Apex Legends F2P battle-royale (Titanfall spin-off)

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by walker_2003, Feb 3, 2019.

  1. OP
    OP
    walker_2003

    walker_2003 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    10,996
    Location:
    Canberra
    144hz panels at TN entry level aren't much now. Highly recommended! You see the difference even at 70fps so anything above 60 is the goods. I personally try keep 85 as my minimum. And now that Nvidia use freesync no matter what 144hz panel you go and what hardware you run you shouldnt have stutter or tearing issues.
     
  2. holdennutta

    holdennutta Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,361
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I need/want a decent IPS panel for photo editing and that's not quite a thing yet for adaptive refresh panels which are cheap. No space for two either :(
     
  3. OP
    OP
    walker_2003

    walker_2003 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    10,996
    Location:
    Canberra
    There is IPS 144hz panels that aren't too expensive. Wont have super high Adobe RGB though!
     
  4. BuD

    BuD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    5,309
    Location:
    brisbane
    I want both worlds . Great for photo editing and gaming lol. Pipe dream
     
    holdennutta likes this.
  5. japes

    japes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    6,540
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast
    Purchasing my monitors when they first released was one the best decision I've made as far as hardware goes. Only reason I did was because they offered same day replacement as the first few batches were full of issues. They're still the same price as a I paid over 3 years ago.
     
    walker_2003 likes this.
  6. OP
    OP
    walker_2003

    walker_2003 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    10,996
    Location:
    Canberra
    Apparently a few QC issues but this monitor ticks a few boxes..

    https://www.pccasegear.com/products...up-27in-ips-qhd-hdr400-144hz-freesync-monitor

    27"
    2560x1440
    IPS
    10bit (8bit+FRC)
    1ms
    95% DCI-P3
    144hz
    FreeSync
    HDR400

    Yeah they are great, even better now FreeSync likely works, less stutter.
     
  7. Sledge

    Sledge Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,710
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Yep, cause i like pulling my GPU out mid game....
    [​IMG]
     
  8. Smegenstein

    Smegenstein Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,831
    Location:
    Hobart - TAS
    OMFG FINALLY!!
    One of my mates who I regularly play with has an error that seems a lot rarer, he basically never crashes in game. But will crash AFTER nearly every game, with that error, me and my other mate laughed at the thought of his removing his GPU from his laptop midgame....
     
  9. kbekus

    kbekus Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2001
    Messages:
    1,116
    Location:
    Pascoe Vale, Melbourne
    Is that some sort of Optimus issue?
     
  10. Sledge

    Sledge Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,710
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Nope
     
  11. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    33,734
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    Maybe revert drivers?
     
  12. mtma

    mtma Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Messages:
    4,836
    First night I played it was pretty stable for the entire time but second night it decided to have a fit twice in the hour. The memory read error.

    Graphically it runs quite nicely on my few year old rig, but the sound effects/engine leaves a lot to be desired.
     
  13. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    33,734
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    I'll be back in town so will be up to play a few games.
     
  14. Paulie_AU

    Paulie_AU Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2013
    Messages:
    3,465
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I am slugging it out on a 60hz 4K TV. Cannot get it to fullscreen at 1440p or 1080p..... so just went back to 30 odd fps 4K (very smooth though). Cannot hit a bloody thing.
    Might drag out a old monitor see if that helps
     
  15. OP
    OP
    walker_2003

    walker_2003 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    10,996
    Location:
    Canberra
    no no no no no no no nooooooooooooooo 30fps is NOT smooth, it is a fricken slideshow. I dont think even pro's would get many kills at that FPS with the horrid input lag too. And if you are on a TV its likely it is smooth due to motion interpolation you might have left on? if so thats over 80ms input lag.. ouch no wonder you get no kills.

    Get a 1440p/1080p 144hz screen with G or FreeSync and enjoy gaming and watch that KDR climb.
     
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2019
  16. ChinoPD

    ChinoPD Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    11,395
    Location:
    Canberra
    They’ll learn one day. I was the same, after much extended periods of console gaming. Then G-Sync @ 165hz/FPS came along. Never again.
     
    walker_2003 likes this.
  17. Paulie_AU

    Paulie_AU Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2013
    Messages:
    3,465
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Yep I've previously had 1440p 144hz Freesync setup..... I ditched a heap of gear over a year ago and am now a very casual target in FPS games.

    Only thing that works for me now is the likes of Forza.
     
  18. mtma

    mtma Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Messages:
    4,836
    r5apex.exe strongest legend

    Did a driver reinstall and update, staved it off for a session, seemed to start crashing every game prior.
     
  19. iinsom

    iinsom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    5,824
    Location:
    The Riff
    Yep, 120fps (minimum) or riot.
     
    ChinoPD likes this.
  20. OP
    OP
    walker_2003

    walker_2003 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    10,996
    Location:
    Canberra
    You playing Apex? havent seen ya posting much ere. Benno is obsessed.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: