Android tv

Discussion in 'Audio Visual' started by aza2001, Feb 16, 2016.

  1. aza2001

    aza2001 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,016
    Location:
    Northmead
    Hi All,

    before I take the plunge, i would like to ask a few questions out there regarding android tvs and hopefully it doesn't have any limitations ...

    I want to find out if I can run apps like tasker, and openvpn on the unit?

    any other limitations as to what android apps it can't run/ shouldn't be run?

    Cheers,
    Az
     
  2. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    35,079
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    the nvidia shield tv looks sweet!
     
  3. OP
    OP
    aza2001

    aza2001 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,016
    Location:
    Northmead
    lol... this does not answer any of my questions... my questions about apps not what devices lol
     
  4. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    35,079
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    it should just work like any generic android device....but if you root the device you might increase your chances.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    aza2001

    aza2001 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,016
    Location:
    Northmead
    thanks mate for the headsup :)
     
  6. Draebor

    Draebor Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    950
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    ive recently bought a sony 4k android tv.

    seems good so far, and you can enable developer options to sideload applications from usb media, which ive used to install a kodi release candidate.

    application wise, the appstore is limited to apps which are tv ready - im not sure tasker and openvpn interfaces would be suitable for tv use. that being said i have a mouse plugged in (logitech couch mouse) to one of the usb ports and that works fine in all my apps. apparently you can install a 3rd party launcher and use non-tv native applications sideloaded onto the tv. i have yet to test this, i want to get the gmail client and calendar on my tv also so will be having a play with this on the weekend.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    aza2001

    aza2001 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,016
    Location:
    Northmead
    I found a reddit thread where someone put tasker on the unit, but required it to be rooted to restore a backup from titanium backup.

    looking to throw emby/ plex on the unit or use kodi with a bunch of addons
     
  8. Draebor

    Draebor Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    950
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    plex and kodi are on google play, so easily available :)

    dont think i would root my tv personally, wouldnt that void the warranty?
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: