Arctic Silver's new TIM application method for Core 2 Duo cpus

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by eva2000, Oct 23, 2006.

  1. eva2000

    eva2000 DDR1/DDR2/DDR3 Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    21,902
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Seems Core 2 Duo cpu's IHS have prompted Arctic Silver to come up with a new way of applying TIM such as AS5 and Ceramique http://www.arcticsilver.com/ins_route_step2intelas5.html

    Check box redirects you to the appropriate pdf guide. For Core 2 Duo it's at http://www.arcticsilver.com/pdf/appinstruct/as5/ins_as5_intel_dual_wcap.pdf

    Excerpt from pdf guide
     
  2. Joehax

    Joehax Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,794
    Location:
    Sydney
    Wish I had seen that before I mounted my TT120, its such a pain to mount >_<

    I wonder what difference in temps people will see between those who just use the "centre blob" technique and those using the updated method?
     
  3. T_M

    T_M Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,164
    Location:
    Abu Dhabi (ex-Adelaide)
    My guess is bugger all Joe
    The most important thing is not to use too much
     
  4. NRGU

    NRGU Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,022
    Location:
    Sydney-2046
    what about the IHS that is concave ><" surely ud use more than a thin line...
     
  5. Liquid-69

    Liquid-69 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Messages:
    321
    Location:
    Melbourne
    lapping time :lol:
     
  6. Fool

    Fool Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    443
    Location:
    Darwin
    just a noob question why is too much bad?


     
  7. bb7_rider

    bb7_rider Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    2,458
    Location:
    Mosman NSW
    i just internally mounted a tripple rad in my p180 (was on the back of the case before, and put the paste on using this method, running now at 10% load for the last half hour, 39c e6600@ 3.33 1.50v temps before i started messing around with the rad were about 45c under the same conditions, i know that the different paste method couldnt make THAT much difference surely, but it definatly didnt hurt!

    edit: could be the fact i decided to use some left over coolant from when i did my car with 369g/litre ethylene glycol? i gathered thats a fairly high concentration, wasnt cheap, but appears to be very good! thats the only think i can think of, temps should be HIGHER if anything since the rad is inside the case now, and the as5 hasnt cured yet.
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2006
  8. hendot

    hendot Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,277
    Location:
    Sydney
    Water is better than glycol as fas as computers are concerned. Most people use nulon ultra cool, which has no glycol.
     
  9. drunkntigr

    drunkntigr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,469
    Location:
    MELB
    Thanks for that. Good for when I buy my E6300 when my mobo and ram do arrive, anybody know the latest time of arrival for a normal post parcel from Perth to Melbourne? Or have I just lost $350 to the postman again?
     
  10. Omarko

    Omarko Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4,129
    Location:
    Kellyville
    EVA, so do you think we should all re-apply and remount our coolers and blocks? have u tried? or others ? any results? surely this cant make big difference.

    since I added my X1950XTX to the loop my load temps at 26C room temp are now on my 52C on my moderately OCied E6400 which I think is a bit high. :(
     

Share This Page