Apple Releases Intel based Mac Pro and new Xeons

Discussion in 'Apple Desktop Hardware/Software' started by Rational, Aug 8, 2006.

  1. Rational

    Rational Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Messages:
    4,494
    Well at WWDC 2006 Apple have finally released the Mac Pro. It sports dual Intel Xeon Woodcrests (the server variant of Intel's Core2 platform)which means it has a total of four cores.

    For $4000 AUD you get:
    Two Dual-Core 2.66GHz Intel Xeon "Woodcrest" processors
    4MB shared L2 cache per processor
    1.33GHz dual independent frontside buses
    1GB memory (667MHz DDR2 fully-buffered DIMM ECC)
    NVIDIA GeForce 7300 GT graphics with 256MB memory
    250GB 7200-rpm Serial ATA 3Gb/s hard drive1
    16x double-layer SuperDrive (DVD+R DL/DVD±RW/CD-R

    This particular system supports up to dual 3ghz Intel Xeon Woodcrest processors, 4 hard drive bays, up to 16gb of memory, a miriad of different graphics options from ATI and Nvidia, support for dual superdrives, and all the other stuff that the G5 had before it. And it looks identical to it.
     
  2. peterz

    peterz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    382
    Location:
    NSW
    It's a pretty powerful system...
     
  3. peterz

    peterz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    382
    Location:
    NSW
    hehe! You can have up to 4 Video cards, 8 dual link dvi ports! 8 30" screens...
     
  4. snaggs

    snaggs Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    97
    Only $3500 at student pricing! Oh, and the case is a 1000% times better than any LianLi etc cases.

    Daniel.
     
  5. akashra

    akashra Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Messages:
    3,750
    Location:
    Melbourne, AU
    I'm more impressed with the XServe. For $7315, I can get a 2GB, dual 3.0GHz XServe. The equivelant HP DL-360 would cost me $12,500, with a HP BL-480c not being much cheaper either (~$10,000).
     
  6. stroggos2k

    stroggos2k Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    6,316
    Location:
    Rozelle, Sydney NSW
    I was kind of hoping they'd release a Conroe based iMac.
     
  7. shift

    shift Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2001
    Messages:
    2,937
    Location:
    Hillcrest, Logan
    I think the 7300 only comes with one Dual Link port and one Single Link one.
    8 monitors, but only 4 can be 30".
     
  8. proffesso

    proffesso Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    9,033
    Location:
    Watsonia, Melbourne
    its a very nice machine, but where is the 7900XXX options? (im assuming I could order with the 7300 and just replace it)

    interesting that it only supports 16gb ram max....my old xeon supports 16gb, with most workstation/server class gear supporting upto 64gb these days

    academical though, as I wouldnt put more than 8gb in one anyway.
     
  9. proffesso

    proffesso Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    9,033
    Location:
    Watsonia, Melbourne
    apple center on flinders st has the Mac pro on display....very nice unit, they happily open it up for you too :thumbup:

    couldnt do anything speed wise, as they only had the basic apps installed,
     
  10. Grit

    Grit Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    Bris Vegas
    I might have to head into my local Mac1 place and check it out. I still can't believe that Apple's released the best x86 workstation on the market at the best price.

    Indeed, hell has frozen over.

    -Grit.
     
  11. proffesso

    proffesso Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    9,033
    Location:
    Watsonia, Melbourne
    see if you can find out about dropping a 7900GT/GTX in there (or higher etc)

    the sales guy I talked to wasnt even sure if XP would run on it via bootcamp :wired:
     
  12. Frewy

    Frewy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2002
    Messages:
    638
    Location:
    \Sydney\NthBeaches\House
    what about the X1900 XT

    Isn't the X1900 XT a better choice? but $569 extra :(
     
  13. anthonysimilion

    anthonysimilion Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    235
    It will, the recent Bootcamp 1.1 Beta update includes support for the Mac Pro (among other improvements).
     
  14. proffesso

    proffesso Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    9,033
    Location:
    Watsonia, Melbourne
    unfortunantly ATI is rather a bad idea in the pro 3d realm, Nvidia is the rock solid standard. I think its bad drivers / support from ATI that really kills thier pro market share.
     

Share This Page