Are we getting dumber? Will we not be able to use the tools we invented?

Discussion in 'Science' started by Powermaniac73, Nov 14, 2012.

1. Powermaniac73

Powermaniac73 Member

Hi all,

Newbie here, but I heard about this article on the Ten Late News so I had to go read it as it sounded like non-sense to me. Although the expert knows far more then I do regarding the brain. So what do you think: http://www.independent.co.uk/news/science/human-intelligence-peaked-thousands-of-years-ago-and-weve-been-on-an-intellectual-and-emotional-decline-ever-since-8307101.html
    I'm not sure what the reputation of the Independent is but it is just an article on a scientific journal so atleast it is a repost of a trustworthy source in a sense.

For the click impaired:

Anyway thoughts?

2. zacm

zacm (Taking a Break)

You have the whole nature vs nurture debate with this as well. Is it society that is our problem or our evolution? Example if you had baby from 1000 years ago raised and schooled in modern society what would happen?

Another interesting article I read a while back that is related to this aswell:

http://isedb.com/20110720-15764.php

3. garetz

garetz Member

Modern humanity is clearly in decline, we peaked in the renaissance and it has been going downhill since.

4. ThE_BiG_O

ThE_BiG_O Member

In summary:

:lol:

5. led_blind

led_blind Member

Idiocracy is golden :)

First, find me a clearly defined widely accepted definition of intelligence. For the life of me Ive never found one.

6. whatdoesthisdo

whatdoesthisdo Member

We are definitely getting smarted, look at little jimmy he can use a iphone and he is only 2

7. ddk

ddk (Banned or Deleted)

This is nothing but unsubstantiated and opinionated rubbish. It's not even a scientific hypothesis because there's no means to test it. Someone in the news simply latched onto this and it became popular because it's controversial.

Nothing to see here. Move along.

8. bcann

bcann Member