Are any CPUs worth mining with?

Discussion in 'Blockchain & Cryptocurrency Mining' started by aussie-revhead, Apr 12, 2018.

  1. aussie-revhead

    aussie-revhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    19,701
    Location:
    St Clair 2759
    Guys, while chipping away at ETN I got wondering, are there any CPUs that work particularly well and anything worth mining with them? Are there any multi CPU servers that can be implemented for this purpose? I'm not even worried about profit, as long as it pays it's way. Or quit now while I'm ahead?

    Come on guys, inspire me

    :D :D
     
  2. qwijibo

    qwijibo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    408
    Location:
    Old Sydney Town
    I think the only thing worth mining on cpus is cryptonight and its variants. Look for CPUs with lots of cache and low power usage. I *think* its still marginally profitable to mine on a r5 1600 and r7 1700 - but only at stock, and not on their own - but if you built a mining rig with one of them as a cpu, it'd be worth mining on it. But you'd be better off saving the money and spending on GPUs.

    Same for Broadwell Xeon - find one with an ungodly amount of cache, and a cheap X99 mobo off the forums, turn it into a rig, and mine on the cpu as well as the GPUs.

    Just plugged in r7 1700 numbers into whattomine.com, and it says it grosses about USD 0.76 per day - subtract power costs, and you get an ROI of 2+ years.
     
  3. AERO

    AERO Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,904
    Location:
    albury 2640 nsw
    my i5 4670 (at stock) on nicehash predicts anywhere from 10-14 cents a day mining lol. hardly worth it. when using nh i have it going otherwise no point.

    would consider gettong one of the ryzen vega chips lol, if they bring out competative chips to that then yea not bad i guess. wont be like mining with a 1080 but still more than nothing
     
  4. NerfDude

    NerfDude Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Messages:
    450
    Location:
    Victoria,Australia
    4670 has a TDP of 84w. Conservatively let’s say it uses 50w more mining with CPU vs CPU at idle.

    0.05 x 24 = 1.2 KWh per day
    Unless you are paying under 10c for power you should disable the CPU.

    Most commonly used mining CPUs are in the same boat.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    aussie-revhead

    aussie-revhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    19,701
    Location:
    St Clair 2759
    Guys, I was thinking more along the lines of server cpus with lowish clocks and lots of cores, not desktop cpus (as I know these dont produce much).

    :)
     
  6. Court Jester

    Court Jester Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,634
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    i mine with my 7800x and my ryzen 1700 -- only because these machines are on 24/7 anyway

    the 7800x uses 50w above its usual load
    I have not checked the ryzen power usage but im guessing it will be similar maybe a little less

    both has at around 400mh/s on monero atm

    unless the system is on allready its not worth mining with CPU's currently and defently not worth buying a expensive cpu to solely mone on.

    at current prices and difficulty I make approx 50cents (total) a day from both cpu's
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2018
  7. qwijibo

    qwijibo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    408
    Location:
    Old Sydney Town
  8. OP
    OP
    aussie-revhead

    aussie-revhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    19,701
    Location:
    St Clair 2759
    Ok fair enough then , point proven.

    :)
     
  9. gmturner

    gmturner Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,384
    Location:
    Launceston
    there are rumours mining waltonchain with cpu's is quite profitable at the moment.. but may not last long.
     
  10. AERO

    AERO Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,904
    Location:
    albury 2640 nsw
    my cpu is currently getting about 22c a day on nicehash haha :) its a i5 4670 at stock :)
     
  11. OP
    OP
    aussie-revhead

    aussie-revhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    19,701
    Location:
    St Clair 2759
    Yeah I dont want cents, Im looking for coins to hodl. Dollars is a different story ...

    :)
     
  12. clonex

    clonex Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    24,067
    Location:
    north pole

    Please tell more :D
     
  13. Matthew kane

    Matthew kane Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,957
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Never thought I'd see 7800x and 1700 in the same sentence by you.

    Did you get a Ryzen setup?
     
  14. Court Jester

    Court Jester Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,634
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    I bought a failzen 2nd hand cheap :) as a media PC

    this is my 2nd failzen system I had one that was my main gaming system that I bought when they launched -- it sucked as a gaming system so I sold it ( didnt loose any $$$) and bought the 7800x.
     
  15. AERO

    AERO Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,904
    Location:
    albury 2640 nsw
    well, i say that, but i havnt taken out the power costs haha :) but eitherway my pc is mining with the two gpu's, thats just what nh is saying anyway. (have my gpu's on am/mph at the moment as i wanna bump up my next eth payout though ill take a while to mine the required .1 eth for a payout :p)
     
  16. Jaco

    Jaco Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    168
    Location:
    4114
    I have a handful of complimentary 12 virtual core VMs that do alright on nicehash, but CPU mining these days really isn't worth it out of equipment you own -- which is pretty much why Dual Mining your GPUs died off pretty quick as ASICs take over everything

    Here's an example of where one of them gets me, again -- 12 virtual cores elected

    [​IMG]

    Even having a G3900 / 3930 or i3 / i5 in your GPU rigs running isn't worth the hassle :(

    So I wouldn't bother imo
     
  17. OP
    OP
    aussie-revhead

    aussie-revhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    19,701
    Location:
    St Clair 2759
    Yeah fair enough, I thought maybe one of these multi cpu lotsa cores servers might churn something out, but I guess not.

    Cheers
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: