AMD’s Next Gen x86 High Performance Core is Code Named “Zen”

Discussion in 'AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by Frontl1ne, Sep 11, 2014.

  1. PureFire

    PureFire Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,764
    It doesnt, but has more coverage than using the AMD bracket and Asetek AIO.
     
  2. Phido

    Phido Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    7,439
    Location:
    Dark City
    Good god that Alienware sucks.

    The coolers contact area is still pretty small. The radiator is small, but also noisey with the fan. Manufacturing the CPU block isn't all that hard, you would think someone like Alienware/Dell would spend a few bucks.

    Look at the Dimm placement. Its all over the shop, all four of them, but still seems to be in the way. So hard to fit all four of them into such an enormous case with no handles or holds. Good god.
     
  3. Unframed

    Unframed Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9,158
    Location:
    Hella south west
    But the case needs to be a pyramid, because it's kewl
     
  4. gregpolk

    gregpolk Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    7,404
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Heat was a problem on that Alienware kit though. Now that doesn't mean all our standard AIOs will be shit, but that specific one is.
     
  5. Dragonfly

    Dragonfly Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    4,400
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Yeah the 120mm would be struggling with only 1 fan as well. 240mm would have been a lot better to see on the system.
     
  6. Phido

    Phido Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    7,439
    Location:
    Dark City
    No no..

    Just make a 2 inch thick radiator and have a the weakest 120mm fan sucking on it.

    Fucking HEDT market. Full of shit. Does anyone buy this crap?

    Can you imagine being the buyer for Weta or lucas arts or even some small production house.. And you walking in with an Alienware area 51.
    People would literally kick the crap out of you. You would be fired and they would throw the dam thing out the window.

    Why can it only take 4 dimms?
    Why does it take up more desk space than an EATX and a mitx computers
    Why does its cooling suck butthole?
    Where is the expansion?
    Network?
    Can't fit my two graphics card, a red rocket, and my 10gbp and my pci-ssd.
    Why does it cost so much?

    Sucks balls.
     
  7. nCrypt

    nCrypt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,285
    Location:
    Melbourne
    anyone in melb wanna sell me (or lend me) their stock ryzen cooler>

    bought an r5 1400 from ocau and it came cpu and clamshell only (my bad for assuming a month old cpu would come in box and stock cooler!)

    im hunting a 240mm aio (see wtb) but just need a cooler to get this X370 ITX rig up and running.

    so exited to play with ITX Ryzen (x370 biostar), see how it goes!
     
  8. Bertross

    Bertross Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    13,782
    Location:
    East Gipps
    You go to the city?
     
  9. nCrypt

    nCrypt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,285
    Location:
    Melbourne
    im only 10 mins from the city, im in glen iris.

    would have to be after hours, peak hour traffic on the monash can EAD!
     
  10. adamsleath

    adamsleath Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    19,089
    Location:
    Sunnybank Q 4109
    exactly. :lol: :lol:
     
  11. Bertross

    Bertross Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    13,782
    Location:
    East Gipps
    You can borrow my stock cooler frpm a 1700. Thing is o work in the cbd. So you can pickup either at lunch or i can hang back for a bit. Unless something more suitable pops up.
     
  12. nCrypt

    nCrypt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,285
    Location:
    Melbourne
    cheeers,

    take this to PM
     
  13. newlife

    newlife Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2,153
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA
    I still have the stock cooler and can post to you on Thursday if you want but I didn't know you needed it or I would've included it
     
  14. nCrypt

    nCrypt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,285
    Location:
    Melbourne
    haha, all good, if you could that would be awesome!!!

    didnt make anything of it as i didnt ask!
     
  15. Bertross

    Bertross Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    13,782
    Location:
    East Gipps
    Haha sorted out then :)
     
  16. newlife

    newlife Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2,153
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA
    As a temporary fix if you have an am3 cooler you can mount it using only 2 holes like [​IMG]
     
  17. nCrypt

    nCrypt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,285
    Location:
    Melbourne
    ah, i see, only cooler i have is a h115i, which wont fit in the case i have for the 1400/x370 itx!

    i did intend on having a 240mm aio by now, so had no intention of using the stock cooler, however need one now as will be a little bit before i can get a 240mm!

    cheers
     
  18. Ratzz

    Ratzz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Messages:
    10,200
    Location:
    Cheltenham East 3192
    I have a H60 you can borrow for awhile mate.. comes with AM4 mounts as it was chosen specifically to have that option available in case I moved in that direction. Only a 120 rad, but it will do the job I think. H60 is a pretty good performer for its size.
     
  19. cbjaust

    cbjaust Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,306
    Location:
    Melbourne
    yep, paid for by mini-chipzilla (now that samsung is in front :D) to make it look super bad so nobody will buy one.
     
  20. gregpolk

    gregpolk Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    7,404
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Why ever would you suspect dell of shady dealings with intel? ;)
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: