Are SSD's meant to be tiny?

Discussion in 'Newbie Lounge' started by KANNIS, Jun 26, 2012.

  1. pittster

    pittster Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,027
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Hahahaha I knew that was coming Gutter thoughts or Great minds think alike :thumbup:
     
  2. nanolimit

    nanolimit Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,004
    Location:
    wagga wagga
    I screwed mine onto the pci bracket, screws fit perfectly :thumbup:
     
  3. Munki

    Munki Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,733
    Location:
    Sydney
    Double-sided tape works wonders.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    KANNIS

    KANNIS Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Messages:
    9,764
    Location:
    Sydney
    Im getting this case for new new setup.

    Fractal Design Define R3 Black USB 3.0
    http://www.pccasegear.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=15140


    It says it is SSD compatible so should be ok.


    Quick question guys. If I install the OS on this SSD then later on buy 4 x 3TB HDD's can I do a RAID with those 4 drives? (the SSD will not be in the raid)
     
  5. Pugs

    Pugs Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    9,415
    Location:
    Highbury, SA
    of course....
     
  6. HUMMER

    HUMMER Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    8,786
    Location:
    sydney
    can you raid the 4x 3TB drives? sure can.
    can the SSD not be a part of this raid? absolutely.
     
  7. pittster

    pittster Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,027
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Thats the best way to do it even though some programs are not installed on your SSD they work quicker because there are certain files that are always accessed via C:drive
     
  8. wwwww

    wwwww Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Messages:
    6,250
    Location:
    Bangkok
    Just tape it to your case, they have no moving parts so there's no need for complicated mounting systems.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    KANNIS

    KANNIS Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Messages:
    9,764
    Location:
    Sydney
    Beautiful....:thumbup:Now I can compile my new system together this weekend, then get the 4 hdds later on.

    (Through Bios at boot up yeah?)
     
  10. HUMMER

    HUMMER Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    8,786
    Location:
    sydney
    if your board supports raid then just go in the bios to configure it. if you are using a raid card. then you go into the raid cart setup. it will tell you what key combo to use to get into it.
     
  11. Gonadman2

    Gonadman2 Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,246
    Location:
    Perth
  12. nipper575

    nipper575 Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Messages:
    924
    Ignore the old pic (discoloured tube), I just mounted my SSD to the side of a 5.25" bay. Have no 3.5" bays due to a radiator utilising that space. The bay converter bellow had two spots for 2.5" drives, but it would of put the power and sata cables in a stupid place, looked messy.

    [​IMG]

    Holes lined up, 2 screws, done.
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2012
  13. Creekin

    Creekin (Taking a Break)

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    10,109
  14. Gibbon

    Gibbon grumpy old man

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    6,235
    Location:
    2650
    Yeah, I've got a 3.5" Vertex 2 SSD in my machine at the moment. When I bought it there was either option, and it was easier to mount in a hotswap bay in my case :)

    I wonder if any motherboard manufacturers will put a slot on a motherboard to mount a mSATA SSD like a ram stick? Maybe like a SODIMM slot?
     
  15. HeXa

    HeXa Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Messages:
    10,216
    Location:
    Canberra, ACT
    this :thumbup:
     
  16. akashra

    akashra Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Messages:
    3,883
    Location:
    Melbourne, AU
    ^^ This guy is obviously new to SSDs. He's in for a shock when he actually starts running stuff on it ;)
     
  17. Wozzernux

    Wozzernux Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    860
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Whenever I hear someone mention 3.5" SSDs the OCZ Colossus springs to mind. I reckon give it another 18-24 months and we'll start seeing huge capacity SSDs that will physically require a 3.5" package just to fit all the NAND chips in :lol: 4TB SSD anyone?
     
  18. HUMMER

    HUMMER Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    8,786
    Location:
    sydney
    i am waiting for that really.
     
  19. TRG.dOinK

    TRG.dOinK Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    4,609
    Location:
    Melb East
    You don't need a 2.5 to 3.5" adapter.

    The SSD will screw into the bottom of the HDD cages (if that makes sense) for the Fractal R3, I know because I have one as well.
     
  20. karlcloudy

    karlcloudy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,690
    Location:
    Launceston, Tasmania
    You mean like this (it's in the middle of the board)? There are others as well, seems to be getting more popular on Z77 boards.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: