are hisense TV's any good?

Discussion in 'Audio Visual' started by Will S, Oct 25, 2019.

  1. Snoops

    Snoops Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Messages:
    1,579
    Location:
    Brisbane
    This is the way.
     
    walker_2003 likes this.
  2. JSmithDTV

    JSmithDTV Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2018
    Messages:
    8,240
    Location:
    Algol, Perseus
    Weird huh... o_O

    https://blog.hisense.com.au/get-latest-firmware-tv/



    JSmith
     
  3. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    42,776
    Location:
    Brisbane
    They make for a brilliant live wallpaper IRL.
     
  4. Lost Property

    Lost Property Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Messages:
    3,344
    I didn't get the firmware update for that :(
     
  5. asho444

    asho444 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,803
    Location:
    Sunny Coast
    Netflix had a 4k fireplace you can watch!
     
    elvis likes this.
  6. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    42,776
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Sadly "Slow TV" dropped off Netflix. That stuff was brilliant to stream all day long while I worked.

    4 hours of knitting. 4 hours of salmon fishing. Or my favourite, GoPro strapped to the top of a train as it drives around central Europe.
     
  7. AzonIc

    AzonIc Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,373
    Location:
    Adelaide
    my hisense has been great though I've got a single, stuck red pixel.
     
  8. walker_2003

    walker_2003 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    12,738
    Location:
    Canberra
    It may have changed but for my 2017 model with WiFi and Ethernet connections you select update firmware via TV connected to internet and always said you had latest but contacting hisense got you newer ones. Plenty on it here amongst all the other issues/complaints.

    https://www.avforums.com/threads/hisense-55-65m7000-uled-owners-thread.2018360/

    Pretty sure they stopped firmware updates by 2018 too. Must be newer ones that do OTA updates like they should have been doing in 2017.

    Not sure if I got unlucky but the grey uniformity/DSE was horrendous too. Some say they had Samsung panels, made me wonder if they were rejected B grade.
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2020
  9. JSmithDTV

    JSmithDTV Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2018
    Messages:
    8,240
    Location:
    Algol, Perseus
    walker_2003 likes this.
  10. TRG.dOinK

    TRG.dOinK Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    4,587
    Location:
    Melb East
    Actually the one annoying thing Hisense doesn't have on the RG55 is the ability to wake up on particular days, it only has 'daily', 'once, or 'off' IIRC. I use the TV as another alarm, so have to keep turning the thing off for the weekends. Would be good if you could just check box the days you wanted.
     
  11. AzonIc

    AzonIc Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,373
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I don't think that'll help me unfortunately. This is the policy from Hisense:

    "defective pixels in the Television where the visible number of those defective pixels is less than or equal to the acceptable number of defective pixels stated in the manufacturer’s specifications (or where there are no such specifications relating to defective pixels for the Television, there are less than 12 defective pixels), it being acknowledged that a normal limitation of the technology for LCD and plasma panels (and the associated manufacturing processes) is for the screen to exhibit some bright, dark or partially lit pixels;"

    I wonder if the pixel could be turned off
     
  12. BistecConBigote

    BistecConBigote Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    69
    I have never heard of any case where that was possible.
     
  13. JSmithDTV

    JSmithDTV Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2018
    Messages:
    8,240
    Location:
    Algol, Perseus
    Give this a try... have to run it for hours though;

    https://www.jscreenfix.com/
    That's the thing... I don't think they can just pop that in their policy and assume it overrides ACL.



    JSmith
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: