Apple agrees to battery replacements for 6S

Discussion in 'Apple iOS (OS & Devices)' started by MoNk{LAH}, Nov 26, 2016.

  1. MoNk{LAH}

    MoNk{LAH} Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    19,973
    Location:
    Melbourne
    https://www.apple.com/au/support/iphone6s-unexpectedshutdown/

    Apple has determined that a very small number of iPhone 6s devices may unexpectedly shut down. This is not a safety issue and only affects devices within a limited serial number range that were manufactured between September and October 2015.

    If you have experienced this issue, please visit an Apple Retail Store or an Apple Authorized Service Provider and have your device's serial number checked to confirm eligibility for a battery replacement, free of charge.

    ----

    I;ve had my 6S shutdown at 57%, 40% and 10% in the last 2 days. I hope i can get a replacement battery (2nd hand 6S off ebay)
     
  2. pittster

    pittster Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    988
    Location:
    Newcastle
    I got mine replaced last week, didn't know about this defect but same thing always dying at around 50-40%
     
  3. OP
    OP
    MoNk{LAH}

    MoNk{LAH} Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    19,973
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Did you get a brand new phone on the spot? Or just replace the battery in your old phone?

    and how long did it take to replace (assuming they had stock at the time)?

    need to bring anything in to confirm you were the owner?
     
  4. pittster

    pittster Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    988
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Nope just brought phone in swapped for a new one ( the phone you get is a repaired phone from another warranty but thats normal) standard Genius Bar replacement.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    MoNk{LAH}

    MoNk{LAH} Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    19,973
    Location:
    Melbourne
    went to an apple store, they didnt have stock, and batteries will be in 10-15days.

    Fine with me, i got my old phone back anyway
     
  6. wullieb1

    wullieb1 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    453
    Mine shuts down at around 30%. Plug it in for a few secs and it comes good and will last for the rest of the day. Has happened a few times now.

    Reckon this will cover that?
     
  7. wwwww

    wwwww Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Messages:
    5,191
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Of course, even if they don't you're covered by the stat warranty.
     
  8. wullieb1

    wullieb1 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    453
    I'll go in tomorrow then as we got the phone in Oct last year so in the right time frame for it to be a possible issue.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    MoNk{LAH}

    MoNk{LAH} Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    19,973
    Location:
    Melbourne
    You should be covered, so long as it's within their batch of affected phones - they will check your serial number.

    I read on WP, from REddit:

    No idea if it's confirmed, but mine is a Q9
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: