AMD’s Next Gen x86 High Performance Core is Code Named “Zen”

Discussion in 'AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by Frontl1ne, Sep 11, 2014.

  1. Bertross

    Bertross Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    13,759
    Location:
    East Gipps
    Has anyone tried 2133 corsair vengeance? I have a 4x4 kit i was hoping to use prior to trident z 3200.
     
  2. Sgt Bilko

    Sgt Bilko Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Messages:
    1,122
    Location:
    Canberra(ish)
    All 4x kits I've seen are running at 2133 or 2400, I think you'd be fine mate.
     
  3. Bertross

    Bertross Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    13,759
    Location:
    East Gipps
    sweet i ordered the 1700 just before so i should be set. Hopefully by the time i get the gear Asus have fixed some issues.
     
  4. TaroT

    TaroT Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,723
    Location:
    Hazelbrook nsw 2779
    is that that your ram running at 2666?
    i think i will redo the 4g preset and try 2666 next.
     
  5. Sgt Bilko

    Sgt Bilko Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Messages:
    1,122
    Location:
    Canberra(ish)
    Yah, 2666 on auto timings, my new mems should be here tomorrow fingers crossed otherwise I won't be able to grab them till Monday.
     
  6. TaroT

    TaroT Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,723
    Location:
    Hazelbrook nsw 2779
    well 2666 4g went ok fine in all apps but after 10 minutes of prime 95 prime crashed mind you the temps were in the 90.s :) but the system stayed up. Tough little buggers.
    what voltages are you using and loadline calibration there seems to be a pretty big vdroop on the ram and the cpu on auto.

    might also be my cooler is just not up to it....poor ol h110.
     
  7. Sgt Bilko

    Sgt Bilko Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Messages:
    1,122
    Location:
    Canberra(ish)
    Level 3 LLC on CPU, 1.38v for Dram, 1.387v for CPU with 38.25x Multi and 100.2Mhz bclk.

    Temps for the x chips are 20c lower than what they are supposed to be so it might be holding up ok :)
     
  8. bobster

    bobster Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,026
    Location:
    Sydney
    ASUS dropped version 0902 BIOS last night, anyone updated yet and any issues?
     
  9. Sgt Bilko

    Sgt Bilko Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Messages:
    1,122
    Location:
    Canberra(ish)
    Been on it for several days now and no issues, would recommend you flash to it right away though as it prevents the potential BIOS update bricking bug.
     
  10. Aussiejuggalo

    Aussiejuggalo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,087
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast Queensland
    Got a question, I've ordered the MSI B350M Gaming Pro which is out of stock (Umart cant give an ETA either), just wondering should I change that to the Asus Prime B350M-A (which is currently in stock)?

    The Asus has had 3 bios and the MSI only 1, the Trident Z (F4-3200C14D-32GTZKW) isn't officially supported by either so that could bite me in the ass with both.

    Yes I am getting impatient.
     
  11. Sgt Bilko

    Sgt Bilko Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Messages:
    1,122
    Location:
    Canberra(ish)
    If you're gonna be using an 1800x I'd be wanting a board with at least some heatsinks on it....
     
  12. Aussiejuggalo

    Aussiejuggalo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,087
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast Queensland
    I didn't actually think about that good point :Paranoid:.
     
  13. Sgt Bilko

    Sgt Bilko Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Messages:
    1,122
    Location:
    Canberra(ish)
    That's why we're here! :D
     
  14. bobster

    bobster Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,026
    Location:
    Sydney
    Did you update it in from the BIOS or via AIsuite
     
  15. TaroT

    TaroT Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,723
    Location:
    Hazelbrook nsw 2779
    be going over the rog forum and there seems to be a consensus these run hot so maybe the cooler is ok i just need to get the power down.

    i,ll try those settings and see how i go.

    update the bios by the bios don't do the windows versions...abd things happen...kittens get drowned...trump gets in...its a nightmare :)

    oh and lastly can asus plese fix the friggen Baymax site...one day there are 2 bioses and windows 7 and blah blah...today windows 10 only and one bios...oh and they put up 1.2 gig chipset drivers which are the same as the old ones...bad form :)

    oh and lastly lastly.

    This may have something to do with the disappearing drives
     
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2017
  16. Sgt Bilko

    Sgt Bilko Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Messages:
    1,122
    Location:
    Canberra(ish)
    I did it via the BIOS, I never flash Mobo BIOS from windows

    Maybe not that bad but I don't trust it haha
     
  17. TaroT

    TaroT Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,723
    Location:
    Hazelbrook nsw 2779
    the reason i over emphasised is that for the most part what i have read a lot of people flashing these in windows have had issues where the bios flash seems a lot safer ;)

    they are also saying there may be an issue with the EK water block and the back plate/gasket so far i have seen to people with error 8 codes after...my guess is the boards are bricked. How a rubber gasket does that i have no idea :)

    but definitely worth keeping an eye on
     
  18. SCORPTEC

    SCORPTEC Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,074
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Having personally flashed probably over 500 BIOS updates I would literally never flash it from within Windows. There is just no reason to risk it.
     
  19. jimmy

    jimmy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,090
    Location:
    Toowoomba, QLD
    ive never had one brick, but then again i own a eeprom burner :p though alot of boards nowdays are hard soldered.
     
  20. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    5,063
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Yup they have removed all previous BIOSes as well, definitely update to 0902 ASAP if you have the board.

    Interestingly Asus have also removed Windows 7 support for the C6H. No drivers or downloads at all for good old Windows 7.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: