MSI Unveils Mini-ITX Socket FM2 Motherboard A85IA-E53
    => http://www.techpowerup.com/167168/MSI-Unveils-Mini-ITX-Socket-FM2-Motherboard-A85IA-E53.html

    This uses the current AMD A75 chipset as found on Llano-oriented Socket FM1 mobos. Looks like they squeezed as much as they can into this little one.

    MSI's Other Socket FM2 Motherboards Pictured
    => http://www.techpowerup.com/167169/MSI-s-Other-Socket-FM2-Motherboards-Pictured.html

    Cheaper models...
    A85MA-E35 => m-ATX using current AMD A75 chipset. (Supports USB 3.0)
    and
    A55M-P33 (F2) => m-ATX using lower-end AMD A55 chipset. (No USB 3.0 support)


    ...Gigabyte brand ones as well.

    GIGABYTE Also Shows Off its First Socket FM2 Motherboards
    => http://www.techpowerup.com/167116/GIGABYTE-Also-Shows-Off-its-First-Socket-FM2-Motherboards.html

    Three models on display; using AMD A85X and A55 chipsets for different price points. The top-end one has LucidLogix VirtuMVP.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    stmok

    stmok Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    8,878
    Location:
    Sydney
    AMD Trinity Desktop Chip Schedule Challenges Mobo Makers
    => http://www.tomshardware.com/news/amd-trinity-cpu-motherboard-mainboard,15922.html

    (1) Retail stock of desktop Trinity APUs isn't coming until Llano stock has been cleared. As such, enthusiasts looking to build their own Trinity-based set-up will not see it in June. The expectation is now in October. :eek:

    (2) OEMs get priority of APU supplies. ie: Acer, Asus, HP, Lenovo, etc are getting Trinity chips now. The reason is because AMD wants to get OEMs ready for US's "Back-to-School" period. (They can't surrender this period to Intel.)

    (3) This also means mobo makers are not happy, as they don't have sufficient retail chips to test their finalised board designs with. (You can't mass produce a mobo if you don't have a good supply of retail CPUs to make sure stuff works as intended! Think of all the mobo variants/models they have to test, and the number of models of APU they have to make sure each mobo version works with!)


    The new AMD motto: Enthusiasts can wait.

    ...They did it with Bulldozer in 2011.
    ...They're doing it again with Trinity in 2012.

    Yay! :rolleyes:
     
  10. digamma

    digamma Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    2,697
    Location:
    Brisbane, Southside.

    Wouldn't most of the testing be done in software ie, on a computer, not physical? I would have thought that the design gets tested in software and then they build the thing to just make sure it works before sending it off to the fab.

    As much as I hate to say it, in the money making scheme of things, enthusiasts don't contribute all that much to their quest for gold. The OEMs bring in the majority of their money, so it really would pay for them to keep their cashcows happy.
     
  11. mAJORD

    mAJORD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    8,907
    Location:
    Griffin , Brisbane
    They need a CPU to test bios functionality , Microcode, new VRM functionality

    No design is ever put out without physical verification, that would be a huge risk :)
     
  12. digamma

    digamma Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    2,697
    Location:
    Brisbane, Southside.
    I realise that. :p But it's not really as though motherboards are making leaps and bounds in the technology. For the most part, it seems like most boards make tweaks between generations, rather than huge technology shifts. And then, most of them are utilising someone else's chipsets, and so are very limited in what their designs can be anyway. Of course they have to physically verify the design works before mass publication, but that is all it really would be, verification and test, not suck-it-and-see.
     
  13. loophole

    loophole Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    315
    Location:
    Melbourne, VIC
    tom's hardware has a preview of the A10-5800K here:
    AMD Trinity On The Desktop: A10, A8, And A6 Get Benchmarked!
    (I haven't really read tom's hardware in years (since the 440BX was decimating the Rambus touting 820 chipset :thumbup:), but it doesn't seem like a bad piece really)

    They clearly know what the reader is after as they dive into some single-threaded benchmarks pitting Piledriver against 1st gen Bulldozer at the same clockspeed on page2 ;)

    Short story for IPC vs Bulldozer: iTunes and 3ds Max show 15% improvement (this with the FX-8150's 8MB L3 cache left enabled).
    Short story for IPC vs Stars: still not there yet but a little closer to parity (although clockspeed boost may go some way towards making up for the lost IPC), as long as you're not using FP-heavy codes.
     
  14. itsmydamnation

    itsmydamnation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    9,871
    Location:
    Canberra
    FP heavy codes should smash vs stars for lots of reason and it generally does. FP is one thing bulldozer is very good at.


    for example they obviously aren't using a FMA capable x264 with handbreak.
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2012
  15. mAJORD

    mAJORD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    8,907
    Location:
    Griffin , Brisbane
    Impressive perf and perf/ watt over Llano.. finally.

    Still no match for Intel, but at elas the BD architecture is finally showing an advantage over its predecessor in an apples to apples configuration.

    Gaming perf is good. Prettymuch every game was "playable" at 1080p, perfect for the mainstream crowd..
     
  16. richan3185

    richan3185 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,831
    Location:
    Kalgoorlie
    I agree...positive outcome.

    AMD seem to have delivered +15% IPC over bulldozer. The FPU is very close to keeping up with the old 4 path stars core, with half the silicon resources.

    A full 4m/8c piledriver chip might be an ok performer. It wont catch intel, but if the power and ipc improvements carry over...hey, looking better.

    Also, with the ARM announcement today, confirming some people suspicions that there has been an ARM core in almost every APU, i think its very good news for AMD get alot of design wins soon, not least of all the all but confirmed PS4 win.
     
  17. loophole

    loophole Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    315
    Location:
    Melbourne, VIC
    Agreed - for FP codes that make use of either of the FMA or AVX instruction sets Bulldozer and Trinity should be faster than the Stars cores but for those that don't (which is the majority of workloads out there at the moment) the sheer number of individual FPUs vs shared ones should put Stars ahead (especially Ph II X6 vs FX-8xxx).

    But like anything else it'll just take time for developers to add support for these new instruction sets (or to move to compilers that emit these instructions).

    But yes, overall Piledriver is a nice improvement to 1st gen Bulldozer. Can't wait to see how they scale clockspeed for the Vishera!
     
  18. OP
    OP
    stmok

    stmok Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    8,878
    Location:
    Sydney
    * Reads article *

    Meh...It's confirmed what I've already anticipated for weeks now. They've made minor changes to offer incremental improvement. Nothing major to nibble at their rival's heels. Oh well, maybe in 2013. :)
     
  19. itsmydamnation

    itsmydamnation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    9,871
    Location:
    Canberra
    its not just the number of units, its the load store bus width to the FPU as well.
     
  20. Digit

    Digit Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,663
    Location:
    Sydney
    Any update on when we'll see Trinity hit these shores?

    Looking at getting the A10 for a media centre, should take care of most basic games as well as HD Video recording/encoding/blu-rays right?
     

Share This Page