Are you gonna be buying dual-core?

Discussion in 'Business & Enterprise Computing' started by stmok, Apr 23, 2005.

?

Are you buying dual-core?

  1. Yes! But an Intel-based solution.

    28 vote(s)
    9.2%
  2. Yes! But I'm going for an AMD one.

    136 vote(s)
    44.6%
  3. Maybe upgrade to it in the future. (I'm buying a Socket 939).

    98 vote(s)
    32.1%
  4. No! I'm sticking to a fast single-core!

    24 vote(s)
    7.9%
  5. Can I have dual-candy instead?

    19 vote(s)
    6.2%
  1. stmok

    stmok Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    8,877
    Location:
    Sydney
    Now that Intel and AMD have done the "full monty" on dual-core, what are you planning to do ?
     
  2. infiltraitor

    infiltraitor Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2002
    Messages:
    3,801
    Location:
    melbourne Donated:$133.70
    maybe next year i will upgrade my dual opterons and get a nice expensive board with some Uber expensive dual core cpus..

    ive spent a lot of money on computers in the last 12 months.. so im trying to slow down. ill just have to find a less financialy draining way to scratch my itch
     
  3. Phido

    Phido Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    5,309
    Location:
    Dark City
    My general plan was to get a dual socket board and eventually upgrade to dual cores but now I'm not so sure.

    Four core performance kinda sucks for what you pay for it, except in say rendering where you get it all.

    So now I choose between a dual core and a dual socket setup..

    I think I will go dual socket, the new Asus board is dual socket, NUMA, and cost as much as a decent NF4 939 board. I can then have a long upgrade path to dual cores some way down the track and just pop in a pair of 242 or 244 and O/C them for now..

    With AMD saying all future processors will be dual core, its definately going to be the wave of the future. Hopefully software and OS's take better advantage of all this parraellism..

    Otherwise concentrate on other aspects of your system, Video, displays, HD, ram etc..

    By the time I can afford a dual core 2.4/2.6/2.8Ghz CPU it should be around late 2006 to mid 2007..
     
  4. chainbolt

    chainbolt Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    104,518
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Sure, for that price! In the US a 2.8 GHz dual core Pentium D will be sold for around 310$$. Make it 10% more for AUS. And it seems there is plenty of production coming. I say: "Bring it on". :lol:
     
  5. im_soo_sxc

    im_soo_sxc Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Messages:
    581
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    From the looks of the prices that the chips are going to be, i will be upgrading to them pretty soon after they begin to distribute. I'm going to get AMD DC :leet:
     
  6. stalin

    stalin (Taking a Break)

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    4,581
    Location:
    On the move
    im gonna hope my 939 shuttle will support it.. and wait till my CPU is too slow and upgrade to AMD DC.
     
  7. Deja Vu

    Deja Vu Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,455
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Seeing as i got a 939 board for the purpose of going to dual core i am going amd. Also from what i have seen in review the A64 X2's are bloody fast chips.
     
  8. APFDF

    APFDF Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    461
    Location:
    Sydney
    Judging by the monster e-penis in the sig, you have spent a very substantial amount of money.

    Onward and upward, is there any more info re the new dual-socket ASUS board?
     
  9. Jedi Jezz

    Jedi Jezz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    938
    Location:
    Canberra
    Yeah I'll certainly consider it, my ideal system would be a SFF with two sockets, hehehe 4 cores :leet:
     
  10. Myne_h

    Myne_h Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    8,491
    2 years ago, when I went to pick up my 2500+, I said "My next upgrade will be dualcore". I'd like to thank intel and AMD for making my statement plausible :)
     
  11. Howiefied

    Howiefied Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,486
    Location:
    Adelaide
    i'm undecided whether to wait off for dual cores to come down in price, or just get a single core amd 64bit cpu.... i'd like to see it's performance under folding@home first.
     
  12. A.G.System

    A.G.System Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    Adelaide
    But myne are you going to go Dual Core (A64x2) or Dual Dual core (Opteron 840).

    :p

    It will never surpass the glory that was the BP6
     
  13. bphelan

    bphelan Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    1,447
    Location:
    Brisbane River Bank
    Well, the AMD MB is $200 for a reasonable one, a dual 2.2 is just a bit more than 1 Opteron 248....go SMP :leet: I can see a nasty Folding Farm Upgrade coming..don't tell the wife :Paranoid:
     
  14. OP
    OP
    stmok

    stmok Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    8,877
    Location:
    Sydney
  15. Leopard

    Leopard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,642
    Location:
    Brisbane 4005
    I'm in the same boat, and I'm expecting this Suttle box to work with dual core.
    Current CPU is fast enough for now, dual core will remove those hiccups that occur with certain things.
     
  16. Zieprus

    Zieprus Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2002
    Messages:
    3,570
    Well I’m on socket 754 and have a AGP 6800GT.
    But I will be going DC AMD at around years end. Will likely get a next gen either 520 ATI or G70 NV in pci-e.
    So to go to DC I have the graphics card and a new mainboard to contend with.
    I am surprised however so few people have voted for the DC Intel variant despite it being cheap.

    Edit: On second thoughts it depends on what is happening in the last quarter of this year. Reason being the M2 socket would be getting close by then so I may think about that. But not sure see what happen in the next 6 months.
     
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2005
  17. yujen

    yujen Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2001
    Messages:
    628
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    I'll probably get a couple of dual core 2xx Opterons when its available.... although I'll be waiting for dual core Xeons as well.

    Personally, I would prefer 2 x single core Opterons at higher clock for my own personal workstation, dual cores go into multi-user servers :)
     
  18. Leopard

    Leopard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,642
    Location:
    Brisbane 4005
    I bought the s939 SFF with full intention of going DC. If I wanted to go Intel DC, I would also need to fork out for a new shuttle/DDR2/PCI-E graphics as well.

    With the current box, all I need (supposedly) is the DC CPU & a new BIOS. Much cheaper and better performance too :)
     
  19. Myne_h

    Myne_h Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    8,491
    Has anyone ever tried AsynchronousMP with the opterons?

    ie, running a 10multi and a 12multi core together in a board?

    It'd be interesting to see if it's possible to run a DC and a single together too.
    3 cores.

    Reason I ask is, I had a dual celeron and I broke just about every rule there was with my SMP rig. Different steppings, different multipliers (333/433 5x and 6.5x) and overclocked on a mutually acceptable bus (90mhz). Ran fine till the board died one day after about 2 years. Only issues I had were a couple of games that had to be forced to run on 1 cpu because they behaved strangely otherwise.
     
  20. proffesso

    proffesso Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    9,043
    Location:
    Watsonia, Melbourne
    i just bought a dual nocona rig....so end of the year is the likely upgrade time for me. dual core opteron for me...cheap 4-way smp...im there.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: