AMD’s Next Gen x86 High Performance Core is Code Named “Zen”

Discussion in 'AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by Frontl1ne, Sep 11, 2014.

  1. sammy_b0i

    sammy_b0i Laugh it up, fuzzball!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,155
    Location:
    ACT 2913
    And

    I wonder with that last one if the card, and the SSD aren't specifically "WHQL" in the way that option is looking for?
     
  2. Sgt Bilko

    Sgt Bilko Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Messages:
    1,122
    Location:
    Canberra(ish)
    Have you confirmed that the SSD is among the living?
     
  3. sammy_b0i

    sammy_b0i Laugh it up, fuzzball!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,155
    Location:
    ACT 2913
    So further information:

    No change after having the bios battery out all day.

    Plugged a CMOS speaker in, no noise during the normal power on.
    Tried different ram in slot 2 only, no beeps.
    Tried no ram, had three short beeps.
    Tried one stick in slot 3 only, had four short beeps.

    Tried with VGA in slot 2 instead, had no change.

    Removed VGA entirely, had a long beep and I think two short beeps, when the VGA LED came on in the EZ_DEBUG sequence, but then light went out and it moved on to the same place it stalls, with the BOOT led on and the GPU_LED mentioned a few posts back and in the picture.

    Not really sure what to do now. Last resort I guess is to take it out of the case, remove the HSF and reseat the CPU.... but it shits me that nothing has changed except the bios and I just cant "clear" it.

    There doesn't seem to be any kind of emergency bios flashback either, I don't think. :'(
     
  4. sammy_b0i

    sammy_b0i Laugh it up, fuzzball!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,155
    Location:
    ACT 2913
    So it seems that on a full bios reset, the start up procedure is slightly different.

    Fans spin up, all board lights are off.
    Board LEDs come on, CPU EZ_DEBUG LED comes on.
    Fans slow down. CPU LED goes off.
    CPU LED comes back on.
    CPU LED goes off.
    VGA LED comes on, and the video card itself's lights come on.
    VGA LED goes off.
    BOOT LED comes on solid and stays on. GPU_LED is also on.

    No beeps, no nothing.
     
  5. sammy_b0i

    sammy_b0i Laugh it up, fuzzball!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,155
    Location:
    ACT 2913
    This is after a bios reset.



    This is after pushing the reset button once the above has finished.

     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2017
  6. phantompisser

    phantompisser Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2001
    Messages:
    977
    Location:
    Perth
    Your not alone . I ordered my mobo on the 3/3 and not even an ETA . I rang yesterday and was told to call again on Monday . I noticed today there are a couple of stores that say they have stock which is promising .
    FYI ordered the Asrock x370 K4 .
     
  7. sammy_b0i

    sammy_b0i Laugh it up, fuzzball!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,155
    Location:
    ACT 2913
  8. TaroT

    TaroT Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,723
    Location:
    Hazelbrook nsw 2779
  9. lowdog

    lowdog Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    4,301
    Location:
    Dreamland.
  10. sammy_b0i

    sammy_b0i Laugh it up, fuzzball!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,155
    Location:
    ACT 2913
    Just pulled from the case and the f-ing thing booted on the breadboard.
     
  11. TaroT

    TaroT Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,723
    Location:
    Hazelbrook nsw 2779
    ok now we are getting somewhere
    nail the breadboard to the wall and call it art and use that...kidding. Well sort of :)
    check the case maybe there is a standoff or something making contact somewhere.
    or when you screw it in to the case there is a bend somewhere...
     
  12. Aussiejuggalo

    Aussiejuggalo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,094
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast Queensland
    Could be something to do with the case, I've had that before.

    For whatever reason sometimes a stand off or screw can cause a short or not ground properly which can cause all kinds of problems. One of my old cases did that constantly till I got the shits and painted the whole thing with engine enamel spray paint :rolleyes:.

    Personally now if I'm using a case that isn't fully painted I use the paper washers on the motherboard, I know it doesn't ground it but it helps stop problems.
     
  13. sammy_b0i

    sammy_b0i Laugh it up, fuzzball!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,155
    Location:
    ACT 2913
    Yeah, I guess I'm going to have to check it out more closely inside the case.

    I flashed the beta 1.0C bios, and am currently installing windows to that SSD out of the case. Just want to make sure it gets further than last time, then I'll put it back in and see what happens.

    Will check the standoffs and make sure nothing is loose anywhere.
     
  14. sammy_b0i

    sammy_b0i Laugh it up, fuzzball!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,155
    Location:
    ACT 2913
    Okay, sorry for all the posts.

    So it boots on the bench to windows, with a spare GTX660 I've got here. Put the GTX980 in, and no dice. Same symptoms as before... no BOOT led this time though, just sits with the little GPU_LED on and no monitor signal.

    Swapped back to the GTX660 and it posted fine again.

    Now bear in mind that the GTX980 worked the first time on the first post and Windows install attempt.

    Any ideas?

    Edit: God f-ing damn it. DVI works. Looks like the display port might be faulty.
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2017
  15. partybear

    partybear Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    878
    Location:
    Ballarat, Victoria
    oh man that is lame but sounds like at least all your new ryzen stuff is working.
     
  16. Sgt Bilko

    Sgt Bilko Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Messages:
    1,122
    Location:
    Canberra(ish)
    well shit......
     
  17. AEKaBeer

    AEKaBeer Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Messages:
    4,171
    Location:
    North Melbourne
    Try another cable, had this happen to a mates 780 on his x99. Card worked fine on my set up, but his system would lock up and need a bios reset to fire up again. Tried my msy cable and no issues since.
     
  18. mAJORD

    mAJORD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    11,558
    Location:
    Griffin , Brisbane
    The pins on AM4 are significantly shorter than AMD/FMx , so this sort of thing potentially more likely. pushing down while lowering your retention lever should be anyones std practice though.

    If you don't have it flush, to the point the ZIF contacts aren't even clamping the pin at all, and the extreme pressure of the HSF 'flushes' it for you, well it's goodbye socket.
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2017
  19. sammy_b0i

    sammy_b0i Laugh it up, fuzzball!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,155
    Location:
    ACT 2913
    Alright, well I'm posting from it, so that's a good sign. Output via DVI working. Will have to locate another DP cable to test that theory.

    Still no explanation about why is would have stopped working, or became faulty, just as it was doing its first reboot in Windows setup without anyone touching anything :/

    Running all at stock at the moment, just want to enjoy the stability before looking at memory frequency and etc.

    Anyone have any experience with AUTO_CLRCMOS as an option in the bios? It's meant to automatically clear CMOS if it fails to boot.
     
  20. nCrypt

    nCrypt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,280
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Quick question, are you confident it was NOT booting?

    Maybe it was booting just no video signal?
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: