AMD’s Next Gen x86 High Performance Core is Code Named “Zen”

Discussion in 'AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by Frontl1ne, Sep 11, 2014.

  1. TaroT

    TaroT Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,723
    Location:
    Hazelbrook nsw 2779
    i honestly think they are just are in the process of updating the site...maybe ASUS got taken over by the nbn(should have drivers 2019 between jan and June :))
    as for those settings Sarg...thanks so far they are working very well at 3.9
    and temps /power is right done not getting over 69 at the moment(plus the temps seem to be the same now in hwinfo)
    i have to say after playing with an intel setup and thinking that was convoluted crap...i think this is worse :)

    4.0 and 90 degrees vs 3.9 and 68

     
  2. mesaoz

    mesaoz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    7,406
    Location:
    South East QLD
    Ever since asus added online bios update directly in bios for my gene board that's the only way I've been doing it... doing firmware updates inside OS gives me the heebie jeebies
     
  3. TaroT

    TaroT Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,723
    Location:
    Hazelbrook nsw 2779
    i tried the online vesion and wasn't a fan (worries me i have to rust the internet to not drop :)) i think it is safer throwing the cap on a drive and boom.
    one thing though when i did mine i ahd to reboot a few times before i was back in the bios nice and safe...so if it goes a bit hinky don't worry too much....oh and i LOVE the reset start buttons etc :) saves so much time.

    has anyone with a Baymax used the test points near the power?
     
  4. TaroT

    TaroT Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,723
    Location:
    Hazelbrook nsw 2779
    http://valid.x86.fr/l120f9

    ok got it to 4g well 3.9999999999
    power down temps down and results up a teeny bit might leave it here for now :)
     
  5. sammy_b0i

    sammy_b0i Laugh it up, fuzzball!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,138
    Location:
    ACT 2913
    When you check your emails and think you see something from Scorptec :leet:

    Then realise it actually said Scoopon. :upset:
     
  6. Sipheren

    Sipheren Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    3,444
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    My memory is running at 2400 as well, thought it was at 2666 but I must have lowered.

    Gave this benchmark a go as well, this is my daily clocks - 3.7GHz @ around 50degC and 2400 on the mem.

     
  7. TaroT

    TaroT Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,723
    Location:
    Hazelbrook nsw 2779
    well nailed you on all but the images and you really got me on that one...
    are you running it from a ssd or nvme drive(slower memory should be slower score...)... other than that the figures sort of line up.
     
  8. Sipheren

    Sipheren Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    3,444
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Just a M.2 SSD (Samsung 850), I am guessing the memory is better, plus you were clocked a bit higher on that run.

    I will try and see if I can get 4.1 stable tonight.
     
  9. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    5,063
    Location:
    Melbourne
  10. Bertross

    Bertross Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    13,759
    Location:
    East Gipps
    hurry up so i can see if your Motherboard blows up.
     
  11. Sgt Bilko

    Sgt Bilko Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Messages:
    1,122
    Location:
    Canberra(ish)
    Exactly.

    Ryzen doesn't officially support Windows 7 anyway, I've got it working and performance is actually higher (more core usage in synthetics)

    I feel bad for you mate,

    I ordered a new mem kit first thing Monday morning and it's only just shipping out now, means I'm not gonna get hands on with it till Monday now.....

    Sydney to Canberra in a week via courier, sounds reasonable right?
     
  12. lowdog

    lowdog Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    4,301
    Location:
    Dreamland.
    What mem kit did you order out of curiosity :)

    I will need to get some myself when the dust settles but would prefer 2 x 16GB sticks for 32GB total.
     
  13. Sgt Bilko

    Sgt Bilko Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Messages:
    1,122
    Location:
    Canberra(ish)
    https://www.gskill.com/en/product/f4-3866c18q-32gtzr

    I got the arrgeebee!

    Will be splitting it up between 2 rigs so it works out to be a bit cheaper as well :)
     
  14. TaroT

    TaroT Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,723
    Location:
    Hazelbrook nsw 2779
    that's pretty you don't happen to own a Hyundai excel sprint with neons and a subwoofer for a rear seat do you :p
    i will try for 4.1 but not today...today i,m trying to get Telstra to come drain the freakin pit and give my internet and phone back.
     
  15. Sgt Bilko

    Sgt Bilko Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Messages:
    1,122
    Location:
    Canberra(ish)
    I used to have a Laser with 2 x 12" subs actually :p

    I'm kinda liking the RGB trend and Baymax needs some RGB loving in that corner of the board imo :)
     
  16. taldoren

    taldoren Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    360
    Yeah, should have got it shipped from china or US, you would have it by now :D
     
  17. Sgt Bilko

    Sgt Bilko Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Messages:
    1,122
    Location:
    Canberra(ish)
    It just shipped out 15 mins ago!

    Now lets see if it can travel 250km overnight I mean it should being a courier and all....
     
  18. Aussiejuggalo

    Aussiejuggalo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,087
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast Queensland
    Gaaaaaaaaaah Scorptec and PCCG have some motherboards back in stock but Umart doesn't :thumbdn: :upset:.

    So for those of you looking for boards... grab em now :thumbup:.

    Edit, just got an email from Umart, motherboard I want wont be in stock till the 20th but Scorptec and PCCG have it now... anyone know why Umart is getting stock slower than everyone else?
     
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2017
  19. itchynads

    itchynads Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    544
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Yeh just grabbed a C6H. Was hoping to get more time to decide between that and the GB Gaming 5. Ah well let's just hope it doesn't brick on me or this face :D will be :upset:
     
  20. spank36

    spank36 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    281
    Location:
    brisbane
    I see the 1700 is $400 delivered on ebay

    edit: $399
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: