AMD’s Next Gen x86 High Performance Core is Code Named “Zen”

Discussion in 'AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by Frontl1ne, Sep 11, 2014.

  1. Apokalipse

    Apokalipse Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    4,250
    Location:
    Melbourne
    It could support 32x4GB, but I don't think we'll see AM4 boards with 8 RAM slots.
     
  2. Unframed

    Unframed Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9,228
    Location:
    Hella south west
  3. boneburner

    boneburner Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,887
    Yay! - my 1600 build has finally begun. All parts arrived and I've started to prepare the case (a phanteks enthoo pro m tempered glass edition). Oh dear- I think I've been spoiled by the Fractal series, this case feels... cheaper. *shrug* gonna look ok, but i'll know its tinny underneath :lol:
     
  4. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    9,414
    Location:
    4109
    Itll be a hell of an upgrade BB
    555 unlocked ? to a 1600. Itll feel smooth as silk :thumbup:
     
  5. Sgt Bilko

    Sgt Bilko Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Messages:
    1,148
    Location:
    Canberra(ish)
    That's a very nice upgrade, enjoy! :D
     
  6. gregpolk

    gregpolk Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    7,404
    Location:
    Brisbane
    If you don't need the extra CPU cores but do need a shit load of ram, perhaps an x399 board and 1900x is ideal? Essentially the same CPU as an 1800x and not priced that much more, but you'll get your desired 8 ram slots and quad channel memory.
     
  7. TaroT

    TaroT Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,723
    Location:
    Hazelbrook nsw 2779
  8. tuRtlez

    tuRtlez Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Location:
    Adelaide
    hey, i just put together new build (in my sig)

    i've updated bios and used the auto profile for RAM. successfully boots at 3200mhz but I will get BSOD under load. any suggestions?
     
  9. TaroT

    TaroT Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,723
    Location:
    Hazelbrook nsw 2779
    what's the ram what you have listed has a bout 300 different types.

    http://www.softnology.biz/

    grab the free version of that and throw up a screen.
    at a guess you have ram it doesn't like and will either need tweaking or clocking down.
    for safety sake turn the speed down to 2933 or 2666 but keep the xmp/dcop timings and set it to 1.35 and try that till you get the info
     
  10. tuRtlez

    tuRtlez Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Location:
    Adelaide
    i reset everything back to default now, so i think non xmp profile

    https://i.imgur.com/m7O9RW8.png
     
  11. lowdog

    lowdog Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    4,301
    Location:
    Dreamland.
    Bizzaro land of the twilight zone.........more results;

    56 flashed to 64 AIO Liquid bios - S6 core 1637 + 950mv / S7 core 1712 + 950mv - mem 1050 + 950mv = solid/stable core speed of 1590/1600MHz with a 200/210W power draw :shock:

    All this testing over different bioses is doing my head in :tired:
     
  12. adamsleath

    adamsleath Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    19,186
    Location:
    Sunnybank Q 4109
    https://segmentnext.com/2017/09/04/amd-cpu-sales-overtake-intel/

    stats from german e-tailer.

    [​IMG]

    bear in mind this is from this one retailer in germany (according to the story)

    7700k still has the lions share of sales of all the cpu offerings, but amd is rockin, with amd cpus outselling intel ;) in august

    X-series intel chips are very small indeed.

    chalk one up for AMD; look at the rise of r5 1600's and r7 1700's in volume :

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2017
  13. Sgt Bilko

    Sgt Bilko Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Messages:
    1,148
    Location:
    Canberra(ish)
    Fantastic news, If you add both 6c/12t models together then it surpasses the 7700k as well ;)

    Very impressed with the % of Ryzen 5 and 7 models being adopted, great news for gamers going forward :)
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2017
  14. adamsleath

    adamsleath Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    19,186
    Location:
    Sunnybank Q 4109
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2017
  15. PureFire

    PureFire Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,815
    Der8auer delids another TR CPU. This time a retail version.

    Not suprising that he discovers all dies, including the so called dummy dies, have real silicon.

     
  16. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    5,547
    Location:
    Melbourne
    32 cores for the desktop. Awww yeah! Awesome work from der8auer as usual.
     
  17. mAJORD

    mAJORD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    11,957
    Location:
    Griffin , Brisbane
    It made no sense for them to be dummy die's. The IF links are probably also active on them.

    Fitting dummy die likely would have required a new package to be validated
    with IF links between two die only.. Not worth it. TR was only a thing because it could be brought to market quickly and cheaply, with low risk by porting it from Eypc platform.
     
  18. TaroT

    TaroT Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,723
    Location:
    Hazelbrook nsw 2779
    a si said on the other forum they will be dead dies and used to even things out using a slug would screw up the thermals in my opinion BUT it does open it up to a 32 gig chip....wait for the big intel to drop then amd pull a sneaky :)
     
  19. Court Jester

    Court Jester Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,634
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    no not really

    that is a false metric claassic FAKE NEWS!

    that is REVENUE not sales. They could be selling 50 intel chips to every 1 amd still.
     
  20. Apokalipse

    Apokalipse Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    4,250
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Aren't Intel CPU's more expensive than AMD CPU's?
    If Intel CPU's were 50 times cheaper than AMD CPU's, then maybe Intel would be selling 50 times more.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: