1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

ARMA 3 - General Discussion

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by the_antipop, May 20, 2011.

  1. Tacooo

    Tacooo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2013
    Messages:
    191
    Location:
    Melbourne
    A3MP/AIATP, RAV Lifter, CBA (think this works fine but it's just a dependancy so can't test without others) and a couple of other small ones. Eventually I'll be installing the RHS mods though. If you could help that'd be great. Add me on Steam.
     
  2. roamin

    roamin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,748
    Location:
    melb / Crimebourne
  3. Dimtar

    Dimtar Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,314
    Location:
    Coffs Harbour
    Been trying it out with mates. A little buggy so far but thats to be expected but its pretty damn good as a mod.
     
  4. roamin

    roamin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,748
    Location:
    melb / Crimebourne
    yeah not wrong, its going quite well for a mod thats just been released. building seems to be working pretty well and the party grouping works well too.

    tapping my feet waiting for a cherno server to pop up in australia. as soon as it does i will be jumping on that. ccg already have cherno servers but we get ping kicked in australia.
     
  5. xHardz

    xHardz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    347
    That mod looks very interesting, I showed a couple of mates and I think we will all get it and give it a go :)

    I really like Arma3, had it since you could pre-buy and play the alpha/beta or w/e it was but it has always ran like a shit which really turns me off playing.

    A few weeks ago I tried to play some normal games and they were ok, jumped into a wasteland or similar mod and it was even worse. Gave me a headache from the low frames after 10 mins or so. It seems some servers are worse than others, but running on 100mb NBN so shouldn't be an issue at my end.

    PC is getting a little long in the tooth; FX-4100, 8gb and 290x should be able to play @1080p with decent performance... I wish the game ran better as it is a ton of fun.

    Any tips or getting it working a little better? I've looked around a lot and tried some configs and shiz but something that is actually working for people would be nice :)
     
  6. roamin

    roamin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,748
    Location:
    melb / Crimebourne
    do you use a ssd? ssd makes a huge difference to the gameplay. i had this on my hdd the other day and started playing for 5 minutes and it played shit so i put it straight back onto the ssd. plays great.

    3770k
    16gb ram
    2x titans in sli

    even my rig was average on a normal hard drive.

    the game is constantly seeking data on the hdd. so make sure its on a ssd to speed it up.
     
  7. Azer1234

    Azer1234 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    289
    Looking for something more? You dont have to be an Arma veteran or milsim enthusiast to enjoy Arma 3...

    [​IMG][​IMG]


    Website:www.foxhound.international
    Youtube: www.youtube.com/channel/UCo4SxE-taj06l1a3vquZnbA
    Teamspeak: ts.foxhound.international


    About us
    Foxhound International is an Australian based tactical squad for the ArmA series. We have recently formed, but our roots go back to OFP.
    We play 2 nights per week, and often congregate on our teamspeak server for other games.Foxhound uses Teamspeak 3 and Facebook to co-ordinate events.


    [​IMG]



    How We Roll - Casually Serious
    Foxhound is a squad that focuses on top quality missions that are played in a serious manner. We dont have ranks or attendance rules, so the environment is pretty relaxed. We do have a few golden rules though, two of which are:​
    1) Games faces on at briefing screen
    2) Players must be mature in game, regardless of age




    Fulminate - Foxhound's Custom Launcher

    [​IMG]
    Never have mod troubles again! Introducing our custom built mod sync/ game launcher. At the click of a button you will sync up with our server's mods and be ready to play.
    This program has the ability to scan your Arma root folder for any mods that you have downloaded, and if required it will create a hard link to that file which means:
    1) it prevents you from downloading duplicates files and
    2) the copied files will not take up any extra disk space

    You can connect straight into our server via Fulminate.

    Fulminate also signs all our mods with custom .bikeys. This way players cannot run any mods on the server that are not signed, which results in minimal bugs and higher fps in game.


    Interested?
    Head over to our
    recruiting page and follow the steps.


     
  8. xHardz

    xHardz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    347
    Sweet might look into that. I have been 50/50 on getting an SSD, but I guess if I only load OS + a couple of games 250gb should be ok.
     
  9. riccoo

    riccoo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2014
    Messages:
    996
    Location:
    Sydney
    Bump just got back into this and loving it even got a mate with a exile server if anyone still plays looking at getting a decent POP on it
     
  10. breno

    breno Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,974
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Dude, if anything that FX CPU is holding you back, swapping out platforms to even a 4th gen I5 you will see performance gain. I had a FX 6300 and saw a 30% fps increase in far cry 5 alone.
     
  11. MotoMan

    MotoMan Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,776
    Location:
    Vic Rural
    You realise you responded to a post from 4 years ago... yeah?
     
  12. riccoo

    riccoo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2014
    Messages:
    996
    Location:
    Sydney
    im confused how this arma 3 thread if dead when its an OP game
     
  13. breno

    breno Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,974
    Location:
    Melbourne
    lol I didn't actually....
     
    MotoMan likes this.
  14. Splade

    Splade Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,699
    Location:
    Sydney 2127
    I might be a bit late to the party but I picked up arma3 in the steam sale the other day.

    I've been playing on an antistasi server and the strayagaming big server.

    Heaps of fun
     
  15. riccoo

    riccoo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2014
    Messages:
    996
    Location:
    Sydney
    never late and welcome, do you liek survival type of games? if so ill post up the details of this new server im on its using the exile server mod :)
     
  16. Splade

    Splade Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,699
    Location:
    Sydney 2127
    I'll give it a go

    I just had my butt kicked in antistasi again. Mostly due to my own stupidity
     
  17. anthonyl

    anthonyl Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    11,453
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Downloading on Steam as I type...
     
  18. Major Neb

    Major Neb Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2001
    Messages:
    810
    Location:
    Perth
    Another Steam Sale ring in. Downloading now. Quite a few guides out there to read while I'm waiting. Any suggestions on some good ones?

    Haven't played since Arrowhead, and even then only 10hrs or so all up. Lot of time spent back in the day with 1 and Flashpoint. Looking forward to this. I'll knock out the single player before going online.
     
  19. akallabeth

    akallabeth Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    in a house
    Check out some of the streams on Twitch, its a good way of finding some modes that you will enjoy playing. ARMA3 has branched out so much... there is something for most in there.
     
  20. Splade

    Splade Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,699
    Location:
    Sydney 2127
    Ive got an antistasi server running at a3.goldenrivet.xyz at the moment

    Im not getting very far...
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: