AMD’s Next Gen x86 High Performance Core is Code Named “Zen”

Discussion in 'AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by Frontl1ne, Sep 11, 2014.

  1. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    8,583
    Location:
    4109

    intel, of course, have never pulled a dick move on AMD
    that whole paying tier one manufacturers to not use AMD was super stylish, and a real feather in their cap moment :thumbup:
     
  2. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    5,064
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I wouldn't be surprised if we see an X399-WS or similar board from Asus.
     
  3. MyReyes

    MyReyes Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2017
    Messages:
    13
  4. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    5,064
    Location:
    Melbourne
    The exact board we're talking about, and the same article a few posts up.
     
  5. Menthu_Rae

    Menthu_Rae Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Messages:
    6,874
    Location:
    Northern Beaches, Sydney
    I'm looking forward to running Threadripper at the core of a ZFS server with 10GBe soon. :thumbup: If they could somehow cram it onto mATX I'd get it in my main rig, too. haha :leet:

    I just wish Ryzen had more PCIe lanes (for things like dual M.2) :(
     
  6. adamsleath

    adamsleath Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    18,948
    Location:
    Sunnybank Q 4109
  7. Menthu_Rae

    Menthu_Rae Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Messages:
    6,874
    Location:
    Northern Beaches, Sydney
    Hrmmm so who is a super expert on CPU architecture or Linux kernel on here?

    Is it likely that the bugs related to compiling with gcc on Ryzen are going to appear in EPYC and Threadripper given they are Zen cores or is it more likely to be something with the way the Linux kernel is handling certain instructions/calls?

    https://community.amd.com/message/2812825#comment-2812825
     
  8. PureFire

    PureFire Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,674
    Im not an expert but I think I read somewhere that Epyc and Threadripper are on the next revision of the Zen core, so it is likely that some problems are already fixed.
     
  9. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    5,064
    Location:
    Melbourne
    TTL reviews the Crosshair VI Extreme. The big boy is here!



    Def getting this bad boy when it lands here.
     
  10. wintermute000

    wintermute000 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2,504
    They'll fix it for Linux. Can't afford that in workstation and server segments
     
  11. Phido

    Phido Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    7,377
    Location:
    Dark City
    It seems like high speed memory errors. Anything over 2666Mhz isn't officially supported. Intel only supports 2400Mhz DDR4 on Kaby lake Xeon.

    Not just by AMD, by anyone. It would seem like an issue that would be fixed with microcode/bios. It appears to be a timing issue with cache. Pretty specific, depending on number of cores and SMT and other features.

    3200Mhz memory still seems a little patchy.

    Everything and Epyc will be 2666Mhz or slower JDEC spec. Threadripper looks like running both server and enthusiast memory specs.

    There is a reason why you can't buy 3200Mhz ECC server memory.

    Anyone doing anything mission critical or even serious work related should have ECC memory.

    I hope so, Asus have been pretty supportive of AMD in the past with Opteron CPU's. It would be good to see a proper workstation board.
     
  12. wintermute000

    wintermute000 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2,504
    If that's the case then yeah agreed. Nobody runs outside of official settings for enterprise!!!
     
  13. Mordenkainen

    Mordenkainen Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    Ulverstone Tasmania
    I vaguely remember a discussion thread somewhere, possibly phoronix.com, in the early stages pf this "problem" where the general feeling of most posters was that the people having problems seemed to all be overclockers.

    I run a Gentoo variant, Funtoo, on my Ryzen R7 1700 system P-State O/Ced to 3.7GHz with 16GB DDR4 2400. I rebuilt everything with the latest GCC (7.1.0) available to me using the maximum threads to compile within the limits of 16GB of RAM and have had no problems whatsoever.
     
  14. Bertross

    Bertross Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    13,759
    Location:
    East Gipps
    you do have a point in general as overclocking is a very small % in the scheme of things. Sort of like people owning awesome 34" LCDs and 1080ti etc... very small margin.
     
  15. Dragonfly

    Dragonfly Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    4,400
    Location:
    Brisbane
  16. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    5,064
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Awesome! screw-in socket retention mechanism. :thumbup:
     
  17. PureFire

    PureFire Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,674
    That X399 board is hardware pr0n. Love it.

    I also like the placement of the two 8pin power connectors.
     
  18. Phido

    Phido Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    7,377
    Location:
    Dark City
    The problem is most memory companies promote the hell out of higher speed. Slack off the timings and you are 4000MHZ11!! And because most people game, memory errors aren't that important, most games don't hit memory that hard. Which is why when people compile or something like that, that is when memory stability starts to fall over.

    It looks like AMD has to tweak their memory performance.

    I am not suprised, memory seems to be the last area of being a complete cowboy. I am totally over it. I won't be building *ANYTHING* without ECC ram. Intel or AMD.
     
  19. Court Jester

    Court Jester Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,634
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    i wonder if you will be able to run any 3200mhz kit out of the box on it unlike with ryzen where you need to purchase special and highly overpriced AMD memory to get those speeds, being quad channel I feel that memory will be even more picky on x399
     
  20. Ratzz

    Ratzz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Messages:
    10,093
    Location:
    Cheltenham East 3192
    I haven't even played with Ryzen yet, but I was under the impression that the 'special' memory required is basically just anything with Samsung B dies. You've played with Ryzen, did you try it with Trident Z?

    I'm getting the distinct impression from what I'm reading in this thread and others that overpriced 'AMD' memory is just a new branding of an old product, gouging people as usual with a higher price because it's 'special'.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: