Antec Aria and NSK1380 PSU Alternative

Discussion in 'Portable & Small Form Factor' started by zcream, Dec 28, 2010.

  1. zcream

    zcream Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    I have the Antec Aria case. And I wanted to look for a replacement PSU. The correct PSU is AR350 - sold for 76/- cheapest on staticeice.
    I started to look for alternatives.
    The dimensions of the AR350 PSU. From this post.
    http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/power-supplies/15006-antec-ar300-ar350-repair-replace.html
    >>
    (WxLxH) 15x8x13 cm but since it's L shape, the length has dimensions of 4.5cm and 8cm and the height has 13 and 9.5cm.
    And the power socket is actually outside its box, has 3 cables that come with it to an external socket.
    >>
    Picture
    http://img7.imageshack.us/img7/9184/antecpsu2su8.jpg

    Replacement from here.
    http://forums.anandtech.com/archive/index.php/t-1905671.html
    >>
    Here's the PICO 200w converter (http://www.mini-box.com/s.nl/it.A/id.300/.f?sc=8&category=13). I bought a 12v 180w power supply from Radio Shack. With the std PSU removed from the case, you can fit a bigger HSF and a rear case fan. In it's stock configuration, that Antec PSU runs very hot and loud. A new one is likely to fail again. IMHO......it's a POS.
    >>

    PSU Tech Data
    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/casing-microatx,952-7.html
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2011
  2. skinz

    skinz Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,161
    Location:
    Sydney - 2565
    What are you planning to run in the case? I found that the AR350 was more than enough for my old htpc. You can just mod in a normal PSU, but you lose the DVD drive bay. It is a nice and small case, just a bit too small to do multiple mods - ie you can have a bigger psu, or a bigger heatsink, or more fans, or a bigger video card, but you can't really choose to have more than one of those without sacrificing the others.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    zcream

    zcream Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Actually I was keeping it as a backup video editing workstation. It takes 3 HDDs and one 5.25-inch.
    With a mini-ITX board and a OC;ed C2D and 4-8GB RAM, its an excellent backup.
    I thought that the PSU was the problem as I was getting a KP - however, I just discovered that I was trying to edit on 1GB RAM.
    So, I've put up my findings in a post, and will use the case as-is.
    Its INCREDIBLY useful for what it is - and someone had thrown his in the trash.
    Thats how I got it..:thumbup:
     
  4. daehenoc

    daehenoc Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,879
    Location:
    Mt Gravatt E, BNE, QLD
    Hey zcream, how much did you pay for that pico power supply? I got an Aria case but it doesn't have a power supply. I'm on pretty much a zero dollar budget, I've got an Asus M2NPV-VM (currently in an Antec NSK2400), which will fit into the Aria case, but not with a normal power supply and DVD :(

    Any suggestions as to which type of case will take a micro-ATX board and fit into a 30x30x30cm cube space would be gratefully received :)
     
  5. OP
    OP
    zcream

    zcream Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Cost about 30-40 bucks. But there are cheaper version on ebay. Just search PSU 12v
     
  6. daehenoc

    daehenoc Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,879
    Location:
    Mt Gravatt E, BNE, QLD
    Kewl, thanks. I've realised that there are Dell 755s and the like at work which I can probably pinch a power supply out of which will fit into this Aria case, so I'll check that out on Monday :)
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: